World Fair of Paris 1889

Centenary of the French Revolution

May 6, 1889 - October 31, 1889


Back - List of Pavilions

Pavilion of the Ministry of Public Works

Pavilion of the Ministry of Public Works at the Exhibition Paris 1889

Located in the Trocadero garden, near the corner formed by the central avenue and the quay, the special exhibition pavilion of the Ministry of Public Works. It occupies a slightly larger area than that allocated to it in 1878.
The building is simple and elegant, of brick and iron, with a tiled roof and a small annexed shed.
On each side of the central room are two square turrets, each containing a staircase leading to an upper platform which serves as an access to a lighthouse, a fitting tribute to our remarkable Lighthouse Service which serves, in many cases, as a model for our neighbours. The lighthouse tower is 33 metres high, and would be surprising if it were not so close to the Eiffel Tower. The general decoration of the building is sober and elegant.
Inside, we find a remarkable collection of scale models and drawings relating to the main works carried out by the Ministry of Public Works; well-executed models make it easier to understand. The main part relates to the lighthouse apparatus, among which our Parisian builders shine, in the absolute sense of the word, and then to the beaconing of the coasts; We see a remarkable compressed air Siren, of great power, activated by a hot air motor which supplies, moreover, the electric energy necessary for the lighting of the lighthouse which dominates the building and whose luminous flashes light up a large part of the Trocadero garden; we have the right to hope that it will not light up any shipwreck in this beautiful site, an elegant souvenir of our 1878 Exhibition. The public can make sure of this and, according to the maritime expression, "keep watch" in the lighthouse tower, to which access is allowed in small groups.

© Guide Bleu du Figaro et du Petit Journal 1889

Retour - Liste Pavillons

Pavillon du Ministère des Travaux publics


Pavillon du Ministère des Travaux publics à l'exposition de Paris 1889

Situé dans le jardin du Trocadéro, au voisinage de l'angle formé par l'allée centrale et le quai, le pavillon spécial d'exposition du Ministère des Travaux publics. Il occupe une surface un peu plus considérable que celle qui lui était attribuée en 1878.
Le bâtiment est simple et élégant, en brique et fer, couvert de tuile avec un petit hangar annexe.
De chaque côté de la pièce centrale, deux tourelles carrées renfermant chacune un escalier aboutissant finale-ment à une plate-forme supérieure qui sert d'accès à un phare, hommage justement rendu à notre remarquable Service des phares qui sert, en bien de cas, de modèle à nos voisins. La tour du phare a 33 mètres de haut, et elle étonnerait si l'on n'était si près de la Tour Eiffel. La décoration générale du bâtiment est sobre et élégante.
A l'intérieur, nous trouvons une remarquable collection de modèles réduits et de dessins relatant les principaux ouvrages exécutés par les services du Ministère des Travaux publics; des modèles bien exécutés en facilitent l'intelligence. La partie principale se rapporte aux appareils des phares parmi lesquels brillent, au sens absolu du terme, nos constructeurs parisiens, puis au balisage des côtes ; nous apercevons une remarquable Sirène à air comprimé, d'une grande puissance, actionnée par un moteur à air chaud qui fournit, de plus, l'énergie électrique nécessaire à l'éclairage du phare qui domine le bâtiment et dont les éclats lumineux éclairent une grande partie du jardin du Trocadéro; nous avons le droit d'espérer qu'il n'éclairera aucun naufrage dans ce beau site, souvenir élégant de notre Exposition de 1878. Le public peut s'en assurer et, suivant l'expression maritime « veiller au quart » dans la tour du phare dont l'accès lui est permis par petits groupes.

© Guide Bleu du Figaro et du Petit Journal 1889