World Fair of Paris 1889

Centenary of the French Revolution

May 6, 1889 - October 31, 1889


Back - List of Pavilions

Light fountains

Light fountains at the Exhibition Expo Paris 1889

As night falls, the Exhibition fades into grey; half-tones extinguish the blues, the golds, the whites of the palaces, which become darker by the minute, profiling bastilles, minarets, a whole decor of bells and spires. Iron, in the indecision of twilight, becomes more artistic, erasing its modernism under false gothic allure, the openwork metal trusses seem like stone lace. It is the exquisite hour of the Exhibition; the softened bariolage of the costumes, the confusion of languages, less salient in the silence which gradually settles in the almost deserted palaces and gardens, as if for an entr'acte, all this semblance of contemplation removes the overly carnival note, the garish exterior of bazaar and caravanserai. It looks like a city of a future century, living from its normal, daily life, and no longer from the accidental, trampled, clashed assembly of all the arts, all the colours, all the races.

The Exhibition will rest. No... at the top of the Tower, a dull and trembling cord of light gives the signal: then the great lines of the palaces take shape in their turn, the dome shows its skeleton and finally the monumental fountain, at the top of the Garden which it feeds, the fountain surmounted by the heraldic vessel of Paris, the basin, the sprays of gushing water, an enormous one in the middle, with a procession of satellites, all this blazes and catches fire.

It is no longer water, it is a trickle, and it is also a thrust of coloured flames, straight, lying down, bending according to all the obliques, folding according to all the curves. Not the dead flames that painfully lick the firebrands of the braziers, but living, cheerful flames, shooting out strips of fire, to the right, to the left, up and down, up and down, like a clatter of light and colour...

Of colours... The flames were red, here they are blue, here they are green... here they are gold, here they are all white, simply virgin, terrifying like the final projection of a great fire when the fire triumphs and the last floors collapse.

Another will tell you some day here how these sprays of flame, these cascades of molten metal, are born, fed, handled. He will show you all the demons of this wonderful phantasmagoria. He will dismantle for you piece by piece this burning castel similar to those where the poets of the North lock up their captive Valkyries.

As for me, I only wanted to tell you how I saw the fairytale setting, how I felt it, how I admired it.

Our readers all know what a fairy-tale spectacle the blazing fountains and sprays of the basin in the central garden present in the evening. The monumental fountain surmounted by the vessel of the city of Paris no longer pours water, but cascades and sprays of flame into the large basin from which superbly coloured sprays spring.

Although not unprecedented, since the same thing has already been seen in Edinburgh and Glasgow, this spectacle is no less marvellous, and even more so if one considers the simplicity of the means by which it is obtained.

To operate the whole system of water and fire, three men are sufficient, one of whom is occupied only in directing the work.

If we examine the light fountains, we can see that all the jets can be reduced to two types, the vertical jets, and the parabolic jets; these two very different types each required its own lighting system. We will look at these two systems in turn.

For the vertical jets composing the large sheaf, established by Messrs Galloway and Sons, the isolated vertical jets and the small sheaves, the lighting is of marvellous simplicity. The water comes in through a very small nozzle, above a horizontal glass room, which is slightly above the usual water level in the basin. Below this room is a lighted focus with a reflector. There is therefore, next to each other, or better said one inside the other, a jet of light and a jet of water.

By virtue of a law of physics, which scientists call total refraction, all the light rays are absorbed by the water, enveloped in the liquid projection and up to the end of the jet, or better still, up to the last droplets which form as they fall back, the light remains trapped.

To tint this light, it is sufficient to interpose a coloured glass between the focus and the tile.

This is the general outline of the arrangement made by Galloway and Sons, on the one hand, and Sautter, Lemonnier and Company, on the other, for horizontal jets.
The two systems differ only in this respect: the horizontal electric fireplaces used by Messrs. Galloway and Sons are placed directly under the slab to be lit, through which their light is projected by a tin reflector, sufficiently indented to allow the ashes to escape. The foci placed by Messrs Sautter and Lemonnier are vertical. The reflector is a spherical mirror, made of silvered glass, and the original beam is therefore horizontal. But a plane mirror, inclined at 45°, is sufficient to reflect this light beam in the vertical direction.

All this, so simple to explain, forms in practice a considerable set of devices and arrangements, which had to be concealed, otherwise the whole illusion would be destroyed. It was necessary to show the spray of fire and not let the mechanics that provided it be seen. - This was achieved by having each spray emerge from a mass of cast iron reeds, which are so arranged and calculated as to cover the line of sight of the pipework, to the eye of a spectator placed in any situation. The parabolic jets have not been designed in such a way that the water and the light come out of the same opening, so that there is only one jet and all the machinery is hidden, but this does not simplify the interior layout, quite the contrary.

