World Fair of Paris 1889

Centenary of the French Revolution

May 6, 1889 - October 31, 1889


Back - List of Pavilions

Aztecs

Aztecs at the Exhibition Paris 1889

Beyond this village we find architecture, that of the peoples of ancient Mexico and Peru; it is first of all the Aztec dwelling which is very curious.

M. Charles Garnier was obviously inspired by the pyramidal temples, called teocallis, which have been discovered, and which are still found in the Yucatan; but also by the remains of palaces which are still to be seen in the country, for here the pyramid is truncated and stops just in time for the roofs to be habitable up to the top.

The whole house is made of cut stone and its architecture bears witness to an advanced civilisation, which makes us regret that we thought we had to give the name of Aztecs to these two runts, as much like beasts as men, which were exhibited some twenty years ago in the circuses of Europe.

These Aztecs had nothing in common with the peoples who inhabited Mexico when Fernando Cortez came to exterminate them, under the pretext of civilising the country.

The building restored by M. Garnier is not without affinity of style with its Egyptian type, which does not mean that the ancients knew the new world and that Christopher Columbus did not make a real discovery, but it is a fact to be noted, much more easily still for the Inca type, which we shall see shortly.

Here the openings are rectangular, or more or less, but the front façade of the half-storey, which we call the entresol, is trapezoidal, like the gable, and framed, like the gable, by a massive fascia.

It is true that the window opening in this gable, like the one on the roof, is of a very particular architecture.

The ground floor is separated from the mezzanine by a sort of ashlar canopy, which runs around the house and is supported from distance to distance by stone brackets.

This too is special to Aztec architecture, but it seems heavy in a building that is necessarily small, and whose façade cannot take on the development of a palace.

©Livre d'Or de l'Exposition - C. L. Huard

Retour - Liste Pavillons

Aztèques


Aztèques à l'exposition de Paris 1889

Passé ce village nous retrouvons de l'architecture, celle des peuples de l'ancien Mexique et du Pérou; c'est d'abord l'habitation aztèque qui est fort curieuse.

M. Charles Garnier s'est évidemment inspiré des temples pyramidaux, dits téocallis, que l'on a découverts, et que l'on trouve encore dans le Yucatan; mais aussi des restes de palais que l'on voit toujours dans le pays, car ici la pyramide est tronquée et s'arrête juste à temps pour que les combles soient habitables jusqu'en haut.

Toute la maison est en pierre de taille et son architecture témoigne d'une civilisation avancée, qui fait regretter qu'on ait cru devoir donner le nom d'Aztèques à ces deux avortons, tenant autant de la bête que de l'homme, que l'on a exhibés il y a une vingtaine d'années dans les cirques d'Europe.

Ces Aztèques-là n'avaient rien de commun avec les peuples qui habitaient le Mexique, lorsque Fernand Cortez vint les exterminer, sous prétexte de civiliser le pays.

L'édifice restitué par M. Garnier n'est pas sans affinité de style avec son type égyptien, ce qui ne veut pas dire que les anciens connaissaient le nouveau monde et que Christophe Colomb n'ait pas fait une véritable découverte, mais c'est un fait à constater, bien plus facilement encore pour le type inca, que nous verrons tout à l'heure.

Ici les ouvertures sont rectangulaires ou à peu près., mais la façade antérieure du demi-étage, que nous appelons chez nous entresol, est de forme trapézoïdale, comme le pignon, et encadrée comme lui d'un bandeau massif.

Il est vrai que la fenêtre qui ouvre dans ce pignon, comme celle de sur la couverture, est d'une architecture toute particulière.

Le rez-de-chaussée est séparé de l'entresol par une sorte d'auvent en pierre de taille, qui règne tout autour de la maison et qui est soutenu, de distance en distance, par des consoles en pierre.

Cela encore est spécial à l'architecture aztèque, mais cela paraît lourd dans une construction forcément petite, et dont la façade ne peut pas prendre le développement de celle d'un palais.

©Livre d'Or de l'Exposition - C. L. Huard