Back - List of Pavilions

Post and Telegraph - Expo Paris 1889

Post and Telegraph at the Exhibition Expo Paris 1889

On the Esplanade des Invalides, on the edge of both the Decauville railway and the main avenue that runs along the Esplanade, the Pavilion des Postes et Télégraphes is a modest building which, despite its lacklustre appearance, is nonetheless very interesting.

Its main entrance opens onto a vestibule that forms a forecourt on the short side, facing the Seine. A similar vestibule adorns the other short side. The two large façades have no doors and are opened only by large three-bay windows. At the four corners of the pediment stand chimeras which symbolise I don't know what; telegraphy, nor the post office, having nothing chimerical about it. These fabulous animals can perhaps be explained by the generally mythological tendency that governed the ornamentation of the pavilion, whose façade - the one that faces the avenue - is decorated with a Minerva and a Mercury.
The entrance hall is preceded by a small garden, the fence of which already constitutes the beginning of an exhibition. The fence is made of metal telegraph poles... The introduction of metal in the installation of telegraph lines seems to offer the same difficulties as that of metal sleepers in the construction of railways. It is often discussed and has been for a long time, and the injected wooden post is still used, which, if it offers lesser conditions of duration, has the advantage of being infinitely less costly to establish.

The garden, the entrance and the vestibule exhibits are devoted to lines, modes of suspension, overhead, underground and underwater conductors. On each side of the door there are columns formed by crowns of conducting wires. These conductors are made of iron, bronze, silicon bronze and pure copper. We are not yet sure which is the best. Nevertheless, siliceous bronze seems to be in the lead; it is very popular today.

Naturally, a machine for making underwater conductors was to be found here. These conductors are of various kinds, differing from each other by the nature of the insulators. The first attempts at submarine telegraphy were interrupted because of insufficient insulation, and the cables were armoured with archal wire, lead pipes and steel spirals. Today, they are made very simply. The sheath, made of a fine copper twist, is first surrounded by a double hemp reed, then covered with a reed, also double, of metal wire; finally it is impregnated with antiseptic substances and covered with a spiral of insulating cloth. This assembly constitutes a conductor: the combination of four or five conductors in an insulating envelope, the main part of which is made of gutta-percha, forms a cable. On landings, this cable is protected in a more serious manner: if necessary, it is covered with a lead pipe.

Moreover, once submerged, the cable soon becomes unalterable; the underwater vegetation, the calcareous secretions of the zoophytes, surround it, entwine it and after a few years transform it into a long bead of rock laid on the bottom of the ocean, the duration of which is limited only by the duration of the conductors themselves.
The central room, or rather the only room - the vestibules being separate - is occupied by the telegraphic apparatus, some of which is simply exposed, while the others operate before the eyes of the public.

Let us pay tribute here to the kindness and complacency of the employees whom the administration has assigned to operate the apparatus. And, let us say it very quickly, these employees are not an exception, they represent with great dignity and also very exactly what the French employee is, that is to say a whole tradition of affability, courtesy and good manners. It is a rather general attitude to complain about government employees; but it is only an attitude which is quickly discarded by those who have had experience of what foreign administrations are like from the same point of view. Our postal and telegraph employee, that is to say, the one of all who is most frequently in contact with the public, does credit to both his administration and his country. And he is so often in pain that it is only fair that some of them should be honoured in the pavilion on the Esplanade des Invalides.

Telegraphic apparatus can be divided into two main categories: printing apparatus and signal apparatus. Apart from these, there are, it is true, electro-chemical devices, known as autographic, and Breguet's dial telegraph; but autographic devices have not been able to enter into practice and the dial device, which was once very popular because of its ease of use, is now only used by railway companies and private telegraphy. As it leaves no trace of the transmission, telephony will soon replace it everywhere or almost everywhere.
The type of signal apparatus is the Morse, whose conventional alphabet consists of bars and dots; it is simple, easy to operate, and costs barely 60 to 70 francs per station. It is the device for small offices. However, its transmission is rather slow. To remedy this, attempts have been made to develop duplex, quadruplex and multiplex devices, i.e. devices which take advantage of the intervals in the transmission of each sign, to transmit on the same line the signs coming from two, four or more manipulators, to the same number of receivers. These devices, applied to the Morse telegraph, have now been more or less abandoned.
More fortunate has been the Estienne device, which is a fast Morse. In the Morse, the dots are formed by pressing the finger on the manipulator button, and to obtain a bar, this pressure must be prolonged. In the Estienne, the manipulator carries two keys, one for the dot, the other for the bar, and this almost doubles the speed of the transmission. In the Morse, the succession of contacts produces a particular rhythm which the operators are able to grasp very quickly and which enables them to read a dispatch by ear, i.e. without looking at the tape on which the signs are printed. This is an advantage in ordinary telegraphy, but it is a serious disadvantage in military telegraphy, since it is sufficient to place at any point on the line a device similar to the initial contacts, in order to catch the meaning of the dispatches. This disadvantage, which does not exist in the Estienne, has led the Germans to adopt this French device for military telegraphy.

