Back - List of Pavilions

Stairs - Expo Paris 1889

Stairs at the Exhibition Expo Paris 1889

At each of the east and west piers there are straight staircases 1 metre wide, with numerous landings giving very easy access to the first floor.

Beyond the first floor and up to the second, in each of the four piers, a spiral staircase 0.60 m wide has been laid out; two of these staircases, the second and the fourth, are used for the ascent of visitors and the other two for the descent.

They thus ensure the circulation of approximately 2,000 people per hour.
Climbing the stairs. - We encourage visitors to climb the stairs at least once. Nothing is more curious than this slow ascent, often interrupted by sudden returns and capricious flights: it alone allows one to study all the details of this immense aviary, with its gigantic red mesh in which one seems imprisoned.

At each level, the view changes and the horizon becomes wider, while at your feet the Champ de Mars gradually unfolds, this enormous hive with its noisy flowerbeds, its gigantic farms and its formidable galleries, which seems to be moving away, merging and dying out.

Above you, the immense carcass of a huge ship whose moorings and ropes are endless trails of very fine, very round and very red iron.

In front of you, along an inclined plane, two enormous rails: this is the lift's path. A little higher, the cellars and kitchens of the restaurants; higher still, the first platform.

At this moment the iron entanglements follow one another, more prodigious, more indescribable and more numerous; the meshes become tighter, the lines more bizarre, the designs more extraordinary, the curves lighter and crazier; then, all around you, with its golden domes, its spires, its enclosure, its columns and its woods, from all points of the horizon, Paris appears.

One has reached the first floor, and the feast of the view is impossible to describe in its dazzling details.

This ascent is very simple; all visitors must try it: and if you want to walk very slowly, talking little; if you take care to lean your right arm on the banister, swinging your body from one hip to the other and taking advantage of this momentum to reach each step, the three hundred and fifty steps are gentle to climb.

It takes seven to eight minutes at the most.

One recommendation: Cover up lightly during the ascent but warmly during the stay on the platforms.

From the first to the second floor, this same climb becomes more tiring because there are no more landings and the staircase continues, unceasingly, in the form of a helix.

There are 380 steps: about ten minutes to climb them.

From the second floor to the top, another staircase, of the same shape as the previous one and 160 metres high; but this one is a simple service staircase; it has 1,062 steps and is not available to the public.

There are a total of 1,792 steps for all the staircases.

© Guide Bleu du Figaro et du Petit Journal 1889

Retour - Liste Pavillons

Escaliers


Escaliers à l'exposition de Paris 1889

A chacune des piles, est et ouest sont disposés, des escaliers droits de 1 mètre de largeur, avec de nombreux paliers donnant un accès très facile jusqu'au premier étage.

Au delà du premier étage et jusqu'au deuxième, dans chacune des quatre piles, un escalier hélicoïdal de 0m,60 de largeur a été disposé ; deux de ces escaliers, le deuxième et le quatrième, sont affectés à l'ascension des visiteurs et les deux autres à la descente.

Ils assurent ainsi la circulation d'environ 2,000 personnes à l'heure.
L'ascension par les escaliers. — Nous engageons beaucoup les visiteurs à faire au moins une fois l'ascension par les escaliers. Rien n'est plus curieux en effet que cette montée lente, souvent interrompue avec de brusques retours et des envolées capricieuses : elle seule permet d'étudier tous les détails de cette volière immense, aux gigantesques mailles rouges dans lesquelles on semble emprisonné.

A chaque palier, la vue se transforme et l'horizon devient plus vaste, tandis qu'à vos pieds se déroule peu à peu le Champ de Mars, cette ruche énorme avec ses parterres bruyants, ses fermes gigantesques et ses formidables galeries, qui semble s'éloigner, se confondre et s'éteindre.

Au-dessus de soi, l'immense carcasse d'un navire immense dont les amarres et les cordages seraient d'interminables traînées de fer très fin, très rond et tout rouge.

Devant soi, le long d'un plan incliné, deux rails énormes : c'est le chemin de l'ascenseur. Un peu plus haut, les caves et les cuisines des restaurants; plus haut encore, la première plate-forme.

A ce moment les enchevêtrements de fer se succèdent plus prodigieux, plus indescriptibles et plus nombreux ; les mailles deviennent plus serrées, les lignes deviennent plus bizarres, les dessins plus extraordinaires, les courbes plus légères et plus folles; puis, tout autour de soi, avec ses dômes d'or, ses flèches, son enceinte, ses colonnes et ses bois, de tous les points de l'horizon, Paris surgit.

On est arrivé au premier étage, et la fête de la vue est impossible à décrire dans ses détails éblouissants.

Cette montée est très simple ; tous les visiteurs doivent l'essayer: et si l'on veut marcher très lentement, en causant peu; si l'on a soin d'appuyer le bras droit sur la rampe, en balançant le corps d'une hanche sur l'autre et en profitant de cet élan pour atteindre chaque degré, les trois cent cinquante marches sont douces à gravir.

Il faut sept à huit minutes tout au plus.

Une recommandation : Se couvrir légèrement pendant l'ascension mais chaudement pendant le séjour sur les plates-formes.

Du premier au deuxième étage, cette même montée de-vient plus fatigante parce qu'il n'y a plus de paliers et l'escalier continue, incessant, en forme d'hélice.

Il y a 380 marches : soit environ dix minutes pour les gravir.

Du deuxième étage jusqu'au sommet, un autre escalier, de même forme que le précédent et d'une hauteur de 160 mètres; mais celui-ci est un simple escalier de service; il a 1,062 marches et n'est pas mis à la disposition du public.

Il y a un total de 1,792 marches pour l'ensemble des escaliers.

© Guide Bleu du Figaro et du Petit Journal 1889