Back - List of Pavilions

Denmark - Expo Paris 1889

Denmark at the Exhibition Expo Paris 1889

The Danish exhibition received a grant of 100,000 kroner or 139,000 francs. This subsidy was granted by the government, but was not ratified by the Danish Chamber.

Let it not be thought that this was due to antipathy for the work of France, but the Danish Chamber, which for several years has refused to vote on the budgets submitted to it, could not make an exception for the credit intended for the Paris Exhibition.

The Danish section, with 150 exhibitors, covers an area of 550 square metres, both on the Champ de Mars and on the Quai d'Orsay. The Champ de Mars section is located on the Avenue La Bourdonnais side, opposite the English section. The decoration of the Champ de Mars section is due to the brush of Mr. Lund, the greatest Danish decorative painter. He has depicted all around the gallery the main royal castles of Denmark. It was also Mr. Lund who painted the birds and flowers that adorn the façade of this exhibition, which has been organised by Mr. de Hedemann, the general curator, and Mr. Klein, a member of the Copenhagen Academy of Fine Arts.

The Danish exhibition contains a number of very interesting objects: pieces of silverware in which silver, vermeil and gold are mixed in a rather special way; very beautiful samples from the royal factory in Copenhagen; a series of interesting school works in which small workbenches where three children can work at the same time! are especially worth looking at.

But what seems most curious in the section are the works of industrial art made either by individuals or by small industrialists. Thus, in the middle of an exhibition of inlaid furniture, there is a door of absolutely remarkable work. It is the work of a carpenter, Mr. Otelberg, who gave King Christian a whole working room; similar. There is a very sensitive effort here which deserves to be mentioned. Another interesting exhibition is that of Mr. Dobereck, the locksmith, who sends objects in wrought iron which have a very artistic stamp. There are also hand-turned vases which are also interesting. The embroideries deserve a special mention. There are imitations of Gobelins which are reproduced with wonderful accuracy. Also worth seeing is the panel containing the exhibition of Mrs. Ida Hansen, a woman of the world, who exhibits a series of flowers embroidered from life and rendered in an exquisite manner.

We need not mention here two exhibitions of which the Danes are proud.

One is at the Quai d'Orsay: the exhibition of the great Danish brewer, Mr. Jacobsen, who has given Copenhagen a museum containing the masterpieces of our French artists.

The other exhibition is in the archaeology section. There you will see a copy of the Bronze Age men recently found in Denmark in such a remarkable state of preservation.

In short, the Danish exhibition is most interesting: it takes up little space, but all that it contains is curious.

© Guide Bleu du Figaro et du Petit Journal 1889

Retour - Liste Pavillons

Danemark


Danemark à l'exposition de Paris 1889

L'exposition danoise a reçu une subvention de 100,000 couronnes, soit 139,000 francs. Cette subvention a été accordée par le gouvernement, mais n'a pas été ratifiée par la Chambre danoise.

Que l'on ne croie pas surtout que ce soit par antipathie pour l'œuvre de la France, mais la Chambre danoise refusant depuis plusieurs années de voter les budgets qui lui sont soumis ne pouvait pas faire d'exception pour le crédit destiné à l'Exposition de Paris.

La section danoise, qui compte 150 exposants, couvre une superficie de 550 mètres carrés, tant au Champ de Mars qu'au quai d'Orsay. La section du Champ de Mars se trouve du côté de l'avenue La Bourdonnais, en face de la section anglaise. La décoration de la section du Champ de Mars est due au pinceau de M. Lund, le plus grand peintre décorateur danois. Il a représenté tout autour de la galerie les principaux châteaux royaux du Danemark. C'est également M. Lund qui a peint les oiseaux et les fleurs qui ornent la façade de cette exposition qui a été organisée par M. de Hedemann, commissaire général, et par M. Klein, membre de l'Académie des Beaux-Arts de Copenhague.

L'exposition danoise contient nombre d'objets fort intéressants : des pièces d'orfèvrerie où l'argent, le vermeil et l'or sont mélangés d'une façon assez spéciale ; de très beaux échantillons de la fabrique royale de Copenhague ; une série de travaux scolaires intéressants dans laquelle des petits établis où trois enfants peuvent travailler à la fois ! méritent surtout d'être regardés.

Mais ce qui paraît surtout curieux dans la section, ce sont les travaux d'art industriel faits soit par des particuliers, soit par de petits industriels. Ainsi, au milieu d'une exposition de meubles incrustés, on trouve une porte d'un travail absolument remarquable. Elle est l'œuvre d'un menuisier, M. Otelberg, qui a donné au roi Christian toute une chambre de travail; analogue. Il y a là un effort très sensible qui mérite d'être ; mentionné. Une autre exposition est intéressante : c'est celle de M. Dobereck, le serrurier qui envoie des objets en fer forgé qui ont un cachet très artistique. Il y a aussi des vases tournés à la main qui sont également intéressants. Les broderies méritent une mention toute particulière. On y trouve des imitations de Gobelins qui sont reproduits avec une exactitude merveilleuse. A voir aussi le panneau contenant l'exposition de Mme Ida Hansen, femme du monde qui expose une série de fleurs brodées d'après nature et rendues d'une façon exquise.

Nous n'avons pas à parler ici de deux expositions dont les Danois sont fiers.

L'une se trouve au quai d'Orsay : l'exposition du grand brasseur danois, M. Jacobsen, celui qui a donné à Copenhague un musée où se trouvent les chefs-d'œuvre de nos artistes français.

L'autre exposition se trouve à la section d'archéologie. C'est là qu'on verra la copie des hommes à l'âge de bronze que l'on a trouvés dernièrement en Danemark dans un état de conservation si remarquable.

En résumé, l'exposition du Danemark est des plus intéressantes : elle tient peu de place, mais tout ce qu'elle contient est curieux.

© Guide Bleu du Figaro et du Petit Journal 1889