World Fair of Paris 1889

Centenary of the French Revolution

May 6, 1889 - October 31, 1889


Back - List of Pavilions

Freshwater Aquarium

Freshwater Aquarium at the Exhibition Expo Paris 1889

All Parisians and even all foreigners who have come to Paris since 1878 are familiar with the freshwater aquarium, which was installed for the last Exhibition, and which has not been substantially modified since.

I believe, however, that it has been enlarged by increasing the capacity of some of the compartments, but I would not answer for that; what I am sure of is that it has been restored, refurbished, for there were broken tanks, and that it has been considerably repopulated.

Assuming that it has remained as it is, it is still one of the most important known, and if not the best installed of all, at least the most picturesque, and one can say, the most amusing.

For it is very amusing to walk through the long underground galleries, when they are not too crowded with people, lined with large mirrors, through which you see, wriggling happily or swimming melancholically, according to their temperament, fish of all colours, from all countries, since this is also a world exhibition.

The aquarium occupies an area of about 2,800 square metres; on the ground, it forms a pile of artificial rocks of the most picturesque effect, with the six rustic bridges that connect them, the vegetation that partly veils them and the streams of water that escape in rivulets, cascades and even cascades.

It is in these rocks, arranged underground to form basins and cemented accordingly, that the fish frolic, which we allow to be seen in the open air, at the risk of inflicting a Tantalus-like torture on hardened or softened anglers, who spend half their lives catching nothing and the other half regretting it.

Moreover, it is especially from below that one sees the most and best of the inhabitants of the wave distributed in twenty-four tanks, each with a capacity of about 25 cubic metres, arranged on each side of concentric galleries 6 metres wide, and presenting to visitors two hundred and sixty-six ice cubes, 22 millimetres thick, which are the lower walls of these tanks.

Needless to say, all these tanks are arranged and furnished internally, according to the habits and customs of the inhabitants and in such a way as to give them the greatest possible comfort during the time, which is quite short for some, when they are trying to acclimatise, for there are many who cannot get used to the waters of the Vanne, and who spend their time missing their homeland, like Mignon, with the difference, however, that they never see it again.

The tanks are numbered, and in addition to this number, each of them bears a sign, on which one can read the name of its inhabitants, chosen so as to present to the public specimens of all freshwater fish, not only from France, but also from abroad and from all over the world, for German fish, which are not jealous of French fish, did not refuse to take part in the Exhibition. You can see salmon from the Rhine, sterlets from the Volga, catfish from the Danube, fera from Lake Geneva, trout from all over the world and even cyprins from Lake Constance.

Two staircases lead down to the aquarium's underground galleries. The main entrance, next to the large avenue that runs from the Avenue d'Iéna to the pavilion at the head of the right wing of the Trocadero, leads to a hallway decorated with a beautiful waterfall.

Not far from this entrance, a curiosity has been provided for lovers of particularities, which is not to be despised; it is, opposite tank no. 10, a passage of which all the walls are made of ice, not only the sides, but also the ceiling, so that with a little imagination the visitor who looks at the fishes which come and go, to the right, to the left and above his head, can believe himself to be in a diving bell.
There are, moreover, here as in the other tanks, very curious effects of light which are impossible to describe, especially as they are essentially variable, since they depend on the weather, on the greater or lesser intensity of the sun, on the solitude or congestion of the galleries, as well as on the visitors who are above in the garden, and can intercept all or part of a ray of sunlight, shimmering in a tank or making its walls sparkle.

This is one of the hazards of visiting the aquarium, but without counting on anything in advance, one can always expect something, it would be very rare to waste one's time.

©Livre d'Or de l'Exposition - G. Vital Meurysse

Retour - Liste Pavillons

Aquarium d'Eau Douce


Aquarium d'Eau Douce à l'exposition de Paris 1889

Tous les Parisiens et même tous les étrangers qui sont venus à Paris depuis 1878 connaissent l'aquarium d'eau douce, qui a été installé pour la dernière Exposition, et qui n'a pas été modifié sensiblement depuis.

Je crois pourtant qu'on l'a agrandi en augmentant la capacité de quelques compartiments, mais je n'en répondrais pas; ce dont je suis sûr, c'est qu'on l'a restauré, remis à neuf, car il y avait des bacs de cassés, et qu'on l'a considérablement repeuplé.

