World Fair of Paris 1889

Centenary of the French Revolution

May 6, 1889 - October 31, 1889


Back - List of Pavilions

Characteristics

Characteristics at the Exhibition Paris 1889

Oscillations.

It has been asked what the amplitude of the oscillations of this gigantic tower at the top would be under the action of hurricanes. Mr. Max de Nansouty, who has made a long series of calculations on this subject in his interesting work on the 300-metre tower, and the Academy of Sciences, which has dealt with the same question, declare that the greatest oscillations at the top will not exceed 10 centimetres in the most unfavourable storm conditions. If any visitor seeking the thrill of the cyclone remains at the highest peak during the storm, it is certain that he will not even notice these oscillations.

For what reasons was iron used?

The idea of building a colossal tower was not new;
In 1832, the English engineer Trevithick proposed to build a monument of 1,000 feet (304m,80); the Americans repeatedly forced the same project; but what distinguishes the Tower of 1889 from all those which were projected before it, is its mode of construction, the use of iron to the exclusion of all other materials, and its assembly by processes which are due exclusively to M. Eiffel.
The Tower is composed entirely of very strong, very elastic and very light iron lattices, assembled by riveted iron gussets. This is what gives it its airy, lace-like appearance, an appearance that left even those who had originally doubted the beauty of the work moved and pensive,
For several reasons, iron was the only material that could be used to build such a colossal work.
For several reasons, iron was the only material that could be used to build such a colossal work. In the first place, antiquity, the Middle Ages and the Renaissance had pushed the use of stone to its extreme limits of boldness, and it hardly seemed possible to go much further than our predecessors with the same materials. Moreover, stone offered much less resistance to wind than iron or steel; and finally, since masonry gave no precision in calculations, it was impossible to carry out these grandiose projects, even with a combination of masonry and iron.
Iron, on the contrary, was indicated by the great resistance of this metal under a low weight; by the small surface which it allows to be exposed to the wind; finally, by its elasticity which solidifies all the parts and makes it possible to make an assembly of which all the parts are likely to work with the extension or the compression, and which, being all calculable, can give a complete safety.
Metal has one last advantage: it is that the construction is "removable"; without excessive expense the Tower could be moved, if it were deemed useful to transport it to another part of Paris. If the State, owner of the Tower, decided tomorrow to move it to the top of the Butte Montmartre, the operation would be very simple and M. Eiffel estimates the cost of this move at G or 700,000 francs.

The weight of the Tower.

The weight of the tower with all its accessories, floors, constructions, etc., is estimated at nine million kilograms.
This enormous load is distributed over a surface of foundations such that the pressure exerted by it on the subsoil does not exceed 2 kilograms per unit of surface. A solid wall, made of millstone, nine metres high, built in Paris, does not press any more on its foundations.
The total weight of the iron used is 7 million kilograms.
The weight of the iron rivets that connect the pieces together is about 450,000 kilograms; their total number is 2,500,000; of this figure, 800,000 were installed by hand on the site of the tower itself.
The number of metal parts criss-crossing each other in all directions is 12,000 and each of them, because of their shape and their constantly changing direction in space, required a special design. It is therefore the enormous mass of 12,000 drawings that came out of the design office of the Eiffel factory in Levallois-Perret, calculated by logarithms, with a precision of one tenth of a millimetre: a mountain of drawings prepared this mountain of iron. And in all of this, as the official reports of the Exhibition's control service show, there was not a single uncertainty or error.

Utility of the Tower.

The Eiffel Tower is above all the realisation of a gigantic industrial work in the order of the construction of bridges, viaducts or lighthouses. A saving lighthouse, a useful bridge will certainly be the consequence of these boldly executed works before which human science has so far shrunk. It is therefore, from this special point of view, full of lessons for the future.
But this is not its only role: and there are few scientists who do not think, since the completion of the Tower, of carrying out some experiment more directly related to the object of their studies. It will thus be for all an observatory and a laboratory such as has never been placed at the disposal of human intelligence.
Astronomical observations. - A telescope of great aperture, installed at the top of the Tower, would make it possible to follow the stars which only reach a low height on the horizon of Paris. In addition, the purity of the air and the absence of the low mists that most often cover the Observatory will facilitate many studies that were thought to be impossible in our region.
Scientific observations. - Having for the first time, apart from the unstable and spinning gondola of a balloon, a free and vertical height of 300 meters, we will be able to complete work that has been going on for a long time, among others:
The fall of bodies in the air;
The resistance of air at different speeds;
The laws of elasticity;
The study of the compression of gases or vapours;
5.
The study of the oscillation of the pendulum; The rotation of the earth, etc., etc.
On the subject of the rotation of the earth and the Tower, the Journal du Ciel gave, a few months ago, curious details.
The top of the Tower, says M. Minary in this note, will make in one day, as a result of the rotation of the earth, a circumference of 300 metres in radius, that is to say l,884m,96 more than its foot. A rotation of the earth lasting 23 h. 56 or 1,436 minutes, or 86,160 solar seconds, it follows that the top of the Tower makes per second l,884m,96 : 86,160 or 0m,02187, or nearly 22 millimetres more than its foot. Now, a lead ball to fall freely from the top of the Tower, having to take a number of seconds equal to the square root of the double of the height divided by the intensity of gravity, i.e. the square root of 600 : 98.088 "will take 7 seconds 8, and in this interval, the top of the Tower will be 0.02187 x 7.8 or 0m.17 more than its foot on the eastern side. It follows that if the floor of each floor of the Tower is pierced with three holes at 25 centimetres distance on lines running north-south, and situated vertically one below the other, by passing through the extreme holes two plumb bobs (steel wires of one millimetre diameter) reaching down to the ground, the lower ends of these wires will draw, on a large and solid cast-iron plate placed underneath, the direction of the meridian over a length of 50 centimetres. The holes in the middle, lengthened more and more on the eastern side, will give passage to a lead ball from minute to minute, and the deviation of 17 centimetres towards the east due to the rotation of the earth can be seen each time by the point where the ball strikes the cast iron plate to the east of the two plumb lines.
M. Minary adds that by receiving the lead ball in a suitably shaped vase, amateurs will have the added advantage of being able to observe the transformation of the movement into heat, without burning their hands, because the heating of the ball, although appreciable, will not exceed 22 degrees.

