World Fair of Paris 1889

Centenary of the French Revolution

May 6, 1889 - October 31, 1889


Back - List of Pavilions

Arab Village

Arab Village at the Exhibition Paris 1889

The Arab fantasia calls us to the Esplanade des Invalides, in that picturesque Algeria to which the Nouba and the camps of the Kabyle families have already attracted us.

There, in the space that stretches behind the palaces of Tunisia, rises an Arab village: vast tents with wide stripes shelter entire families, whose children, dressed in simple floating shirts, cling to visitors to snatch a small penny. Under an even more rudimentary shelter, the horses are lined up, tied by their feet to a long rope that does not allow them any movement. It is there, under an avenue of trees kept free, that the fantasia takes place almost every day.

A rider comes forward, standing on his high saddle, decorated with brass and embroidery; his long coat floats behind him, a brightly coloured scarf covers the hindquarters of his horse, and the race begins through the trees; the riders are of rare skill, the horses of remarkable lightness and intelligence. Then two musicians, walking backwards, intone that interminable and monotonous melody which is oriental music; the horse follows the measure, marking the pace, swinging its pretty fine head, and no doubt finding the short space in which its daily gallop is imprisoned quite restricted.

But really one could not demand that a piece of the desert be transported to the Esplanade des Invalides, and one has to be content with this fantasia, very picturesque, but which lacks the warm sun of Africa and infinite spaces.

© L'exposition de Paris - 1889

Retour - Liste Pavillons

Village Arabe


Village Arabe à l'exposition de Paris 1889

La fantasia arabe nous appelle à l'Esplanade des Invalides, dans cette pittoresque Algérie où nous ont déjà attiré la Nouba et les campements des familles kabyles.

Là, dans l'espace qui s'étend derrière les palais de la Tunisie, s'élève un village arabe : de vastes tentes à larges rayures abritent des familles complètes, dont les enfants, vêtus d'une simple chemise flottante, se cramponnent aux visiteurs pour leur arracher un petit sou. Sous un abri plus rudimentaire encore, les chevaux sont alignés, attachés parles pieds aune longue corde tendue qui ne leur permet aucun mouvement. C'est là, sous une allée d'arbres maintenue libre, qu'a lieu presque chaque jour la fantasia.

Un cavalier s'avance, dressé sur sa haute selle, ornementée de cuivres et de broderies ; son long manteau flotte derrière lui, une écharpe de couleur brillante recouvre l'arrière-train de son cheval, et la course commence à travers les arbres; les cavaliers sont d'une habileté rare, les chevaux d'une légèreté et d'une intelligence remarquables. Puis deux musiciens, marchant à reculons, entonnent cette interminable et monotone mélopée qui est la musique orientale ; le cheval suit la mesure, marquant le pas, balançant sa jolie tête fine, et trouvant sans doute bien restreint le court espace où s'emprisonne son galop journalier.

Mais vraiment on ne pouvait exiger qu'un bout du désert fût transporté à l'Esplanade des Invalides, et il faut bien se contenter de cette fantasia, très pittoresque, mais à laquelle manquent les chauds soleils d'Afrique et les espaces infinis.

© L'exposition de Paris - 1889