World Fair of Paris 1889

Centenary of the French Revolution

May 6, 1889 - October 31, 1889


Back - List of Pavilions

Turkish Tobacco

Turkish Tobacco at the Exhibition Expo Paris 1889

Architect(s) : Pucey

Should the French Tobacco Board allow foreign exhibitors to sell tobacco from their countries within the Exhibition grounds?

Such was the question that arose, and one that was bound to present some difficulties in finding a solution. By allowing foreign tobacco to be sold for several months, was there not a risk that consumers would become unaccustomed to French products, and above all that smuggling would open a door that would be very difficult to control?

The Régie was in favour of absolute prohibition; but exhibitors from all countries demanded so much and so loudly that the Administration had to give in, subject to its control rights.
Special stickers are affixed to the products of foreign factories; these stickers confirm that the entry duties have been paid. Moreover, the sale is made under the direct and constant supervision of the State.

So many precautions, one might say, for a few unfortunate cigarettes. Many people find the tobacco monopoly excessive and the prohibitions which prevent the sale of this merchandise like any other vexatious. They also protest against the exaggerated price which, it is said, results from the monopoly.

Basically, this is to consider the question in reverse. Tobacco is not expensive because there is a monopoly, but there is a monopoly because tobacco is expensive. A tax that is three or four times the value of the object sold offers such a premium to smuggling that all possible arrangements, all imaginable precautions, would have failed before the skill of the fraudsters enticed by a large profit.

The simplest means of collection was to radically suppress all sales of tobacco outside the State. This is what was done. Unquestionably, French tobacco is expensive, but there is a small compensation: it is good...

Yes, it is good... despite the daily complaints. It is even excellent if you compare it to the current tobaccos of our neighbours, the Belgians, the Swiss, the Germans, the Italians.
I know that a packet of tobacco is sometimes adorned with logs as big as your finger, that many cigars don't draw, that some cigarettes are full of rubbish. But do not complain too much, smokers, my brothers, and bless your fate which does not force you to burn the cut hay of the Belgian manufacturers, the insipid cigars of Hamburg, the short Veveys and the Gransons of our friends the Swiss.

Be sure that the connoisseurs of these countries would give something from their own pockets to have the small vexations, accompanied by the guarantees of quality of the French management.

Besides, in all the countries neighbouring France, if you want to smoke something more or less suitable, you smoke French tobacco.

This is for ordinary tobacco, but at the Exhibition, what is sold consists of luxury tobacco and cigars, and, moreover, the non-participation of Germany guarantees us against the invasion of its vile cigars from Hamburg.

It is, of course, America that has sent the most samples of tobacco and cigars. There are at least thirty houses in Havana that are giving tastings of their products. El Salvador, Chile, Ecuador, offer cigars hitherto unknown in France, as well as American cigarettes, remarkable for the sweetness of their tobacco and especially the amusing vignettes which decorate the boxes and packets.

Europe does not want to be left behind, Spain and Austria are competing, Switzerland and even Belgium are claiming smoking success. For the latter two countries, I must confess that the claim seems exaggerated.

Russia has more right to expect a victory. Its tobaccos are already very much like those lovely Oriental tobaccos which the Ottoman Imperial Administration sells in a charming kiosk copied from the Achmet Fountain in Constantinople.

This pavilion is situated in the gardens, near the Palace of Fine Arts and the Directorate... Mr. Pucey, the Parisian architect who was in charge of the construction, had above all to carry out a reconstruction of the Constantinople kiosk, the plans of which had been drawn up and sent by Mr. Vallain, head of the Sultan's building department. Mr. Pucey has done this task very well, and the Turkish kiosk, consisting of a large room raised on a terrace, is one of the most beautiful on the Champ de Mars.

It is of the best oriental style, a lacework of stucco and a mosaic of bright colours. Tasted there, the tobacco of the East must have a very different flavour than under the banal ceiling and between the sad walls of one of our Western houses.

One can go through the whole range of oriental tobaccos in a few minutes, for the Ottoman imperial administration wanted all the provinces of the empire in which it has factories to be represented and, from latakieh to tombeki, all the flavours of oriental nicotines are at the disposal of amateurs.

The English Indies sell their tobacco in the Indian serai, installed on the Champ de Mars.

As for the Dutch colonies, which produce a lot of tobacco, and a lot of good tobacco, they sell their products in the Javanese kampang, where the entire population of a village in Malaysia lives.

Well, in spite of all these facilities, do you want my opinion... Here it is:
What is still smoked most at the Exhibition is our scaferlati or our caporal, or our Châteauroux cigar.

©Livre d'Or de l'Exposition - Henry Anry.

Retour - Liste Pavillons

Tabacs


Tabacs à l'exposition de Paris 1889

Architecte(s) : Pucey

La régie française des tabacs devait-elle permettre à des exposants étrangers de débiter les tabacs de leurs pays dans l'enceinte de l'Exposition?

Telle était la question qui se posait et qui ne laissait pas que d'offrir quelques difficultés à la solution. A laisser vendre du tabac étranger pendant plusieurs mois, ne courait-on pas le risque de déshabituer les consommateurs des produits français, et surtout n'ouvrait-on pas à la contrebande une porte qu'il serait bien difficile de surveiller?