But the real practical device, the one which, in twenty years, has entered into all international relations, is the Hughes printer, a device of American origin, but which has received many improvements from French telegraphers.
It should be noted in passing that our telegraphers are in love with their profession and their apparatus, and that many of them spend their lives seeking improvements. There is no year in which the annals of telegraphy are not enriched by some useful discovery due to an obscure employee, not all of whom have achieved the just fame of the Baudots and Meuniers.
I have said that the Hughes had more than twenty years of practice, and this leads me to note a curious peculiarity of electrical science.
The two inventions which have contributed most to the diffusion of electricity in the field of common practice are undoubtedly the printing telegraph of the American Hughes, and the dynamo-electric machine of the Frenchman Gramme, for the production of light. These two types are of about the same period, and since then, as if from the first day their authors had laid down the perfect principle in all its extent, telegraphs and dynamos have been mere repetitions, improvements, or simply complications of the Hughes and Gramme models.
Twenty years later, the Hughes is still the best telegraph, just as the Gramme is the best dynamo.
These repetitions and improvements of the Hughes are quite numerous at the Telegraph Pavilion. It is well known what the typical device consists of: A wheel carrying printing characters can be operated by a mechanical motor, when the current establishes a relationship between this motor and the wheel. Under these conditions, pressure causes the character currently in contact with the paper to be printed on a strip of paper. Initially, it is a keyboard that determines the formation of the current which, in conditions of rigorous synchronism between the mechanical manipulator motor and the mechanical receiver motor, will rigorously activate the two motors in the same way and consequently the two wheels that depend on them. Thus, at the same time, under the action of a finger pressing a key on the keyboard, a letter is printed on the arrival and departure, the employee thus checking his work himself.
A highly skilled employee can transmit up to 3,000 words in an hour.
This speed could, it seems, be increased, and this is the purpose of the Parment telegraph, which is merely an ingeniously improved Hughes. One of its improvements consists in increasing the number of letters engraved on the printing wheel. In the Hughes, this wheel carries only one of each of the necessary types, letters, numbers and punctuation marks, and these types are placed in their alphabetical order. If, for example, we have to telegraph the word end, one turn of the wheel will suffice, since the letters f, i, and n are placed in alphabetical order; but if we wish to transmit the word foot, four turns of the wheel will be necessary, since the four letters are placed in reverse alphabetical order.
Mr. Parment, on the other hand, has placed the letters on the wheel according to their typographical value, i.e. in the order of the most frequent coupling and by repeating several times in different places, those which occur more often. This device must, it seems, be able to triple the speed of transmission.

