Back - List of Pavilions

Hebrews -

Hebrews at the Exhibition Expo Paris 1889

M. Garnier insisted on giving us a reconstruction of the Hebrew house. We do not regret it, but would it not have been more interesting to sacrifice the Hebrew architecture and to dedicate a building to this Persian architecture that the excavations of M. and Mme Dieulafoy have made known to the French public? This is a simple remark, not intended to be in any way derogatory.

The Israelite house, made of mud bricks, had a ceiling of palm or sycamore beams, covered by a layer of rammed earth. The walls and roofs," say Messrs Perrot and Chipiez, "had to be thick so that the temperature inside would be less affected by variations outside.

This is not quite the house of the Syrian fellah of today; the latter's dwelling is often surmounted by a cupola which gives it more height and solidity.

"Among the Hebrews, all the dwellings, like many of those still found in Syrian villages, ended in a terrace on which the night was spent at certain times of the year, and the religious laws, which often take on the character of what we call police regulations, recommended that this terrace should be surrounded by a parapet so that the sleepers and children would not be in danger of rolling to the ground.

Most of the houses had only a ground floor; however, some of the houses, some of the windows, probably especially those of the women's flat, were fitted with lattices similar to those of the moucharabiés - of the contemporary Arab house. It should be added that the Hebrew house borrows from the Egyptian type its general form, massive and square, but without making use of the columns, which in the ancient monuments of Egypt play such a great role and which are also found in those of Phoenicia.

Inside was a courtyard, with a well or cistern.

© L'exposition de Paris - 1889

Retour - Liste Pavillons

Hébreux


Hébreux à l'exposition de Paris 1889

M. Garnier a tenu à nous donner une restitution de la maison hébraïque. Nous n'avons pas à le regretter, mais n'aurait-il pas été plus intéressant de sacrifier l'architecture hébraïque et de consacrer un édifice à cet architecture perse que les fouilles de M. et Mme Dieulafoy ont fait connaître au public français? Simple remarque, qui ne veut être aucunement désobligeante.

La maison israélite, faite de briques crues, avait un plafond en poutres de palmier ou de sycomore, que recouvrait une couche de terre battue. « Murs et toits, disent MM. Perrot et Chipiez, devaient être épais, pour que la température de l'intérieur se ressentît moins des variations du dehors.

Ce n'est pas tout à fait la maison du fellah syrien d'aujourd'hui; la demeure de celui-ci est souvent surmontée d'une coupole qui lui donne plus de hauteur et de solidité.

« Chez les Hébreux, toutes les habitations, comme beaucoup encore de celles qu'on rencontre dans les villages syriens, se terminaient par une terrasse sur laquelle on passait la nuit dans certaines saisons; aussi, les lois religieuses, qui prennent souvent le caractère de ce que nous appelons des règlements de police, avaient-elles recommandé d'entourer cette terrasse d'un parapet pour que les dormeurs et les enfants ne risquassent pas de rouler à terre.

La plupart des, maisons n'avaient qu'un rez-de-chaussée; pourtant certaines maisons, certaines fenêtres, sans doute surtout celles de l'appartement des femmes, étaient munies de treillis analogues à ceux des moucharabiés - de la maison arabe contemporaine. » Ajoutons que la maison hébraïque emprunte au type égyptien sa forme générale, massive et carrée, mais sans faire usage des colonnes, qui dans les monuments anciens de l'Egypte, jouent un si grand rôle et qu'on retrouve également dans ceux de la Phénicie.

A l'intérieur était une cour, avec puits ou citerne.

© L'exposition de Paris - 1889