World Fair of Paris 1889

Centenary of the French Revolution

May 6, 1889 - October 31, 1889


Back - List of Pavilions

Folies Parisiennes Theatre

Folies Parisiennes Theatre at the Exhibition Paris 1889

Architect(s) : Letorey, Schryveer

Theatre is perhaps a very big word for an establishment which puts such a cheerful label on its pediment, and which, moreover, does not claim to correct morals even by laughing, but above all to offer visitors, tired of the wonders of all kinds which make up the Exhibition, a few moments of rest, embellished with amusing shows, chopped up into small plays, ballets, interspersed with ditties, acrobats, orchestral music, in a word everything, a few moments of rest, enhanced by amusing shows, chopped up into small pieces, ballets, interspersed with ditties, acrobats, orchestral music, in a word, everything that can distract the eye without tiring the attention. ... and the ears.

It will be more than a theatre, in the true sense of the word, a café-concert or a café-spectacle, if you like.

On this side there is nothing new, but what is curious is the aspect of the hall which, seen from the side, appears to be a vast tent made of oriental fabrics; what is new is the all-iron construction of the theatre itself, which serves as a sort of exhibition for Mr. Schryveer, the engineer-constructor-inventor of dismountable and transportable steel houses, for his system applied to the construction of theatres.

This system also has the advantage of being economical, and it was necessary, because this is what was recommended to him above all by the directors of the Folies-Parisiennes, who have only six months to earn the price of their building, the depreciation of which is naturally included in their general expenses.

This wise and prudent economy is not incompatible, moreover, with the rigorous prescriptions established to ensure the safety of spectators.

The example of the Opéra-Comique, unfortunately all too recent, has not yet been forgotten, and everyone will benefit from it, the administration, to hold the hand in the execution of its decrees, the directors to lend themselves willingly to it and even to go beyond it.

In reality, the serious danger always comes from the part of the theatre where the stage and the theatre services are located. It is this part that needs to be built in a special way.

Here the precautions have been taken further than in ordinary constructions.

While the frame of the hall itself is made of wood, the framework of the stage area is made of iron; but, in addition, M. de Schryveer et Cie, the builders of the Palace of Liberal Arts, who were commissioned to carry out this construction, decided not to use any other materials and to make the walls and partitions entirely of metal, which seems to remove any chance of fire and does not at all harm the decoration, which can just as easily be painted or decorated with cardboard as in any other construction.

The design of an all-metal building, from base to peak, has long been sought. But until now, the difficulty has been that iron is too conductive, making the building almost uninhabitable in all seasons. It was an oven in the summer, an ice house when it was cold.

It is true that a palliative had been imagined, consisting of forming the wall from two sheets of metal with an insulating body in between.

But we finally realised that the best insulator is air: a mattress of air between the two walls and that is enough, if we allow this air to circulate, entering through the lower part and flowing out through the ridge.

Heating one of the metal sides of the wall only causes a more active draught. This was verified in a very significant experiment in which Mr. Dauby heated the outer sheet to a temperature of 60 degrees, the temperature of the inner wall never exceeded 5 degrees, but the speed of the air flow between the two sheets reached one metre per second.

It is easy to imagine then the mode of construction which is suitable and which is applied to the theatre of the Folies-Parisiennes of Messrs. Daubray, Scipion and Richard, at least in the part occupied by the stage.

The walls are made of panels of thin pressed steel sheet, one millimetre thick. The deep-drawing also allows them to be sufficiently decorative.

These sheets are riveted on either side of an iron frame which holds them 16 centimetres apart, so that air can circulate between them.

The roof itself is made up in the same way, and the whole construction is so light that no foundation was needed; it rests entirely on U-shaped irons, laid flat on the ground.

This pretty little building occupies a site of forty by twenty metres, between the Operations building and the Eiffel Tower, which it will certainly not crush with its mass.

If the use of iron protects it from fire, it is, however, to be feared that it will acquire an unpleasant sound, but let's wait for the use before judging, especially since we are in very new conditions, the hall being only partially closed.

The architect of the Folies-Parisiennes is M. Letorey, the decorator of the Trocadero and the Hôtel Continental, and his decoration will do him credit, for the theatre is elegant, picturesque, and above all very original.

©Livre d'Or de l'Exposition - Maurice Dulac.

Retour - Liste Pavillons

Théâtre des Folies Parisiennes


Théâtre des Folies Parisiennes à l'exposition de Paris 1889

Architecte(s) : Letorey, Schryveer

Théatre est peut-être un mot bien gros pour un établissement qui met à son fronton une étiquette aussi gaie, et qui, d'ailleurs, n'a point la prétention de corriger les mœurs même en riant, mais surtout celle d'offrir aux visiteurs, fatigués des merveilles de toutes sortes qui composent l'Exposition, quelques moments de repos, agrémentés de spectacles amusants, hachés menu, par petites pièces, ballets, entremêlés de chansonnettes, d'acrobates, de musique d'orchestre, en un mot de tout ce qui peut distraire l'œil sans fatiguer l'attention... et les oreilles.

