Back - List of Pavilions

What the Tower cost -

What the Tower cost at the Exhibition Expo Paris 1889

What the Tower cost.

The complete construction of the Tower cost six million five hundred thousand francs. Here are the details:
Foundations, masonry, basements . 900,000 fr.
Metal assembly; irons; grant for the irons
irons 3.800.000 ".
Painting: four coats, two of which are
200,000 ".
Lifts and machines 1,200,000
Restaurants, decoration of the Tower platforms
Tower platforms, various installations 400,000
TOTAL . 6,500,000 fr.

Moreover, Mr. Eiffel did not strictly adhere to his original plan, but rather tried to modify it whenever he was aware of the need for improvement. To this end, he used almost 600 tons of additional iron in the part between the foundations and the first floor. The iron and cast iron of this floor represent a weight of 3 million 562,800 kilograms.
The lifts cost 600,000 francs more than expected.
Of this sum of 6,500,000 francs, the State gave M. Eiffel a subsidy of 1,500,000 francs and the City of Paris granted the land. But within a period of twenty years from the closing of the Exhibition, the Tower will belong to the State.
In the meantime, the enjoyment of the Tower belongs to a financial company, the Société de la Tour Eiffel, which was formed by Mr. Eiffel and two or three large banking houses. The capital is five million one hundred thousand francs. The 100,000 francs represent the necessary working capital. The five million represents the value; there has been no public issue. Half of the shares were given back to Mr. Eiffel for his contributions; the other half was divided among the operating companies.
It is almost certain that the receipts from this one year of the Exhibition will be sufficient to repay the capital in full. The product of the ascents during the other twenty years would thus constitute the net profit of this operation which will perhaps be both the greatest of this century from the industrial point of view and the best from the financial point of view.

© Guide Bleu du Figaro et du Petit Journal 1889

Retour - Liste Pavillons

Ce que la Tour a coûté


Ce que la Tour a coûté à l'exposition de Paris 1889

Ce que la Tour a coûté.

La construction complète de la Tour a coûté six millions cinq cent mille francs. En voici le détail :
Fondations, maçonnerie, soubassements . . 900.000 fr.
Montage métallique ; fers ; octroi pour les
fers 3.800.000 »
Peinture : quatre couches dont deux au
minium 200.000 »
Ascenseurs et machines 1.200.000 »
Restaurants, décoration des plates-formes de
la Tour, installations diverses 400.000 »
TOTAL . . . 6.500.000 fr.

D'ailleurs, M. Eiffel ne s'est pas conformé strictement à son plan primitif, il s'est efforcé, au contraire, de le modifier chaque fois qu'il a eu conscience d'accomplir une amélio-ration. Dans ce but, il a employé près de 600 tonnes de fer supplémentaires dans la partie comprise entre les fonda-tions et le premier étage. Les fers et les fontes de cet étage représentent un poids de 3 millions 562,800 kilogrammes.
Les ascenseurs ont coûté 600,000 francs de plus qu'on ne l'avait prévu.
Sur cette somme de 6,500,000 francs, l'État a donné à M. Eiffel une subvention de 1,500,000 francs et la Ville de Paris a concédé le terrain. Mais dans un délai de vingt années à partir de la clôture de l'Exposition, la Tour ap-partiendra à l'État.
En attendant, la jouissance en appartient à une Société financière, la Société de la Tour Eiffel, qui a été formée par M. Eiffel et deux ou trois grandes maisons de banque. Le capital en est de cinq millions cent mille francs. Les 100,000 francs représentent le fonds de roulement néces-saire. Les cinq millions représentent la valeur; il n'y a pas eu d'émission publique. Le moitié des parts a été re-mise à M. Eiffel pour ses apports; l'autre moitié, divisée entre les sociétés traitantes.
Il est à peu près certain que les recettes de cette seule an-née d'Exposition permettront de rembourser intégralement le capital. Le produit des ascensions pendant les vingt autres années constituerait ainsi le bénéfice net de cette opération qui sera peut-être à la fois la plus grande de ce siècle au point de vue industriel et la meilleure au point de vue financier.

© Guide Bleu du Figaro et du Petit Journal 1889