World Fair of Paris 1889

Centenary of the French Revolution

May 6, 1889 - October 31, 1889


Back - List of Pavilions

Annamite Theatre

Annamite Theatre at the Exhibition Paris 1889

Tonkin has definitely conquered France: yellow-skinned garrisons, with slanting eyes and prominent cheekbones, stand guard at the gates of the palaces of the Invalides exhibition; fascinated Parisians crowd around an Indo-Chinese painter, spreading bright colours on the calico; there is a fear of a coachmen's strike - rickshaws are soon circulating and preparing to replace the traditional fiacres; the theatres are thinking of closing down - what a bargain! Even, without leaving the Exhibition, one could find, without much effort, something to lodge in, to amuse oneself, to eat, to drink, to sleep, to pray, to laugh and the rest in the Annamese or Tonkinese style.

It is worth noting that the peoples conquered by France have always exerted an irresistible seduction on her. The infatuation with chinoiseries has taken hold of us following our campaigns in the Far East, just as the expeditions across the Rhine had, at the beginning of the century, inoculated us with romanticism and German reverie. From Malplaquet we bring back Marlborough's song, and from the wars of Charles VIII, the taste for Italian architecture and the seeds of our entire Renaissance.

These indolent Annamites are sad conquerors; nothing seems to cause them any surprise, and Dr. Harmand, who, better than any other and before any other, has travelled through their country, tells us that, on his first trip, the things that usually strike savages, i.e., the rifle, the revolver, the spyglass, and a magnet, produced absolutely no effect on the Annamites, even when their attention was strongly drawn to them: They were content to murmur with an expression marked by disdain: "Bo hou tiac! We don't know that!

Bo hou tiac!" That is what they seem to say, these poor out-of-towners whom we see standing under the portico of the painted plaster pagodas, or crouching, with their chins in their hands, between the stretchers of their two-wheeled carts. They feel nothing but absolute indifference to the crowd around them, and the onlookers, who huddle together to watch for the slightest of their movements, are all, before their eyes, as if they were not!
The Exhibition, the domes, the golden dome of the Invalides, that royal pagoda where the great Mandarin of France lies, our theatres where they have been taken, Paris where they are taken for a walk, all this, Bohou tiac! and they remain there, following in the sky, with an eye of boredom, some flight of imaginary storks. So it was a great surprise when the Annamite Theatre gave its first performance the other evening in front of the press. An extraordinary din, - this is the prelude. The melody resembles that of a kitchen battery tumbling down the stairs: the tom-toms storm, the gongs thunder, the trumpets wail, the iron shudders, the violin creaks... A door is lifted, and a man - a monster with an impassive mask and a shuffling beard - rushes onto the stage: he does not scream, he grumbles; he does not gesticulate, he writhes; and as he struggles to cover the outburst of the orchestra, a disquieting and formidable bass drum chimes with repeated blows in this bewildering declamation.

A second character appears; and the same contortions, the same screams; a procession crosses the stage waving flags and Chinese umbrellas of an unheard-of richness... then it is a battle where spears are mixed, where large swords, curved in the oriental style, cut off the heads with painted masks. Corpses litter the theatre, the din increases, a grave stage manager in a black robe steps to the edge of the stage and says a few words: entr'acte.

And up there, in the galleries surrounding the theatre, a long murmur runs: I turn around, what a scene!

All the Annamites, men and women, all the Tonkinese with their black buns, are there, massed at the top of the tiers, forming the most picturesque groups, adding to this unforgettable spectacle of exoticism, a note of local colour of unforgettable intensity. They follow with their little eyes, wide open, the improbable adventures of the king of Duong Ly-Tieng-Vuong; their parchment faces light up, their impassive features come to life: they nudge each other, and softly communicate their impressions.

They have all come, moreover, the inhabitants of the colonial villages: serious Arabs in long burnous; Tunisians with black moustaches, in small light-coloured jackets; Senegalese, of whom one can only distinguish, in the half-light, the brilliant eyes and white teeth; Canaques with frizzy hair and a broad laugh; Javanese, bemused and timid, with yellow and beardless faces... and all of them, filling the theatre's promenade, grouped against the wooden columns, cut out in the Chinese style, perched on the finely carved furniture, sitting with their legs dangling on the balustrades, impassive, with their necks stretched out, put there like one of those paintings in which one sees, in fanciful architectures, crowds of colourful people, the work of some oriental Veronese.

And the raised canvases, because of the great heat, show outside a deep tropical night sky: the minarets stand out under the clear light of the electric lamps, nestled in the foliage; the contoured spires of the pagodas whiten in the shade. Where are we? In Peking, in Tunis, in Yeddo, in Java? This unknown star which, over there, above the domes and the white palaces, shines like a lighthouse, mysterious and changing colour, is it not the Southern Cross? It is a dream!