Automatic telegraphs are represented in several types. In telegraphy, automaticity consists either in eliminating the work of the sending employee or in eliminating the work of the intermediate employees when retransmission takes place. It is easy to understand what retransmission is. A dispatch is sent from Paris to La Verpillière via Grenoble. Paris is connected directly to Lyon, Lyon directly to Grenoble, and Grenoble directly to La Verpillière; in order to bring the telegram to its destination, it will be necessary to retransmit it to Lyon and Grenoble, that is to say, to receive it and send it back, which requires two intermediate employees. Automatic telegraphy eliminates these employees and their work. This is one of the means used. It is based on the principle of the Parment telegraph already mentioned, but it is based on the general data of automatic telegraphy.
Initially, the dispatch is transcribed by means of a perforator which gives, instead of a handwritten dispatch, a sheet of paper perforated with dots and bars, roughly similar to Morse code prints. This sheet of paper is suitably connected to the manipulator, which transmits the telegram to the intermediate station, where a printout (Hughes system) and a perforation are produced simultaneously. This perforation is then connected to the manipulator of the intermediate station to obtain a new transmission, which in turn can give rise to a further intermediate perforation.
Other automatic systems are the Wheatstone, which produces a perforated strip without printing, and the Bernard Meyer, which produces both a perforation and a Morse print.
M. Bernard Meyer is, I believe, the inventor of autographic telegraphy which is based on the decomposition of certain metallic or metallic salt coatings by electric current... M. d'Arlincourt also exhibited an autographic apparatus. But these two systems are, as I have said, still rather far from practical realization.
The multiple transmission devices... applied to the Hughes have been more successful than those applied to the Morse. I have mentioned the names of Messrs. Baudot and Meunier. The latter is the inventor of a multiplex apparatus which can transmit in both directions and by a single wire, a number of simultaneous telegrams which is fantastic.
The public takes great interest in this very well laid out and explained exhibition, which is lacking in many other installations. In a few minutes, we have a very attractive lesson in things that can be continued by visiting the Post Office exhibition.
This one is simpler. It basically shows an overview of letter sorting in a post office. The sorting process is represented by the glass-bottomed rack in which the sorted letters are stacked; the glass bottom prevents a letter from being forgotten.
A mail wagon, converted into a mobile office. Everyone has seen these mysterious wagons, almost as enclosed as prison cell cars, on the railways. But very few people have been able to penetrate their mysteries. At the Esplanade, one can break through this arcane and visit the mail wagon. It is a large office, simply but comfortably set up. Pigeonholes occupy the four sides up to the height of the support. These racks receive the sorting of the bagged letters, already partly sorted by the sending offices. While the train is moving, the postman, seated in front of a shelf, distributes the contents of the bags into the boxes. During the day he is lit by portholes, at night by strong lamps, and in winter he has a stove to heat him. It is a hard job to be an itinerant or a conveyor.
At each station the office takes and leaves the mail from or to that station. It has long been tried to eliminate the need for stops at small stations, at which the station trains, high-speed trains, could thus not stop. At Pont-sur-Seine (Aube), a system of removing and returning the despatch bag without stopping the train has been in operation since 1885. Gela has not yet become widespread, in France at least; for in America dispatches are taken and left in this way, and I believe even travellers to some extent; but that is in America.
A reduction of the Pont-sur-Seine machine is exhibited in the Pavilion of the Post Office, next to a curious mosaic painting, which includes no less than 30,000 postage stamps, stuck one next to the other.
The Post Office Exhibition is completed, in the telegraph room, by the collection of printing plates used for the printing of postage stamps and by a reproduction of the microscopic dispatches on film, transmitted by carrier pigeons during the siege of Paris.
Finally, behind the Pavilion, there is a series of the carriages of the Post Office Administration, those carriages well known to Parisians, whose correct drivers do not shout, do not swear, never hang up, and whose horses do not know what it is to spread themselves. It is wonderful to see them going through the most crowded streets always well and always without accident.
A regret to finish: Why didn't you bring some pedestrians, some modest rural postmen, to stand guard at the Pavilion des Postes et Télégraphes.
Whatever the songs, more or less funny, and the more or less witty handwritten news, the rural postman is not so laughable.
There are those who, in rain, snow, storm, sun and avalanches, go out every day to the Jura, the Pyrenees or the Alps to cut down their ten leagues of mountains and more, and this for a derisory salary. Believe me, in doing this arduous job one ends up intoxicated by the pride of his hard work. The soldier doesn't get drunk in any other way.
That's why it would have been good to show some of these brave men with their coats, their big shoes and their shod sticks, who are going to carry the letter with the clumsily written address of the little boy to the old mother or the young fiancée in a remote corner, to the isolated hut.
It would have made one think a little of the amount of daily courage and obscure devotion that the simple letter with its modest three-penny stamp generates on its way, alongside prodigies of science, intelligence and industry.

©Livre d'Or de l'Exposition - Paul Le Jeinisel.