En supposant qu'il soit resté tel quel, c'est encore l'un des plus considérables que l'on connaisse, et sinon le mieux installé de tous, du moins le plus pittoresque, et on peut le dire, le plus amusant.

Car c'est très amusant de se promener dans les longues galeries souterraines, quand elles ne sont pas trop encombrées de monde, bordées de grandes glaces, au travers desquels on voit, frétillant gaiement ou nageant mélancoliquement, selon leur tempérament, les poissons de toutes couleurs, de tous les pays, attendu que là aussi c'est une exposition universelle.

L'aquarium occupe une superficie d'environ 2,800 mètres carrés; sur le sol, il forme un amoncellement de rochers artificiels de l'effet le plus pittoresque, avec les six ponts rustiques qui les met en communication, la végétation qui les voile en partie et les filets d'eau qui s'en échappent en ruisselets, en cascatelles et même en cascade.

C'est dans ces rochers, disposés souterrainement pour former bassins et cimentés en conséquence, que s'ébattent les poissons que l'on laisse voir ainsi à ciel ouvert, au risque d'infliger un petit supplice de Tantale aux pêcheurs à la ligne, endurcis... ou ramollis, qui passent la moitié de leur vie à ne rien prendre et l'autre moitié à le regretter.

Du reste, c'est surtout d'en bas que l'on voit le plus et le mieux les habitants de l'onde répartis dans vingt-quatre bacs, d'une capacité d'environ 25 mètres cubes chacun, disposés de chaque côté de galeries concentriques de 6 mètres de largeur, et présentant aux visiteurs deux cent soixante-six glaces, épaisses de 22 millimètres, qui sont les parois inférieures de ces bacs. .

Inutile de dire que tous ces bacs sont disposés et meublés intérieurement, selon les mœurs et coutumes des habitants et de façon à leur donner le plus de bien-être possible pendant le temps, assez court pour les uns, où ils essayent de s'acclimater, car il en est beaucoup qui ne peuvent pas s'habituer aux eaux de la Vanne, et qui passent leur temps à regretter leur patrie, comme Mignon, avec cette différence pourtant qu'ils ne la revoient jamais.

Les bacs sont numérotés, et outre ce numéro, chacun d'eux porte une pancarte, sur laquelle on peut lire le nom de ses habitants, choisis de façon à présenter au public des spécimens de tous les poissons d'eau douce, non seulement de France, mais encore de l'étranger et de tout l'étranger, car les poissons allemands, qui ne sont pas jaloux des poissons français, n'ont pas refusé de prendre part à l'Exposition. On y voit des saumons du Rhin, des sterlets du Volga, des silures du Danube, des feras du lac de Genève, des truites de partout et même des cyprins du lac de Constance.

On descend dans les galeries souterraines de l'aquarium par deux escaliers. L'entrée principale, voisine de la grande allée qui part de l'avenue d'Iéna pour aboutir au pavillon de tète de l'aile droite du Trocadéro, aboutit à un vestibule décoré d'une cascade d'un bel effet.

Non loin de cette entrée, on a ménagé pour les amateurs de particularités, une curiosité qui n'est point à dédaigner; c'est, en face du bac n°10, un passage dont toutes les parois sont en glace, non seulement les latérales, mais aussi le plafond, de sorte qu'avec un peu d'imagination le visiteur qui regarde les poissons qui vont et viennent, à droite, à gauche et au-dessus de sa tête, peut se croire dans une cloche à plongeur.
Il y a du reste, là comme dans les autres bacs, des effets de lumière très curieux qui sont impossibles à décrire, d'autant qu'ils sont essentiellement variables, puisqu'ils dépendent du temps qu'il fait, de l'intensité plus ou moins grande du soleil, de la solitude ou de l'encombrement des galeries, aussi bien que des visiteurs qui se trouvent au-dessus dans le jardin, et peuvent intercepter tout ou partie d'un rayon de soleil, miroitant dans un bac ou faisant étinceler ses parois.

C'est un des aléas de la visite de l'aquarium, mais sans compter sur rien à l'avance, on peut toujours s'attendre à quelque chose, il serait bien rare qu'on perdît son temps.

©Livre d'Or de l'Exposition - G. Vital Meurysse