But the din starts again, the show continues: this time, the unfortunate monarch whose adventures we are depicted as having had is obliged to flee to the plain; his enemy pursues him: an extra appears, he holds in one hand a torch of petrol, in the other a bottle of brandy, from which he drinks a large swig. His cheeks puff out, he crouches down, and suddenly, at a signal from the stage manager, he blows the alcohol onto the flame of his torch; the stage ignites, the fire falls back into luminous dust: this new kind of vaporizer, this staging of ancient simplicity, is the climax of the drama: It means that the enemies of Ly-Ticng-Vuong, giving up pursuing him, set fire to the moor in which he had taken refuge; we see him, moreover, in a corner of the theatre, this unfortunate monarch, writhing in pain, with his retinue, and imitating the contortions of a man in the process of roasting. I confess that I would not have understood, had it not been for the libretto which had been distributed to us, the full significance of this dramatic incident.

Then the king, stripped of his rich costume, his hair untied and flowing, wanders about without suite, without mandarins, without an army, until his adopted son, a very brave young man with beautiful feathers on his head, finally rids him of his enemies and restores to him a little of the tranquillity and calm that he must need so much.

Such is, sketched in broad strokes, this strange play from which our colleagues will perhaps try to extract some theatrical aesthetic. We have only wanted to show the external side of this show and summarise the impression it made on those present. Nothing was neglected to ensure the success of this curious exhibition; the costumes, real marvels of silk and shaded gold, are of a richness to make one dream; the actors, who answer to the names of Tho, Cho, Qui, Thinh, Bueb, Rit, Thao, Phung, Dang, are endowed with an unforgettable spirit and verve. Even, to make the gods favourable to them, they have placed in their theatre the image of Buddha, the protector of war, industry and the arts. Let us hope that Buddha will favour this very interesting enterprise, and continue to attract to the Annamite Theatre the crowd that has been pressing in since the opening day.

© L'exposition de Paris - 1889

Retour - Liste Pavillons

Théatre Annamite


Théatre Annamite à l'exposition de Paris 1889

Décidément le Tonkin a conquis la France : des garnisaires au teint jaune, aux yeux bridés et aux pommettes saillantes, montent la garde aux portes des palais de l'exposition des Invalides; les Parisiens fascinés se bousculent autour d'un peintre indo-chinois, étendant sur le calicot des couleurs éclatantes; on redoute une grève de cochers — vite les pousse-pousse circulent et s'apprêtent à remplacer les fiacres traditionnels ; les théâtres songent à fermer la belle affaire ! la comédie annamite n'est-elle point là Même, sans quitter l'Exposition, on trouverait, sans grand effort, de quoi se loger, s'amuser, manger, boire, dormir, prier, rire et le reste à l'annamite ou à la tonkinoise.

C'est une chose à remarquer que les peuples vaincus par la France ont, de tout temps, exercé sur elle une irrésistible séduction. L'engouement des chinoiseries nous a pris à la suite de nos campagnes d'extrême Orient, comme les expéditions d'outre-Rhin nous avaient, au début du siècle, inoculé le romantisme et la rêverie allemande. De Malplaquet nous rapportons la chanson de Marlborough, et, des guerres de Charles VIII, le goût de l'architecture italienne et le germe de toute notre Renaissance.

Tristes conquérants d'ailleurs que ces indolents Annamites; rien ne semble devoir leur causer d'étonnement, et le docteur Harmand qui, mieux que tout autre et avant tout autre, a parcouru leur pays, raconte que, lors de son premier voyage, les choses qui frappent ordinairement les sauvages, c'est-à-dire le fusil, le revolver, la lorgnette, un aimant, ne produisaient absolument sur les Annamites aucun effet, même lorsqu'on attirait fortement leur attention : ils se contentaient de murmurer avec une expression marquée de dédain : « Bo hou tiac ! Nous ne connaissons pas cela! »

Bo hou tiac! c'est bien ce qu'ils ont l'air de dire, ces pauvres dépaysés qu'on voit, debout sous le portique des pagodes en plâtre peint, ou accroupis, le menton dans la main, entre les brancards de leurs carrioles à deux roues. Ils n'éprouvent pour la foule qui les entoure qu'un sentiment d'indifférence absolue, et les curieux qui se tassent pour guetter le moindre de leurs mouvements sont tous, devant leurs yeux, comme s'ils n'étaient pas !
L'Exposition, les dômes, la coupole d'or des Invalides, cette royale pagode où repose le grand mandarin de France, nos théâtres où on les a conduits, Paris où on les promène, tout cela, Bohou tiac! et ils restent là, suivant dans le ciel, d'un œil d'ennui, quelque vol de cigognes imaginaires. Aussi la surprise fut grande quand le Théâtre Annamite adonné, l'autre soir, devant la presse, sa première représentation. Un vacarme extraordinaire, — c'est le prélude. La mélodie ressemble assez à celle que produirait une batterie de cuisine dégringolant des escaliers : les tam-tams tempêtent, les gongs tonnent, les trompettes gémissent, la ferraille frémit, le violon grince... Une portière se soulève, et un homme, — un monstre à masque impassible, à barbe traînante, — se précipite sur la scène : il ne hurle pas, il râle ; il ne gesticule pas, il se tord ; et tandis qu'il se démène à vouloir couvrir le déchaînement de l'orchestre, une inquiétante et formidable grosse caisse scande de coups répétés cette ahurissante déclamation.

