Back - List of Pavilions

Quai d'Orsay Gate - Expo Paris 1889

Quai d'Orsay Gate at the Exhibition Expo Paris 1889

It has been said over and over again that the Exhibition was the triumph of iron; it would perhaps be more accurate to say that it was the triumph of the pylon.

Do you like pylons? They were everywhere. Every foreign pavilion had at least two pylons. The Eiffel Tower itself is only a pylon of gigantic dimensions, and it is by passing between two pylons that one enters the Exhibition, through the Quai d'Orsay gate.

In the background, the pylon has been put into the current traffic for a year by the architect-engineers and the engineer-architects, simply to impress the layman. Like the military, they use pylons in their love talks, to make themselves look good in the eyes of nannies.

A pylon is in architecture a door, in geodesy it is something pointed. For the architects of 1889, a pylon is something pointed next to a door. And this is how the French language is enriched.

Moreover, we must declare ourselves happy that this entrance to the Quai d'Orsay has a pylon. These two small pavilions, which on both sides of a gate serve as posts, doors and wickets, would be pitifully sad if they were not topped by a slightly cheerful pylon. When one thinks of them, they awaken the idea of the entrance to Père-Lachaise rather than that of the entrance to the Exhibition.

So the entrance is essentially composed of two guardhouses, through which one will enter the interior of the Exhibition, the gate being reserved for the exit.

These guardhouses are surmounted by columns, first of all square, about 10 metres high; or to put it more accurately, they consist of square columns 15 metres high, into the base of which the entrance would have been cut.

On each side, these bases are flanked by small appendages, which have no other purpose than to carry Venetian masts with flags at their outer corners. These appendages are pierced with narrow windows.

Above the base, a prow emerges from the bottom of each column shaft, on which a symbolic figure stands.

Below the capitals, shields in relief are found on each side of the column. All in all, this is quite severe. But all of a sudden, above the capital, the style changes abruptly, and we find ourselves in the middle of an oriental fantasy, and even an extremely oriental one; there is a debauchery of chimeras, horns, and superimposed capitals. The whole thing ends in a point like an Annamite pagoda.

This bizarre appearance can, moreover, be justified by the fact that the Exhibition at the Esplanade des Invalides being reserved for the colonies, it was intended to give a foretaste of the architectural bigarities of the countries placed under our protectorate or our dependence...

The general criticism that can be made of this gate is that it lacks a monumental appearance and rigidity of line, despite the severity of its base. This is due to the profusion of flags, banners and pennants with which it has been decorated. These floating fabrics break all order and symmetry. It is true that it is to the benefit of the colour. Perhaps nothing is lost?

©Livre d'Or de l'Exposition - Paul Lejenisel.

Retour - Liste Pavillons

Porte du Quai d'Orsay


Porte du Quai d'Orsay à l'exposition de Paris 1889

On a dit et redit que l'Exposition était le triomphe du fer, ce serait peut-être plus exact de dire qu'elle est le triomphe du pylône.

Aimez-vous le pylône on en a mis partout. Chaque pavillon étranger s'est offert au moins deux pylônes. La Tour Eiffel n'est elle-même qu'un pylône de dimensions gigantesques, et c'est en passant entre deux pylônes que l'on entre à l'Exposition, par la porte du quai d'Orsay.

Au fond, pylône a été mis depuis un an dans la circulation courante par les architectes ingénieurs et les ingénieurs architectes, tout simplement pour épater le profane. Tels les militaires émaillent de subséquemment leurs entretiens amoureux, pour se grandir aux yeux des bonnes d'enfant.

Un pylône, c'est en architecture une porte, c'est en géodésie quelque chose de pointu. Pour les architectes de 1889, un pylône c'est quelque chose de pointu à côté d'une porte. Et voilà comment s'enrichit la langue française.

Il faut au surplus se déclarer heureux qu'on ait pylône cette entrée du quai d'Orsay. Ces deux petits pavillons, qui des deux côtés d'une grille servent à la fois de montants, de porte et de guichets, seraient lamentablement tristes, s'ils n'étaient surmontés d'un pylône un peu gai. Ils éveillent, lorsqu'on les dépouille par la pensée de leurs flèches quadrangulaires, bien plus l'idée de l'entrée du Père-Lachaise que celle de rentrée de l'Exposition.

Donc, l'entrée se compose essentiellement de deux corps de garde, par lesquels on accédera dans l'intérieur de l'Exposition, la grille étant réservée à la sortie.

Ces corps de garde sont surmontés de colonnes, carrées d'abord sur une hauteur de 10 mètres environ; ou pour parler plus justement, ils se composent de colonnes carrées de 15 mètres dans la base desquelles on aurait pratiqué l'entrée.

De chaque côté, ces bases sont flanquées de petits appendices, qui n'ont d'autre but que de porter à leurs angles extérieurs des mâts vénitiens, avec oriflammes. Ces appendices sont ajourés de fenêtres étroites.

Au-dessus de la base, une proue émerge du bas de chaque fût de colonne, sur cette proue se dresse une figure symbolique.

Au-dessous des chapiteaux, des écussons en reliefs se répondent sur chacune des faces de la colonne. Tout cela est somme toute d'un aspect assez sévère. Mais tout d'un coup, au-dessus du chapiteau, le style change brusquement, et l'on se trouve en pleine fantaisie orientale et même extrêmement orientale; il y a une débauche de chimères, de cornes, de chapiteaux superposés. Le tout se termine en pointe comme une pagode annamite.

Cet aspect bizarre peut, du reste, se justifier par ce fait que l'Exposition de l'Esplanade des Invalides étant réservée aux colonies, on a voulu donner dès l'entrée un avant-goût des bigarrures architecturales des pays placés sous notre protectorat ou notre dépendance...

Le reproche général, que l'on peut faire à cette porte, est de manquer d'aspect monumental et de rigidité dans les lignes, malgré les sévérités de sa base. Cela tient à la profusion de drapeaux, d'oriflammes, de fanions dont on l'a décorée. Ces tissus flottants rompent toute ordonnance et toute symétrie. Il est vrai que c'est au bénéfice de la couleur. Peut-être n'y perd-on rien?

©Livre d'Or de l'Exposition - Paul Lejenisel.