Retour - Liste Pavillons

Postes et Télégraphes


Postes et Télégraphes à l'exposition de Paris 1889

Sur l'Esplanade des Invalides, en bordure à la fois du chemin de fer Decauville et de l'avenue principale qui parcourt toute l'Esplanade, le pavillon des Postes et Télégraphes, est une construction modeste qui, malgré ses allures peu brillantes, n'en est pas moins des plus intéressants.

Son entrée principale donne sur un vestibule qui forme un avant-corps sur le petit côté, face à la Seine. Un vestibule semblable orne l'autre petit côté. Les deux grandes façades n'ont pas de portes et s'ouvrent seulement par de larges fenêtres à trois baies. Aux quatre angles du fronton se dressent des chimères qui symbolisent je ne sais trop quoi; la télégraphie, non plus que les postes, n'ayant rien de chimérique. Ces animaux fabuleux s'expliquent peut-être par la tendance généralement mythologique qui a présidé à l'ornementation du pavillon, dont la façade — celle qui donne sur l'avenue — est décorée d'une Minerve et d'un Mercure.
Le vestibule d'entrée est précédé d'un petit jardin, dont la clôture constitue déjà un commencement d'exposition. En effet, cette clôture est formée de poteaux télégraphiques métalliques... L'introduction du métal dans l'installation des lignes télégraphiques paraît offrir les mêmes difficultés que celle des traverses en métal, dans la construction des voies ferrées. On en parle souvent et depuis longtemps, et l'on s'en tient toujours au poteau de bois injecté qui, s'il offre de moindres conditions de durée, à l'avantage d'être d'un premier établissement infiniment moins coûteux.

Le jardin, les expositions de l'entrée et celles du vestibule sont consacrés aux lignes, modes de suspensions, conducteurs aériens, souterrains et sous-marins. Il y a de chaque côté de la porte des colonnettes formées de couronnes de fils conducteurs. On fait ces conducteurs en fer, en bronze, en bronze siliceux, en cuivre pur. On n'est pas encore bien fixé sur le meilleur de tous. Néanmoins le bronze siliceux paraît tenir la tète; il est aujourd'hui très en faveur.

Tout naturellement, on devait trouver là une machine à fabriquer les conducteurs sous-marins. Ces conducteurs sont de diverses sortes, qui diffèrent entre elles par la nature des isolants. Les premières tentatives de télégraphie sous-marine ayant été interrompues par suite d'une isolation insuffisante, on était tombé dans l'excès contraire, et les câbles étaient cuirassés de fil d'archal, de tuyaux de plomb, de spirales d'acier. Aujourd'hui, on les fabrique très simplement. Vaine, formée d'une torsade de cuivre fin, est d'abord entourée d'un double roseau de chanvre, puis recouverte d'un roseau, également double, de fil métallique; enfin elle est imprégnée de substances antiseptiques et recouverte d'une spirale d'étoffe isolante. Cet ensemble constitue un conducteur : la réunion de quatre ou cinq conducteurs dans une enveloppe isolante, dont la partie importante est formée de gutta-percha, forme un câble. Aux atterrissages, ce câble est protégé d'une manière plus sérieuse : au besoin, il est recouvert d'un tuyau de plomb.

Du reste, le câble une fois immergé devient bientôt inaltérable; les végétations sous-marines, les sécrétions calcaires des zoophytes, l'entourent, l'enlacent et au bout de quelques années le transforment en un long bourrelet de roc posé au fond de l'Océan et dont la durée n'est plus limitée que par la durée des conducteurs eux-mêmes.
La salle centrale, ou plutôt l'unique salle — les vestibules étant à part — est occupée parles appareils télégraphiques dont les uns sont simplement exposés, tandis que les autres fonctionnent sous les yeux du public.

Qu'il soit permis ici de rendre hommage à l'aménité et à la complaisance des employés que l'administration a préposés au maniement des appareils. Et, disons-le bien vite, ces employés ne sont pas une exception, ils représentent très dignement et aussi très exactement ce qu'est l'employé français, c'est-à-dire toute une tradition d'affabilité, de courtoisie et de bonne tenue. C'est une pose assez générale, que celle qui consiste à se plaindre des employés de l'État; mais ce n'est qu'une pose, dont sont vite débarrassés ceux qui ont pu faire l'expérience de ce que sont, au même point de vue, les administrations étrangères. Notre employé des postes et télégraphes, c'est-à-dire celui de tous qui se trouve le plus fréquemment en relations avec le public, fait honneur à la fois à son administration et à son pays. Et il est si souvent à la peine que c'est justice d'en avoir mis quelques-uns à l'honneur, au pavillon de l'Esplanade des Invalides.