Un second personnage se présente ; et ce sont les mêmes contorsions, les mêmes hurlements ; un cortège traverse la scène en agitant des drapeaux et des parasols chinois d'une richesse inouïe... puis c'est une bataille où les lances se mêlent, où les larges sabres, recourbés à l'orientale, tranchent les tètes au masque peint. Les cadavres jonchent le théâtre, le vacarme redouble, un grave régisseur en robe noire s'avance au bord de la scène et prononce quelques mots : entr'acte.

Et là-haut, dans les galeries qui entourent la salle, court comme un long murmure : je me retourne, quel tableau !

Tous les Annamites, hommes ou femmes, tous les Tonkinois à chignon noir, sont là, massés en haut des gradins, formant les plus pittoresques groupes, ajoutant à ce spectacle inoui d'exotisme, une note de couleur locale d'une inoubliable intensité. Ils suivent, eux, de leurs petits yeux, grands ouverts, les invraisemblables aventures du roi de Duong Ly-Tieng-Vuong ; leurs visages parcheminés s'éclairent, leurs traits impassibles s'animent : ils se poussent du coude, et tout bas, se communiquent leurs impressions.

Ils sont tous venus, du reste, les habitants des villages coloniaux : graves Arabes en longs burnous ; Tunisiens à moustache noire, en petite veste claire; Sénégalais, dont on ne distingue, dans la pénombre, que les yeux brillants et les dents blanches ; Canaques à cheveux crépus et au large rire ; Javanais ébahis et timides, à la face jaune et imberbe... et tous, remplissant le promenoir du théâtre, groupés contre les colonnes en bois, découpées à la chinoise, juchés sur les meubles aux fines sculptures, assis, les jambes pendantes, sur les balustrades, impassibles, le cou tendu, mettent là comme un de ces tableaux où l'on voit, dans des architectures de fantaisie, s'entasser des foules bigarrées, œuvre de quelque Véronèse oriental.

Et les toiles relevées, à cause de la grande chaleur, montrent au dehors un ciel profond de nuit des tropiques : les minarets se découpent sous la claire lumière des lampes électriques, nichées dans les feuillages ; les flèches contournées des pagodes blanchissent dans l'ombre. Où sommes-nous? à Pékin, à Tunis, à Yeddo, à Java?... Cette étoile inconnue qui, là-bas, au-dessus des dômes et des palais blancs, brille comme un phare, mystérieux et change de couleur, n'est-ce pas la croix du Sud ?... C'est un rêve !

Mais le vacarme recommence, le spectacle continue : cette fois, l'infortuné monarque dont on nous représente les aventures est obligé de fuir dans la plaine ; son ennemi le poursuit : un figurant se présente, il tient d'une main une torche de pétrole, de l'autre une bouteille d'eau-de-vie, dont il boit à même une large lampée. Ses joues se gonflent, il s'accroupit, et, tout à coup, à un signal du régisseur, il souffle l'alcool sur la flamme de sa torche ; la scène s'enflamme, le feu retombe en poussière lumineuse : ce vaporisateur d'un nouveau genre, cette mise en scène d'une simplicité antique, est le point culminant du drame : cela veut dire que les ennemis de Ly-Ticng-Vuong, renoncent à le poursuivre, incendient la lande dans laquelle il s'est réfugié; on le voit, du reste, dans un coin du théâtre,ce malheureux monarque, se tordant de douleur, avec sa suite, et imitant les contorsions d'un homme en train de rôtir. J'avoue que je n'aurais pas compris, sans le livret qu'on avait pris soin de nous distribuer, toute l'importance de ce dramatique incident.

Alors le roi, dépouillé de son riche costume, les cheveux dénoués et flottants, erre à l'aventure, sans suite, sans mandarins, sans armée, jusqu'à ce que son fils adoptif, un très courageux jeune homme qui a de belles plumes sur la tète, le débarrasse enfin de ses ennemis et lui rende un peu de tranquillité et de calme dont il doit avoir grand besoin.

Telle est, esquissée à grands traits, cette pièce étrange dont nos confrères chercheront peut-être à dégager une esthétique théâtrale quelconque. Nous n'avons voulu montrer que le côté extérieur de ce spectacle et résumer l'impression qu'il a produite sur les assistants. Rien n'a été négligé pour assurer le succès de cette curieuse exhibition ; les costumes, véritables merveilles de soie et d'or nuancés, sont d'une richesse à faire rêver; les acteurs, qui répondent aux noms de Tho, Cho, Qui, Thinh, Bueb,Rit,Thao,Phung, Dang sont doués d'un entrain et d'une. verve inoubliables ; même, pour se rendre les dieux propices, ils ont placé dans leur théâtre l'image de Bouddha, le protecteur de la guerre, de l'industrie et des arts. Souhaitons que Bouddha favorise cette très intéressante entreprise, et continue d'attirer au Théâtre Annamite la foule qui s'y presse depuis le jour de l'ouverture.

© L'exposition de Paris - 1889