This arrangement is based on a physics experiment known as Colladon's. Contrary to the law governing the lighting of vertical jets, this experiment establishes total reflectivity. This law is quite clear and it is as follows:
If a stream of water is let out of a given vessel, through a narrow orifice and under a sufficiently strong pressure, this flow takes the form of a parabolic cord. If, on the other hand, a light focus has been arranged in such a way that its rays converge on the orifice, the liquid string will trap all its rays and keep them along its entire length.

However, "along the whole length" is only true within the limits of a laboratory experiment, and if we try to move into the realm of application, we soon find that whatever the intensity of the focus, there remains a fraction of the jet, the most considerable one, which does not participate in the illumination.
However, Mr. Bechmann, who worked on this system, found a solution which not only provides perfect illumination of the jet, but also allows considerable savings in the feed water. This solution consists of replacing the single nozzle by a double nozzle, formed by two trunks of cones fitted into each other, which produces not a liquid cord but an annular vein, the thickness of which could be reduced to 2 or 3 millimetres without letting the most intense light rays escape.
There is, as one can easily understand, a real water pipe through which the light ray passes. And curiously enough, when the pipe has first melted into a single jet and then separated into drops, the light continues to be retained by the liquid.

These are also flat mirrors, inclined at 45°, which send into the interior of the nozzle, the converging beams produced by horizontal electric foci, whose light can be coloured like that which illuminates the vertical jets.

This whole system of light colouring is gathered in groups, each of which can receive a different colouring. As there are five of these groups for the large spray and five for the other motifs, this gives a sum, so to speak, infinite of light effects, which can be produced at will by a team leader placed in a neighbouring kiosk from where he dominates the whole without being noticed by the public.

It is however he who is the real Deus ex machina of this fairy-tale setting. In his booth, he has a series of levers and electric buttons in front of him. The levers are used to operate the supply taps in the large sheaf and to vary the effects according to his inspiration. The knobs correspond to control panels, installed in chambers, which are located: one under the large sheaf, the other under the fountain.

In each of these chambers, a man, following the indications given to him by the board, operates the groups of coloured glasses placed under his control, by means of levers, the operation of which is very simple, as it is very similar to that of the needles on the railway lines. To guide himself, the worker reads on a board placed in front of him the indication of the manoeuvre to be carried out; and the movement indicated by the foreman, carried out by the levers, is immediately transmitted to the coloured glass systems.

The glasses can be operated separately or simultaneously. Thus, a violet colour can be obtained by interposing the two blue and red glasses between the projector and the jet.

Others are angled in such a way that the upper part of a jet can be coloured with one shade and the lower part with another. This produces truly magical effects.

No less than 300 horsepower are needed to supply the electricity required by the devices that illuminate the fountain and the sheaves. It is true that there are 48 of these devices and that the mass of water flowing out, which is used to make a mass of fire, is up to 1,200 cubic metres per hour, or 21,000 litres per minute.

If we consider that some of the jets are up to twenty metres high, we can see what a lot of light this represents, and we are astonished not by the force expended, but on the contrary by the little force required.

Nevertheless, the quantity of light supplied by the electric regulators is considerable, and the intensity of these foci is such that the worker in charge of operating them can only approach them by protecting his eyes with a black glass, without which he would inevitably be blinded.

©Livre d'Or de l'Exposition - Henri Anry.

Retour - Liste Pavillons

Fontaines Lumineuses


Fontaines Lumineuses à l'exposition de Paris 1889

Dans la nuit qui tombe, l'Exposition s'estompe de gris; des demi-teintes éteignent les bleus, les ors, les blancs des palais qui, de minute en minute plus sombres, profilent des bastilles, des minarets, tout un décor de clochetons et d'aiguilles. Le fer, dans l'indécision du crépuscule, s'idéalise plus artistique, effaçant son modernisme sous de fausses allures gothiques, les fermes métalliques ajourées semblent des dentelles de pierre. C'est l'heure exquise de l'Exposition ; le bariolage adoucit des costumes, la confusion des langues, moins saillante dans le silence qui peu à peu. s'établit par les-palais et les jardins quasi désertés, comme pour un entr'acte, tout ce semblant de recueillement enlève la note trop foraine, l'extérieur criard de bazar et de caravansérail. On dirait d'une ville d'un siècle futur, vivant de sa vie normale et quotidienne, et non plus de l'assemblage accidentel, foulé, heurté de tous les arts, de toutes les couleurs, de toutes les races.

L'Exposition va se reposer. Non... en haut de la Tour un cordon de lumière mièvre et tremblant donne le signal : puis les grandes lignes des palais se dessinent à leur tour, le dôme accuse son ossature et enfin la fontaine monumentale, en haut du Jardin qu'elle alimente, la fontaine que surmonte, grave, l'héraldique vaisseau de Paris, le bassin, les gerbes d'eaux jaillissantes, une énorme au milieu, avec un cortège de satellites, tout cela flamboie et s'incendie.

