World Fair of Paris 1889

Centenary of the French Revolution

May 6, 1889 - October 31, 1889


Back - List of Pavilions

Russian Isba

Russian Isba at the Exhibition Expo Paris 1889

Architect(s) : Lutun

After the Russian dwelling in the collection of M. Charles Garnier, which is a specimen of a house of a certain richness, one must go and see the isba, which is only a thatched cottage in the full sense of the word, since it is thatched.

It is located not far from the Eiffel Tower and is almost hidden in the clumps of birch and weeping willows which, next to it, bathe their branches in the small lake.

The construction is very simple, since it is made of fir trunks, but it is nevertheless very picturesque.

Moreover, it is more interesting internally than externally, for it shelters a family of these sculptors who, in Troïtz, famous for its convent which is a whole town, and in the other localities with Russian pilgrimages, make with a surprising skill, which one could well call art, the small figures of saints and other small objects which are sold to the pilgrims, and which are truly very curious.

A Frenchman established in Moscow, M. Lutun, had the idea of exhibiting in the Champ de Mars a collection of these objects of a somewhat crude art perhaps, but of a charming naivety, and it is for this reason that he had the Russian house built, which is reproduced in our drawing, and in which they are arranged, or rather disturbed, in a very picturesque disorder.

In addition to two young girls in national costume who do the honours of the isba, we see a muzhik, also in Muscovite costume, who, with a simple penknife, carves in wood small bas-reliefs of an astonishing finesse of work.

©Livre d'Or de l'Exposition - Justin Carmer.

Retour - Liste Pavillons

Isba Russe


Isba Russe à l'exposition de Paris 1889

Architecte(s) : Lutun

Après l'habitation russe de la collection de M. Charles Garnier, qui est un spécimen de maison d'une certaine richesse, il faut aller voir l'isba qui n'est qu'une chaumière et dans toute l'acception du mot, puisqu'elle est couverte en chaume.

Elle se trouve non loin de la Tour Eiffel et presque cachée dans les massifs de bouleaux et de saules pleureurs qui, tout à coté, baignent leurs branches dans le petit lac.

La construction est des plus simples, puisqu'elle est faite en troncs de sapins, mais elle est néanmoins très pittoresque.

Du reste, elle est plus intéressante intérieurement qu'extérieurement, car elle abrite une famille de ces moujiks sculpteurs qui, à Troïtz, célèbre par son couvent qui est toute une ville, et dans les autres localités à pèlerinages russes, fabriquent avec une surprenante habileté, que l'on pourrait bien appeler de l'art, les petites figures de saints et autres menus objets que l'on vend aux pèlerins, et qui sont véritablement très curieux.

Un Français établi à Moscou, M. Lutun, a eu l'idée d'exposer au Champ de Mars une collection de ces objets d'un art un peu fruste peut-être, mais d'une naïveté charmante, et c'est pour cela qu'il a fait construire la maisonnette russe que reproduit notre dessin et dans laquelle ils sont rangés, ou pour mieux dire dérangés, dans un désordre très pittoresque.

Outre deux jeunes filles en costume national qui font les honneurs de l'isba, on y voit un moujik, également en costume moscovite, qui avec un simple canif, sculpte dans le bois des petits bas-reliefs d'une finesse de travail étonnante.

©Livre d'Or de l'Exposition - Justin Carmer.