Ce sera bien plutôt qu'un théâtre, dans la véritable acception du mot, un café-concert ou un café-spectacle, si l'on veut.

De ce côté rien de bien nouveau, mais ce qui est curieux, c'est l'aspect de la salle qui, vue de côté, paraît une vaste tente en étoffes orientales; ce qui est nouveau c'est la construction tout en fer du théâtre proprement dit, qui sert en quelque sorte à M. Schryveer, l'ingénieur-constructeur-inventeur des maisons en acier démontables et transportables, d'exposition pour son système appliqué à l'édification des salles de spectacle.

Ce système a aussi l'avantage d'être économique, et il le fallait bien, car c'est ce qui lui a été recommandé surtout par les directeurs des Folies-Parisiennes, qui n'ont que six mois pour gagner le prix de leur immeuble, dont l'amortissement figure tout naturellement dans leurs frais généraux.

Cette sage et prudente économie n'est pas incompatible, du reste, avec les rigoureuses prescriptions établies pour assurer la sécurité des spectateurs.

L'exemple, malheureusement trop récent de l'Opéra-Comique, n'est pas encore oublié, et chacun en fera son profit, l'administration, pour tenir la main à l'exécution de ses arrêtés, les directeurs pour s'y prêter de bonne grâce et même pour aller au delà.

En réalité, le danger sérieux provient toujours de la partie du théâtre où se trouvent la scène et les services du théâtre. C'est cette partie qu'il convient de construire d'une façon toute spéciale.

Ici l'on a poussé les précautions plus loin que dans les constructions ordinaires.

Tandis que la carcasse de la salle proprement dite est en bois, la charpente de la région de la scène est en fer; mais, en outre, M. de Schryveer et Cie, les constructeurs du palais des Arts libéraux qui ont été chargés de cette construction, ont résolu de n'employer point d'autres matériaux et défaire les parois et les cloisons entièrement métalliques, ce qui semble enlever toute chance d'incendie et ne nuit point du tout à la décoration, qui peut tout aussi bien être peinte ou décorée avec du carton pâte, que dans toute autre construction.

Il y a longtemps que l'on cherche à réaliser la conception d'un édifice entièrement métallique, de la base au faîte. Mais jusqu'ici on s'était heurté à une difficulté résultant de la trop grande conductibilité du fer qui rendait le bâtiment à peu près inhabitable en toute saison. C'était un four en été, une glacière, dès que le froid était venu.

On avait imaginé, il est vrai, un palliatif consistant à former la paroi de deux tôles entre lesquelles on interposait un corps isolant.

Mais on s'est aperçu enfin que le meilleur isolant c'est l'air : un matelas d'air entre les deux parois et cela suffit, si l'on permet à cet air de circuler, entrant par la partie inférieure, s'écoulant par le faîtage.

L'échauffement de l'une des faces métalliques de la muraille ne provoque qu'un tirage plus actif. C'est ce qu'a vérifié une expérience très significative où M. Dauby chauffant la tôle extérieure à la température de 60 degrés, la température de la paroi intérieure ne dépassait jamais 5 degrés, mais la vitesse d'écoulement de l'air entre les deux tôles atteignait un mètre par seconde.

Il est facile d'imaginer alors le mode de construction qui convient et que l'on applique au théâtre des Folies-Parisiennes de MM. Daubray, Scipion et Richard, au moins dans la partie occupée par la scène.

Les murs sont formés de panneaux en tôle mince d'acier emboutie de un millimètre d'épaisseur. L'emboutissage permet, du reste, de leur donner une suffisante décoration.

Ces tôles sont rivées de part et d'autre d'une carcasse en fer qui les tient écartées de 16 centimètres, de manière à laisser l'air circuler entre elles.

La toiture elle-même est constituée de la même façon, et toute cette construction est si légère qu'on a pu se dispenser d'y faire aucune fondation ; elle repose tout entière sur des fers en U, posés à plat sur le sol.

Ce joli petit édifice occupe un terrain de quarante mètres sur vingt, entre le bâtiment de l'Exploitation et la Tour Eiffel, qu'il n'écrasera certainement pas de sa masse.

Si l'emploi du fer le met à l'abri de l'incendie il est, toutefois, à craindre qu'il n'y acquière une sonorité désagréable, mais attendons l'usage avant de juger, d'autant qu'on se trouve là dans des conditions toutes nouvelles, la salle n'étant close que partiellement.

L'architecte des Folies-Parisiennes est M. Letorey, le décorateur du Trocadéro et de l'Hôtel Continental, et sa décoration lui fera honneur, car le théâtre est élégant, pittoresque, et surtout très original.

©Livre d'Or de l'Exposition - Maurice Dulac.