Ce n'est plus de l'eau, c'est un ruissellement, et c'est aussi une poussée de flammes coloriées, droites, couchées, s'infléchissant selon toutes les obliques, se pliant selon toutes les courbes. Non les flammes mortes qui lèchent péniblement les tisons des brasiers, mais des flammes vivantes, gaies, dardant des lanières de feu, à droite, à gauche, de haut en bas, de bas en haut, comme un cliquetis de lumière et de couleurs...

De couleurs... Elles étaient rouges les flammes, les voici bleues, les voici vertes... les voici or, les voici toutes blanches, simplement vierges, terrifiantes comme la projection finale d'un grand incendie lorsque le feu triomphe et que les derniers planchers s'effondrent.

Un autre vous dira quelque jour ici comment ces gerbes de flamme, ces cascades de métal en fusion, naissent, s'alimentent, se manient. Il vous fera voir tous les démons de cette merveilleuse fantasmagorie. Il vous démontera pièce par pièce ce castel ardent semblable à ceux où les poètes du Nord enferment leurs walkyries captives.

Pour moi j'ai seulement voulu vous dire comment j'ai vu le décor féerique, comment je l'ai senti, comment je l'ai admiré.

Nos lecteurs savent tous quel spectacle féerique présente le soir l'embrasement des fontaines et des gerbes du bassin, situé dans le jardin central. La fontaine monumentale que surmonte le vaisseau de la ville de Paris laisse tomber non plus de l'eau, mais des cascades et des jets de flamme, dans le grand bassin d'où jaillissent des gerbes superbement coloriées.

Pour n'être pas inédit, puisque l'on a déjà vu pareille chose à Edimburgh et à Glascow, ce spectacle n'en est pas moins merveilleux, il l'est plus encore si l'on songe à la simplicité des moyens par lesquels il est obtenu.

Pour manœuvrer tout ce système d'eaux et de feux, il suffit de trois hommes, dont un n'est occupé qu'à diriger le travail.

Si l'on examine les fontaines lumineuses, on peut voir que tous les jets peuvent se ramener à deux types, les jets verticaux, et les jets paraboliques; ces deux types bien différents ont exigé chacun son système d'éclairage. Nous allons voir successivement ces deux systèmes.

Pour les jets verticaux composant la grande gerbe, établie par MM. Galloway and sons, les jets verticaux isolés et les petites gerbes, l'éclairage est d'une merveilleuse simplicité. L'eau arrive par un ajutage très petit, au-dessus d'une salle horizontale en verre, qui dépasse un peu le niveau habituel de l'eau dans le bassin. Sous cette salle est un foyer lumineux muni d'un réflecteur. Il y a donc, l'un à côté de l'autre, ou pour mieux dire l'un dans l'autre, un jet de lumière et un jet d'eau.

En vertu d'une loi de physique, que les savants appellent la réfraction totale, tous les rayons lumineux sont absorbés par l'eau, enveloppés dans la projection liquide et jusqu'à l'extrémité du jet, mieux encore, jusque dans les dernières gouttelettes qui se forment en retombant, la lumière reste emprisonnée.

Pour teinter cette lumière, il suffit d'interposer entre le foyer et la dalle un verre de couleur.

Telle est dans ses grandes lignes la disposition réalisée par MM. Galloway and sons, d'une part, et MM. Sautter, Lemonnier et Cie, d'autre part, pour les jets horizontaux.
Les deux systèmes diffèrent seulement en ceci : les foyers électriques à rayons horizontaux, employés par MM. Galloway et fils, sont placés directement sous la dalle à éclairer, à travers laquelle leur lumière est projetée par un réflecteur en étain, suffisamment échancré pour que les cendres puissent s'échapper. Les foyers placés par MM. Sautter et Lemonnier sont à rayons verticaux. Le réflecteur est un miroir sphérique, en verre argenté, et le faisceau primitif se trouve être par conséquent horizontal. Mais un miroir plan, incliné à 45°, suffit pour renvoyer ce faisceau lumineux dans la direction verticale.

Tout cela, si simple à expliquer, forme dans la pratique un ensemble considérable d'appareils et de dispositions, qu'il a fallu dissimuler, sous peine de détruire toute l'illusion. Il fallait montrer la gerbe de feu et ne pas laisser voir la mécanique qui la fournissait. — On est arrivé à ce résultat en faisant sortir chaque gerbe d'un massif de roseaux de fonte, qui sont disposés et calculés de façon à couvrir la ligne de vue de la tuyauterie, à l'œil d'un spectateur placé dans n'importe quelle situation. Pour les jets paraboliques on n'a pas eu ce souci, l'eau et la lumière sortent de la même ouverture, si bien qu'il n'y a qu'un seul jet et que toute la machinerie se trouve cachée, mais cela ne simplifie pas la disposition intérieure, bien au contraire.

