Back - List of Pavilions

Indian - Expo Paris 1889

Indian at the Exhibition Expo Paris 1889

There was a time when Arabo-Persian art exerted its influence on India, but for a long time several indigenous architectures had developed in this country.

Through the variety of ornamentation that differentiates the monuments of the vast peninsula, it is difficult, if not impossible, to identify common features. However, M. Garnier thought it necessary to give place to a Hindu type.

Two vast and rather high towers almost alone constitute the building, for they leave only an extremely narrow body of building between them.

The basement is of great importance, and it can be seen on our figure that it is higher than half the building. The richly ornamented turrets soften the impression of heaviness created by the basement: they are equipped with balconies on top of each other, onto which the windows open. From the two lower balconies rise columns whose capitals support the upper balconies and are continued by other columns that support an elegantly moulded entablature. A gable with an ogival outline crowns the turrets, and inside is a shell decoration.

Whatever period the monuments of India belong to, the same characters always dominate. The lines," says M. Buyet, "are intermingled and entangled, the ornamentation is everywhere; the sense of simplicity, of logical and clear orders is absent. In the sculpture, "little understanding of composition, and the more dramatic the subject, the greater the confusion. However rich and brilliant in its whims, Hindu art lacks the qualities that make strong and truly beautiful works. Everywhere the same intemperance is manifested as in literature: the Hindu imagination ignores measure, it spreads itself in creations often full of a strange charm, often also disordered and monstrous; figures and ornaments multiply in their buildings with the same profusion as comparisons and metaphors in their poems. At the same time as religion spread in the Far East, the art of India gave birth to the exuberant Khmer architecture in Cambodia.

© L'exposition de Paris - 1889

Retour - Liste Pavillons

Indou


Indou à l'exposition de Paris 1889

II vint un temps où l'art arabo-persan exerça son influence sur l'Inde, mais depuis longtemps plusieurs architectures indigènes s'étaient développées dans ce pays.

A travers la variété d'ornementation qui différencie les monuments de la vaste péninsule, il est bien difficile, sinon impossible, de relever des caractères communs. Cependant M. Garnier a cru devoir donner place à un type hindou.

Deux vastes tours assez hautes constituent presque à elles seules l'édifice, car elles ne laissent entre elles qu'un corps de bâtiment extrêmement étroit.

Le soubassement a une grande importance, et l'on peut voir sur notre figure qu'il est supérieur, en hauteur, à la moitié de la construction. Les tourelles, richement ornées, atténuent l'impression de lourdeur que fait éprouver le soubassement: elles sont munies de balcons superposés sur lesquels s'ouvrent les fenêtres. Des deux balcons inférieurs partent des colonnettes qui, par leurs chapiteaux, supportent des balcons supérieurs et se continuent par d'autres colonnettes, lesquelles servent d'appui à un entablement élégamment mouliné. Un pignon à contour ogival couronne les tourelles, et à l'intérieur est une décoration en coquille.

A quelque époque qu'appartiennent les monuments de l'Inde, les mêmes caractères y dominent toujours. « Les lignes, dit M. Buyet, se mêlent et s'enchevêtrent, l'ornementation s'étend partout; le sentiment de la simplicité, des ordonnances logiques et claires en est absent. » Dans la sculpture, « peu d'entente de la composition, et, plus le sujet est dramatique, plus la confusion est grande. Si riche et si brillant dans ses caprices que soit l'art hindou, les qualités lui manquent qui font les œuvres fortes et vraiment belles. Partout s'y manifeste la même intempérance qu'en littérature : l'imagination hindoue ignore la mesure, elle se répand en créations souvent pleines d'un charme étrange, souvent aussi désordonnées et monstrueuses; les figures et les ornements se multiplient dans leurs édifices avec la même profusion que les comparaisons et les métaphores dans leurs poèmes. » En même temps que la religion se propagea dans l'extrême Orient, l'art de l'Inde donna naissance, au Cambodge, à l'exubérante architecture khmer.

© L'exposition de Paris - 1889