Les appareils télégraphiques peuvent se diviser en deux grandes catégories : les appareils imprimeurs et les appareils à signaux. En dehors de ceux-là, on trouve bien, il est vrai, les appareils électro-chimiques, dits autographiques, et le télégraphe à cadran de Breguet; mais les appareils autographiques n'ont pu entrer dans la pratique et l'appareil à cadran, très en faveur jadis, à cause de sa facilité de maniement, n'est plus guère employé que par les Compagnies de chemin de fer et la télégraphie privée. Comme il ne laisse pas trace de la transmission, la téléphonie le remplacera sous peu, partout ou presque partout.
Le type des appareils à signaux, c'est le Morse, celui dont l'alphabet conventionnel se compose de barres et de points; il est simple, d'un fonctionnement facile, et coûte à peine 60 à 70 francs par poste. C'est l'appareil des petits bureaux. Par contre, sa transmission est assez lente. Pour y remédier on a essayé à des appareils duplex, quadruplex, multiplex, c'est-à-dire des appareils qui profitent des intervalles de la transmission de chaque signe, pour transmettre sur la même ligne les signes provenant de deux, quatre ou plusieurs manipulateurs, à un même nombre de récepteurs. Ces appareils, appliqués au télégraphe Morse, sont aujourd'hui à peu près abandonnés.
Plus heureux a été l'appareil Estienne, qui est un Morse rapide. Dans le Morse, les points sont formés par une pression du doigt sur le bouton manipulateur, il faut pour obtenir une barre prolonger cette pression. Dans l'Estienne, le manipulateur porte deux touches, une pour le point, l'autre pour la barre, et cela double presque la rapidité de la transmission. Dans le Morse, la succession des contacts produit un rythme particulier que les préposés arrivent très vite à saisir et qui leur permet de lire une dépêche à \'oreille, c'est-à-dire sans regarder la bande sur laquelle les signes sont imprimés. C'est un avantage dans la télégraphie ordinaire, mais c'est un grave inconvénient dans la télégraphie militaire, puisqu'il suffit de placer en un point quelconque de la ligne un appareil semblable aux contacts initiaux, pour surprendre le sens des dépêches. Cet inconvénient, qui n'existe pas dans l'Estienne, a fait adopter par les Allemands pour la télégraphie militaire, cet appareil d'invention française.