Cette disposition est fondée sur une expérience de physique dite de Colladon. Au contraire de la loi qui préside à l'éclairage des jets verticaux, cette expérience établit la réfleclion totale. Cette loi est assez claire et la voici :
Si l'on fait échapper d'un vase donné, par un orifice étroit et sous une pression assez forte, un filet d'eau, cet écoulement prend la forme d'une corde parabolique. Si d'autre part, un foyer lumineux a été disposé de telle façon que ses rayons convergent vers l'orifice, la corde liquide emprisonnera tous ses rayons et les conservera sur toute la longueur de son parcours.

« Sur toute la longueur » n'est cependant vrai que dans les limites d'une expérience de laboratoire, et si l'on essaie de passer dans le domaine de l'application, on s'aperçoit bien vite que quelle que soit l'intensité du foyer, il reste une fraction du jet, la plus considérable, qui ne participe pas à l'éclairage.
Mais M. Bechmann, qui s'était attelé à ce système, a trouvé une solution qui, non seulement réalise un parfait éclairage du jet, mais encore permet une économie considérable dans l'eau d'alimentation. Cette solution consiste à remplacer l'ajutage simple par un ajutage double, formé de deux troncs de cônes emboîtés l'un dans l'autre, ce qui produit non plus une corde liquide mais une veine annulaire, dont l'épaisseur a pu être réduite jusqu'à 2 ou 3 millimètres sans laisser échapper les rayons lumineux les plus intenses.
Il y a, comme on le comprend facilement, un véritable tuyau d'eau dans lequel passe le rayon lumineux. Et chose curieuse, quand le tuyau s'est d'abord fondu en un seul jet, puis séparé en gouttes, la lumière continue à être conservée par le liquide.

Ce sont également des miroirs plans, inclinés à 45°, qui envoient dans l'intérieur de l'ajutage, les faisceaux convergents que produisent des foyers électriques horizontaux, dont la lumière peut être colorée comme celle qui éclaire les jets verticaux.

Tout ce système de coloration de la lumière est réuni en groupes, qui peuvent recevoir chacun une coloration différente. Comme il y a cinq de ces groupes pour la grande gerbe et cinq pour les autres motifs, cela donne une somme, pour ainsi dire, infinie d'effets de lumière, que peut produire à sa volonté un chef d'équipe placé dans un kiosque voisin d'où il domine tout l'ensemble sans être remarqué du public.

C'est cependant lui qui est le véritable Deus ex machina de ce décor de féerie. Dans son kiosque, il a devant lui une série de leviers et de boutons électriques. Les leviers lui servent à actionner les robinets d'amenée dans la grande gerbe et à varier les effets selon son inspiration. Les boutons correspondent à des tableaux de service, installés dans des chambres, qui se trouvent : l'une sous la grande gerbe, l'autre sous la fontaine.

Dans chacune de ces chambres, un homme, suivant les indications que lui transmet le tableau, actionne les groupes de verres de couleur placés sous sa dépendance, au moyen de leviers dont la manœuvre est fort simple, car elle se rapproche énormément de celle des aiguilles sur les lignes de chemin de fer. Pour se guider, l'ouvrier lit sur un tableau placé devant lui, l'indication de la manœuvre à accomplir; et le mouvement indiqué par le chef d'équipe, effectué par les leviers, se transmet immédiatement aux systèmes de verres colorés.

Les verres peuvent être manœuvres séparément ou simultanément. Ainsi on peut obtenir une coloration violette en interposant entre le projecteur et le jet, les deux verres bleu et rouge.

D'autres se présentent sous un angle, de telle façon que l'on puisse colorer d'une teinte la partie supérieure d'un jet et d'une autre teinte la partie inférieure. Ce qui produit des effets véritablement féeriques.

Il ne faut pas moins de 300 chevaux de force pour fournir l'électricité nécessitée par les appareils qui illuminent la fontaine et les gerbes. Il est vrai que ces appareils sont au nombre de 48 et que la masse d'eau débitée et dont il s'agit de faire une masse de feu, va jusqu'à 1,200 mètres cubes à l'heure, soit 21,000 litres par minute.

Si l'on considère que certains des jets ont jusqu'à vingt mètres de hauteur, on voit quelle somme de lumière cela représente, et l'on est étonné non pas de la force dépensée, mais au contraire du peu de force nécessaire.

Néanmoins, la quantité de lumière fournie par les régulateurs électriques est considérable, et l'intensité de ces foyers est telle que l'ouvrier chargé de leur manœuvre ne peut s'en approcher qu'en protégeant ses yeux d'un verre noir, sans quoi il serait immanquablement aveuglé.

©Livre d'Or de l'Exposition - Henri Anry.