La régie était pour la prohibition absolue ; mais les exposants de tous pays ont réclamé tant et si fort, qu'il a bien fallu que l'Administration finît par céder, sous réserve de ses droits de contrôle.
Des vignettes spéciales sont apposées sur les produits des manufactures étrangères, ces vignettes constatent l'acquit des droits à l'entrée. En outre la vente est faite sous la surveillance directe et constante de l'Etat.

Voilà bien des précautions, dira-t-on, pour quelques malheureuses cigarettes. Beaucoup de personnes trouvent en effet excessif le monopole des tabacs et vexatoires les prohibitions qui empêchent de vendre cette marchandise-là comme n'importe quelle autre. On proteste aussi contre le prix exagéré qui résulte, dit-on, du monopole.

Au fond, c'est considérer la question à l'envers. Le tabac n'est pas cher parce qu'il y a un monopole, mais il y a un monopole parce que le tabac est cher. Un impôt qui va jusqu'à trois ou quatre fois la valeur de l'objet vendu offre une telle prime à la contrebande que tous les arrangements possibles, toutes les précautions imaginables, eussent échoué devant l'adresse des fraudeurs alléchés par un gros bénéfice.

Le plus simple moyen de perception était de supprimer radicalement toute vente de tabac en dehors de l'État. C'est ce que l'on a fait. Incontestablement le tabac français est cher, mais il y a cette petite compensation, c'est qu'il est bon...

Eh! oui il est bon... malgré les journalières réclamations. Il est même excellent si vous le comparez aux tabacs courants de nos voisins les Belges, les Suisses, les Allemands, les Italiens.
Je sais bien qu'un paquet de tabac est quelquefois orné de bûches grosses comme le doigt, que maints cigares ne tirent pas, que certaines cigarettes sont bourrées de détritus divers. Mais ne vous plaignez pas trop, fumeurs, mes frères, et bénissez votre sort qui ne vous contraint pas à griller le foin coupé des fabricants belges, les insipides cigares de Hambourg, les Veveys courts et les Gransons de nos amis les Suisses.

Soyez sûrs que les connaisseurs de ces pays-là donneraient bien quelque chose de leur poche pour avoir les petites vexations, accompagnées des garanties de qualité de la régie française.

Du reste, dans toutes les contrées voisines de la France, on fume, si l'on veut fumer quelque chose d'à peu près convenable, du tabac de la régie française.

Cela c'est pour les tabacs ordinaires, mais à l'Exposition, ce que l'on débite consiste en tabacs et en cigares de luxe et, au surplus, la non participation de l'Allemagne nous garantit contre l'envahissement de ses ignobles cigares de Hambourg.

C'est, bien entendu, l'Amérique qui a envoyé le plus d'échantillons de tabacs et de cigares. Il y a trente maisons de la Havane, au moins, qui font déguster leurs produits. Le Salvador, le Chili, l'Equateur, offrent des cigares jusqu'à ce jour inconnus en France, comme les cigarettes américaines, remarquables par la douceur de leur tabac et surtout les amusantes vignettes qui décorent les boîtes et les paquets.

L'Europe ne veut pas se laisser devancer, l'Espagne et l'Autriche concourent, la Suisse et la Belgique même prétendent à des succès tabagiques. Pour ces deux derniers pays, je dois avouer que la prétention me paraît exagérée.

La Russie a plus de droit à escompter une victoire. Ses tabacs tiennent déjà beaucoup de ces adorables tabacs d'Orient que la régie impériale ottomane débite dans un kiosque charmant copié sur la fontaine d'Achmet de Constantinople.

Ce pavillon est situé dans les jardins, près du Palais des Beaux-Arts et de la Direction... M. Pucey, l'architecte parisien qui a été chargé de l'édification, avait surtout à accomplir un travail de reconstitution du kiosque de Constantinople, dont les plans avaient été relevés et envoyés par M. Vallain, chef du service des bâtiments du sultan. M. Pucey s'est fort bien acquitté de cette tâche, et le kiosque turc, composé d'une grande salle élevé sur terrasse, est un des plus jolis du Champ de Mars.

C'est du meilleur style d'Orient, une dentelure de stuc et une mosaïque de couleurs vives. Dégusté là dedans, le tabac d'Orient doit avoir une tout autre saveur que sous le plafond banal et entre les murs tristes d'une de nos maisons d'Occident.

On peut parcourir là, en quelques minutes, toute la gamme des tabacs orientaux, car la régie impériale ottomane a voulu que toutes les provinces de l'empire dans lesquelles elle a des manufactures, fussent représentées et, du latakieh au tombeki, tous les arômes des nicotines orientales sont à la disposition des amateurs.

Les Indes anglaises vendent, elles, leurs tabacs dans le serai indien, installé sur le Champ de Mars.

Quant aux colonies hollandaises qui produisent beaucoup de tabacs, et beaucoup de bons tabacs, elles vendent leurs produits dans le kampang javanais, où habite toute la population d'un village de Malaisie.

Eh bien! malgré toutes ces installations, voulez-vous mon avis... Le voici:
Ce que l'on fume le plus encore à l'Exposition, c'est notre scaferlati ou notre caporal, ou notre cigare de Châteauroux.

©Livre d'Or de l'Exposition - Henry Anry.