World Fair of Paris 1889

Centenary of the French Revolution

May 6, 1889 - October 31, 1889


Back - List of Pavilions

Paraguay

Paraguay at the Exhibition Paris 1889

Architect(s) : Moreau

The pavilion, or to put it more accurately, the pavilions of Paraguay have a double purpose. After having been used for the Universal Exhibition, they will be dismantled and transported to Asuncion, capital of Paraguay, to be reassembled and used for an exhibition of French products.

In order to satisfy this double purpose, it was necessary to simplify as much as possible and not use any masonry. The construction is therefore made entirely of wood and iron panels.

This did not prevent the architect of the Paraguayan Exhibition, Mr. Moreau, from obtaining a very attractive ensemble with these three small independent buildings which occupy no more than 150 to 160 square metres of surface area, near the Palais des Beaux-Arts, on the Avenue de Suffren side. These three buildings are :
An octagonal pavilion, a rectangular pavilion and a square turret of three metres, with a total height of fifteen metres. All this is capriciously embellished in that Moorish taste, which one is a little astonished to see coming back from South America, but which is only a reminder of the Spanish conquest.

Wooden lacework festoons the doors and the advanced roofs, twisted columns, with palm leaves, call it motifs borrowed from Paraguayan churches. The turret is so delicately crafted that it is more a piece of artistic carpentry than a monument. It is, moreover, a type of construction quite peculiar to Paraguay: in the early days of the Spanish conquest all the isolated haciendas were provided with a turret of this kind, though less well carved. This turret was called a mirador, because of the watchman who stood there night and day to keep watch over the country and to signal the approach of Indians who did not consent to be colonised.

The doors and gates of these three buildings are all very curious, some are made of carved wood, others of wrought iron.

In this very picturesque setting, but of a somewhat uniform hue, stand out in bright colours, green, gold and red, magnificent display cases in which Paraguayan products are exhibited, which consist mainly of samples of the remarkable forest resources of this country.

There are also very beautiful collections of plants, all in all a very interesting exhibition which was one of the first to be completed, thanks to the activity of M. Cadiot, consul in Paris and deputy commissioner of the Republic of Paraguay, at the Universal Exhibition.

©Livre d'Or de l'Exposition - Alfbed Grandin.

Retour - Liste Pavillons

Paraguay


Paraguay à l'exposition de Paris 1889

Architecte(s) : Moreau

Le pavillon, ou pour parler plus exactement les pavillons du Paraguay sont à double usage. Après avoir servi pour l'Exposition universelle ils seront démontés et transportés à Asuncion, capitale du Paraguay, pour être remontés et servir à une exposition de produits français.

Pour pouvoir satisfaire cette double destination, il a fallu simplifier autant que possible et n'employer aucune maçonnerie. Aussi la construction est-elle entièrement en panneaux de bois et de fer.

Cela n'a pas empêché néanmoins l'architecte de l'Exposition paraguayenne, M. Moreau, d'obtenir un très joli ensemble avec ces trois petites constructions indépendantes qui n'occupent pas plus de 150 à 160 mètres carrés de superficie, près du Palais des Beaux-Arts, du côté de l'avenue de Suffren. Ces trois constructions sont :
Un pavillon octogonal, un pavillon rectangulaire et une tourelle carrée de trois mètres, avec une hauteur totale de quinze mètres. Tout cela est capricieusement enjolivé dans ce goût mauresque, qu'on est un peu étonné de voir revenir du Sud-Amérique, mais qui n'est que le ressouvenir de la conquête espagnole.

Des dentelles de bois festonnent les portes et les toitures avancées, des colonnes torses, à feuilles de palmiers, l'appellent des motifs empruntés aux églises paraguayennes. La tourelle est si délicatement ouvragée que c'est bien plutôt un meuble en menuiserie artistique qu'un monument. C'est, du reste, un genre de construction bien propre au Paraguay: dans les premiers temps de la conquête espagnole toutes les haciendas isolées étaient pourvues d'une tourelle de ce genre, moins bien sculptée, cependant. On appelait cette tourelle un mirador, à cause du guetteur qui s'y tenait nuit et jour pour surveiller le pays et signaler l'approche des Indiens qui ne consentaient pas à se laisser coloniser.

Les portes et les grilles de ces trois constructions sont toutes fort curieuses, les unes sont en bois sculpté, les autres en fer forgé.

Dans ce cadre très pittoresque, mais d'une teinte un peu uniforme, se détachent en couleurs vives, en vert, en or, en rouge, de magnifiques vitrines dans lesquelles sont exposés les produits paraguayens, qui consistent surtout en échantillons des remarquables richesses forestières de ce pays.

Il y a aussi de très belles collections de plantes, somme toute une exposition fort intéressante qui a été l'une des premières terminées, grâce à l'activité déployée par M. Cadiot, consul à Paris et commissaire adjoint délégué de la République du Paraguay, à l'Exposition universelle.

©Livre d'Or de l'Exposition - Alfbed Grandin.