Mais le véritable appareil pratique, celui qui, en vingt ans, est entré dans toutes les relations internationales, c'est le Hughes imprimeur, un appareil d'origine américaine, mais qui a reçu de nombreux perfectionnements des télégraphistes français.
Remarquons en passant que nos télégraphistes sont amoureux de leur métier et de leurs appareils, et que nombre d'entre eux passent leur vie à chercher des améliorations. Il n'est d'année où les annales de la télégraphie ne s'enrichissent de quelque utile découverte due à un obscur préposé, tous n'arrivant pas à la juste célébrité des Baudot et des Meunier.
J'ai dit que le Hughes avait plus de vingt ans de pratique, cela m'amène à constater une particularité curieuse de la science électrique.
Les deux inventions qui ont le plus contribué à la diffusion de l'électricité dans le domaine de la pratique courante, sont incontestablement le télégraphe imprimeur de l'Américain Hughes, et la machine dynamo-électrique du Français Gramme, pour la production de la lumière. Ces deux types sont à peu près de la même époque et depuis, comme si dès le premier jour leurs auteurs avaient posé le principe parfait et dans toute son étendue, télégraphes et dynamos n'ont été que des répétitions, des améliorations, ou simplement des complications des modèles Hughes et Gramme.
A vingt ans de distance, le Hughes est encore le meilleur télégraphe, comme la Gramme est la meilleure dynamo.
Ces répétitions et ces améliorations du Hughes sont assez nombreuses au Pavillon des Télégraphes. On sait en quoi consiste l'appareil type : Une roue portant des caractères d'impression peut être actionnée par un moteur mécanique, lorsque le courant vient établir une relation entre ce moteur et cette roue. Dans ces conditions une pression fait s'imprimer sur une bande de papier le caractère qui se trouve en ce moment en contact avec la bande. Au départ c'est un clavier qui détermine la formation du courant qui, dans des conditions de synchronisme rigoureux, du moteur mécanique manipulateur et du moteur mécanique récepteur, va actionner rigoureusement de la même manière les deux moteurs et par suite les deux roues qui en dépendent. Ainsi du même coup, sous l'action du doigt pressant une touche du clavier, une lettre s'imprime à l'arrivée et au départ, l'employé vérifiant ainsi lui-même son travail.
Un employé très habile peut arriver à transmettre jusqu'à 3,000 mots dans une heure.
Cette vitesse pourrait, paraît-il, être augmentée, et tel est le but du télégraphe Parment qui n'est qu'un Hughes ingénieusement perfectionné. L'un de ses perfectionnements consiste à augmenter le nombre de lettres gravées sur la roue d'impressions. Dans le Hughes, cette roue ne porte qu'un seul de chacun des types nécessaires, lettres, chiffres, signes de ponctuation, et ces types sont placés dans leur ordre alphabétique. Si, par exemple, nous avons à télégraphier le mot fin, un seul tour de la roue suffira, puisque les lettres f, i et n sont placés dans l'ordre alphabétique; mais si nous voulons transmettre le mot pied, il faudra quatre tours de roue puisque les quatre lettres sont placées en sens inverse de l'ordre alphabétique.
M. Parment, lui, a placé les lettres sur la roue selon leur valeur typographique, c'est-à-dire dans l'ordre de l'accouplement le plus fréquent et en répétant plusieurs fois à des places diverses, celles qui reviennent plus souvent. Cet appareil doit, paraît-il, arriver à tripler la vitesse de la transmission.

