World Fair of Paris 1889

Centenary of the French Revolution

May 6, 1889 - October 31, 1889


Back - List of Pavilions

Incas

Incas at the Exhibition Expo Paris 1889

We still find Algeria at the Champ de Mars in the History of Housing, where M. Garnier shows an Arab house in the 16th century.

Let us not dispute the date, for art seems to be unchanging in these indolent countries of the sun: it is always the same balconies supported by beams, the same white arcades, the same cut-out wooden moucharabiés.

The Chinese and Japanese dwellings that follow make a rather sad figure next to the marvels that the Esplanade des Invalides offers us in this genre; and this is the great flaw in the collection of M. Gh. The history of housing is everywhere at the Exposition: in the Rue du Caire, in Indo-China, in the Javanese Kampong, in the Scandinavian houses, in the pavilions of the Americas; and next to the gigantic Hindu or Mexican temples, next to the life-size palaces that all the peoples of the new world have erected at great expense at the foot of the Eiffel Tower, the tiny reductions of the famous architect lose, it has to be said, their interest. Yet the reconstruction is conscientious and learned; the rarest and most serious documents have been used, and Mr. Netto, the director of the museum of Rio-Janeiro, who has installed in the house of the Incas a small museum of American antiquities, was struck by the marvellous accuracy that Mr. Garnier had brought to the construction of these ancient dwellings of the Aztecs and Incas.

It is curious, this tiny museum: There are complete costumes of Botocudos and Chivaros which do not take up much space, for they consist only of clubs and earrings; there are prehistoric vases loaded with mysterious and almost artistic hieroglyphs; There are prehistoric vases loaded with mysterious and almost artistic hieroglyphs; one can also see, in a jar, a horrible boneless head of a man cooked in an oven, which has nothing prehistoric about it, since this atrocious cooking is only two years old; one can also study all the vestiges of a primitive religion, on which we will discreetly slip; those of our readers who have visited the secret museum of Naples and the Pompeian antiquities will understand the reason for our reserve.

© L'exposition de Paris - 1889

Retour - Liste Pavillons

Incas


Incas à l'exposition de Paris 1889

Nous retrouvons encore l'Algérie au Champ de Mars à l'Histoire de l'habitation, où M. Garnier fait figurer une maison arabe au XVIe siècle.

Ne contestons pas la date, car l'art semble être immuable dans ces indolents pays du soleil : ce sont toujours les mêmes balcons soutenus par des poutrelles, les mêmes arcades blanches, les mêmes moucharabiés de bois découpées.

Les habitations chinoise et japonaise qui suivent font assez triste figure à côté des merveilles que nous offre en ce genre l'Esplanade des Invalides; et c'est là le grand défaut de la collection de M. Gh. Garnier; l'histoire de l'habitation est partout, à l'Exposition : à la rue du Caire, à l'Indo-Chine, au Kampong javanais, aux maisons Scandinaves, aux pavillons des Amériques; et à côté des gigantesques temples hindous ou mexicains, à côté des palais — grandeur nature — que tous les peuples du nouveau monde ont élevés à grands frais au pied de la Tour Eiffel, les réductions minuscules du célèbre architecte perdent, il faut bien le dire, de leur intérêt. Pourtant la reconstitution en est consciencieuse et savante; les documents les plus rares et les plus sérieux ont été mis à contribution et M. Netto, le directeur du muséum de Rio-Janeiro, qui a installé dans la maison des Incas un petit musée des antiquités américaines, était frappé de l'exactitude merveilleuse que M. Garnier avait apportée à la construction de ces anciennes habitations des Aztèques et des Incas.

Il est curieux, ce minuscule musée : il y a là des costumes complets de Botocudos et de Chivaros qui ne tiennent pas grand'place, car ils i consistent seulement en massues et en boucles d'oreilles ; il y a des vases préhistoriques chargés d'hiéroglyphes mystérieux et presque artistiques ; on y voit aussi, dans un bocal, une horrible tête d'homme désossée et cuite au four qui n'a d'ailleurs rien de préhistorique, puisque cette atroce cuisine ne date que de deux ans à peine; on y peut aussi étudier tous les vestiges d'une religion primitive, sur lesquels nous glisserons discrètement; ceux de nos lecteurs qui ont visité le musée secret de Naples et les antiquités pompéiennes comprendront la raison de notre réserve.

© L'exposition de Paris - 1889