World Fair of Paris 1889

Centenary of the French Revolution

May 6, 1889 - October 31, 1889


Back - List of Pavilions

Overhead cranes

Overhead cranes at the Exhibition Expo Paris 1889

The Galerie des Machines is more than 400 metres long, so it can be considered a rather tiring walk from one end to the other. But one can save oneself this fatigue and walk without moving one's legs, if not all, at least a good part of the way.

Two travelling bridges, operating parallel to each other, cover a length of 300 metres, and each of them is equipped with a
and each of them can carry a load of 150 to 200 people.

The movement of these devices is very curious, in that nothing or almost nothing of the motor system is visible.

The bridges essentially consist of a gizmo, rolling on rollers and supported lengthwise by two rows of metal beams.

The mechanism is located outside the gizmo, and is not the same in the two bridges. One, built by Mégy Echeverria and Bazan, is geared. The other, by Messrs Bon and Lustrement, is operated by friction alone.

Under the influence of the electric force, which conductors bring from the courtyard situated between the Palais and the Avenue de la Bourdonnais, to the system of beams, the thing moves forward in the direction of its long sides; the width is 18 metres by 4.25 metres in length.

For fifty centimes you can take this aerial walk which lasts about ten minutes. It is to say that the bridges are very slow moving; it is to be believed that these machines were intended as types of translation and not as types of speed, because this would give a rather poor idea of the speed of electric locomotion.

However, this ten-minute journey is too long for a simple journey, and too short for a visit to the machines which, seen from above, appear crushed and deformed.

The manoeuvring of these aircraft is very simple and requires only a mechanic and two helpers. Moreover, from the opening, we had personnel fully trained for this service, since these bridges, before being used for the transport of passengers, had been used to put in place the numerous machines which furnish the Palais des Machines, just as after the closing of the Exhibition they will be used to move the same palace from its heavy cast iron, copper and steel furniture.

©Livre d'Or de l'Exposition

Retour - Liste Pavillons

Ponts roulants


Ponts roulants à l'exposition de Paris 1889

La Galerie des Machines ayant plus de 400 mètres de long, on peut considérer comme une promenade assez fatigante de la parcourir d'un bout à l'autre. Mais l'on peut s'épargner cette fatigue et faire sans remuer les jambes sinon tout, du moins une bonne partie de ce trajet.

Deux ponts roulants, opérant parallèlement l'un à l'autre, parcourent en effet cette galerie sur une longueur
de 300 mètres, et chacun d'eux peut emporter un chargement de 150 à 200 personnes.

Le déplacement de ces appareils est fort curieux, en ce sens que rien ou presque rien du système moteur n'apparaît.

Les ponts se composent essentiellement d'un truc, roulant sur des galets et soutenu, dans le sens de la longueur, par deux rangs de poutrelles métalliques.

Le mécanisme est situé en dehors du truc, il n'est pas le même dans les deux ponts. L'un, construit par Mégy Echeverria et Bazan, est à engrenage. L'autre, de MM. Bon et Lustrement, est actionné parle seul frottement.

Sous l'influence de la force électrique, que des conducteurs amènent depuis la cour située entre le Palais et l'avenue de la Bourdonnais, jusqu'au système de poutrelles le truc s'avance en se déplaçant dans le sens de ses grands côtés; la largeur est de 18 mètres sur 4m25 de longueur.

Pour cinquante centimes on peut s'offrir cette promenade aérienne qui dure dix minutes environ. C'est dire que les ponts marchent très doucement; il faut croire que l'on a voulu donner ces engins comme des types de translation et non comme des types de vitesse, parce que cela donnerait une assez pauvre idée de la rapidité de la locomotion électrique.

Seulement ce trajet fait en dix minutes est trop long pour un simple trajet, trop bref pour une visite aux appareils que l'on voit défiler au-dessous de soi et qui, vus de haut en bas, apparaissent écrasés et déformés.

La manœuvre de ces appareils est fort simple et n'exige qu'un mécanicien et deux aides. On avait au surplus, dès l'ouverture, un personnel tout formé pour ce service, puisque ces ponts, avant de servir au transport des voyageurs, avaient été employés à mettre en place les nombreuses machines qui garnissent le Palais des Machines, de même qu'après la clôture de l'Exposition ils serviront à déménager le môme palais de ses lourds meubles de fonte, de cuivre et d'acier.

©Livre d'Or de l'Exposition