Les télégraphes automatiques sont représentés en plusieurs types. Les données de l'automatisme en télégraphie consistent soit à supprimer le travail de l'employé envoyeur, soit à supprimer le travail des employés intermédiaires, lorsqu'il y a retransmission. On comprend facilement ce qu'est la retransmission. Une dépêche est adressée de Paris à la Verpillière par Grenoble. Paris est relié directement à Lyon, Lyon directement à Grenoble, et Grenoble directement à la Verpillière; il faudra, pour amener le télégramme à sa destination, le retransmettre à Lyon et à Grenoble, c'est-à-dire le recevoir et le réexpédier, ce qui nécessite deux employés intermédiaires. La télégraphie automatique supprime ces employés et leur travail. Voici l'un des moyens employés. Celui-là sert de principe au télégraphe Parment déjà nommé, mais il est basé sur les données générales de l'automatisme télégraphique.
Au départ, la dépêche est transcrite à l'aide d'un perforateur qui donne, au lieu d'une dépêche manuscrite, une feuille de papier perforée de points et de barres, à peu près semblables aux impressions du Morse. Cette feuille de papier convenablement mise en rapport avec le manipulateur, ce dernier transmet le télégramme à la station intermédiaire, là il se produit simultanément une impression (système Hughes) et une perforation. Il suffit de mettre cette perforation en rapport avec le manipulateur de la station intermédiaire pour obtenir une nouvelle transmission qui, elle-même, peut donner lieu à une perforation encore intermédiaire.
Les autres systèmes automatiques sont le Wheatstone. qui produit une bande perforée et sans impression, et le Bernard Meyer qui produit à la fois une perforation et une impression Morse.
M. Bernard Meyer est, je crois, l'inventeur de la télégraphie autographique qui est basée sur la décomposition de certains enduits métalliques ou à base de sels métalliques par le courant électrique... M. d'Arlincourt a exposé également un appareil autographique. Mais ces deux systèmes sont, comme je l'ai dit, encore assez loin de la réalisation pratique.
Les appareils de transmission multiple... appliqués au Hughes ont eu plus de succès que ceux appliqués au Morse. J'ai cité les noms de MM. Baudot et Meunier. Ce dernier est l'inventeur d'un appareil multiplex qui peut transmettre dans les deux sens et par un seul fil, un nombre de télégrammes simultanés qui tient du fantastique.
Le public prend très grand intérêt à cette exposition fort bien disposée et expliquée, ce qui manque beaucoup dans bien d'autres installations. On a là, en quelques minutes, une très attrayante leçon de choses que l'on peut continuer par la visite de l'exposition des Postes.
Celle-ci est plus simple. Elle comporte en gros un aperçu du triage des lettres dans un bureau de poste. Le triage est représenté par le casier à fond de verre dans lequel s'entassent les plis triés; le fond de verre empêche qu'une lettre soit oubliée.
Un wagon-poste, aménagé en bureau ambulant. Tout le monde a vu circuler sur les voies ferrées ces mystérieux wagons, presque aussi clos que les voitures cellulaires des prisons. Mais bien peu de personnes ont pu en pénétrer les mystères. On peut, à l'Esplanade, violer cet arcane et visiter le wagon-poste. C'est un grand bureau simplement, mais confortablement installé. Des casiers occupent les quatre côtés jusqu'à hauteur d'appui. Ces casiers reçoivent le tri des lettres remises en sacs, déjà en partie triées par les bureaux expéditeurs. Pendant la marche du train, le postier assis devant une tablette répartit dans les cases le contenu des sacs. Le jour il est éclairé par des hublots, la nuit par de fortes lampes, l'hiver il a un poêle pour le chauffer. C'est un rude métier que celui d'ambulant ou de convoyeur.
A chaque station le bureau prend et laisse le courrier de ou pour cette station. On a depuis longtemps essayé de supprimer la nécessité de l'arrêt dans les petites stations, auxquelles les trains-postes, trains de grande vitesse, pourraient ainsi ne pas s'arrêter. A Pont-sur Seine (Aube), fonctionne depuis 1885 un système d'enlevage et de remise du sac de dépêches sans arrêt du train. Gela ne s'est pas encore généralisé, en France du moins; car en Amérique on prend et on laisse ainsi les dépêches, et je crois même un peu les voyageurs; mais c'est en Amérique.
Une réduction de l'appareil de Pont-sur-Seine est exposée au Pavillon des Postes, à côté d'un curieux tableau en mosaïque, qui ne comprend pas moins de 30,000 timbres-poste oblitérés, collés les uns à côté des autres.
L'Exposition des Postes est complétée, dans la salle des appareils télégraphiques, par la collection des clichés servant à l'impression des timbres-poste et par une reproduction des dépêches microscopiques sur pellicules, transmises par pigeons voyageurs pendant le siège de Paris.
Enfin derrière le Pavillon on trouve une série des voilures de l'Administration des Postes, ces voitures bien connues des Parisiens, dont les cochers corrects ne crient pas, ne jurent pas, n'accrochent jamais et dont les chevaux ignorent ce que c'est que de s'étaler. C'est merveille de les voir filer dans les rues les plus encombrées toujours bon train et toujours sans accident.
Un regret pour finir : Pourquoi n'avoir pas fait venir pour leur faire monter la garde au Pavillon des Postes et Télégraphes quelques piétons, quelques modestes facteurs ruraux.
Quoi qu'en disent les chansons, plus ou moins drôles, et les nouvelles à la main plus ou moins spirituelles, il n'est point tant risible, le facteur rural.
Il en est qui, par la pluie, la neige, l'orage, sous le soleil et sous les avalanches, s'en vont abattant chaque jour dans le Jura, les Pyrénées ou les Alpes leur dix lieues de montagne et plus, et cela pour un salaire dérisoire. Croyez qu'à faire ce métier pénible on finit par se griser de l'orgueil de sa rude besogne. Le soldat ne se grise pas autrement.
Voilà pourquoi il eût été bon de montrer avec leurs blouses, leurs gros souliers et leur bâton ferré, quelques-uns de ces braves qui s'en vont porter dans un coin perdu, à la cabane isolée, la lettre à l'adresse gauchement écrite du petit pioupiou à la vieille mère ou à la jeune fiancée.
Cela eût fait songer un peu à la somme de courage quotidien et d'obscur dévouement que suscite sur sa route, à côté de prodiges de science, d'intelligence et d'industrie, la lettre toute simple avec son modeste timbre de trois sous.

©Livre d'Or de l'Exposition - Paul Le Jeinisel.