Meteorological observations. - From the point of view of hygiene and science, one can usefully study The direction and violence of atmospheric currents; The state and chemical composition of the atmosphere; Its electrification;
Upper currents; Lightning;
The temperature at different heights of the Tower and at different times of the day; The hygrometry of the atmosphere, etc.

Strategic observations. - In case of war, one could, from the top of the Tower, observe the movements of armies within a radius of more than 70 kilometres, over our defensive forts.
In the event of a siege or investment, constant communication would be assured between Paris and the départements by the electric fires with which the Tower is equipped. Optical telegraphy would make it possible to communicate with Rouen, Beauvais, Orleans, Alençon, etc.
This is certainly not one of the least useful aspects of this unique monument across the globe.

The future will tell us what lessons will be learned in the execution of this colossal construction: but the information predicted and foreseen by the scholars of all nations will certainly be considerable. The crowd feels this, and has always shown warm sympathy to Mr. Eiffel.
In the meantime, we must congratulate the author of this great enterprise: he has proved to the whole world that France is a great country, with bold conceptions, and that it is still capable of succeeding where others have failed. The Americans said in 1874 of the Philadelphia Tower: "We shall celebrate our centenary with the most colossal iron structure that man ever conceived. Their tower was not completed, while these words, which in America remained a dead letter, became a living reality for France.
Paris now possesses a triumphal arch more colossal than any which the peoples have dreamed of for the conquerors, and this superb monument is raised to the glory of modern science for the greatest honour of the French.

© Guide Bleu du Figaro et du Petit Journal 1889

Retour - Liste Pavillons

Caractéristiques


Caractéristiques à l'exposition de Paris 1889

Oscillations.

On s'est demandé ce que serait l'amplitude, au sommet, des oscillations de ce gigantesque pylône sous l'action des ouragans. M. Max de Nansouty, qui a fait à ce sujet une longue série de calculs dans son intéressant ouvrage sur la tour de 300 mètres, et l'Académie des sciences, qui s'est occupée de cette même question, déclarent que les plus grandes oscillations, au sommet, ne dépasseront pas 10 cen-timètres dans les conditions les plus défavorables de tempête. Si quelque visiteur à la recherche des émotions que donne le cyclone, reste au plus extrême sommet pendant la tempête, il est certain qu'il ne s'apercevra même pas de ces oscillations.

Pour quelles raisons le fer a été employé.

L'idée d'élever une tour colossale n'était pas nouvelle ;
en 1832, l'ingénieur anglais Trevithick se proposa de bâtir un monument de 1,000 pieds (304m,80); les Américains for-mèrent à plusieurs reprises le même projet; mais ce qui distingue la Tour de 1889 de toutes celles qui ont été pro-jetées avant elle, c'est son mode de construction, l'emploi du fer à l'exclusion de tous les autres matériaux, et son montage par des procédés qui sont dus exclusivement à M. Eiffel.
La Tour se compose uniquement de treillis en fer très résistants, très élastiques et très légers, assemblés par des goussets en fer rivés. C'est ce qui lui donne cet aspect aérien comparable à une dentelle de métal, aspect devant lequel ceux-là mêmes qui avaient douté de la beauté de l'œuvre à l'origine sont restés dans la suite émus et pensifs,
Pour plusieurs raisons, le fer était la seule matière qui permît de construire une œuvre aussi colossale.
D'abord, l'antiquité, le moyen âge et la Renaissance ont poussé l'emploi de la pierre à ses extrêmes limites de har-diesse, et il ne semblait guère possible d'aller beaucoup plus loin que nos devanciers avec les mêmes matériaux. En outre, la pierre offrait beaucoup moins de résistance au vent que le fer ou l'acier; et enfin, la maçonnerie ne donnant aucune précision dans les calculs, rendait irréalisables ces projets grandioses, même avec une combinaison de maçon-nerie et de fer.
Le fer, au contraire, était tout indiqué par la grande résistance de ce métal sous un faible poids ; par le peu de surface qu'il permet d'exposer au vent; enfin, par son élas-ticité qui solidarise toutes les pièces et permet d'en faire un ensemble dont toutes les parties sont susceptibles de tra-vailler à l'extension ou à la compression, et qui, étant toutes calculables, peuvent donner une sécurité complète.
Le métal présente encore un dernier avantage : c'est que la construction est " amovible " ; sans frais excessifs on pourrait donc déplacer la Tour, si l'on jugeait utile de la transporter sur un autre point de Paris. Si l'État, proprié-taire de la Tour, décidait demain de la transporter au som-met de la butte Montmartre, l'opération serait des plus simples et M. Eiffel évalue à G ou 700,000 francs la dépense de ce déplacement.

Le poids de la Tour.

Le poids de la tour avec tous ses accessoires, planchers, constructions, etc., est évalué à neuf millions de kilo-grammes.
Cette énorme charge est répartie sur une surface de fon-dations telle que la pression exercée par elle sur le sous-sol ne dépasse pas 2 kilogrammes par unité de surface. Un mur plein, en pierres meulières, de neuf mètres de hau-teur, construit dans Paris, ne presse pas davantage sur ses fondations.
Le poids total des fers employés est de 7 millions de kilo-grammes.
Le poids des rivets en fer qui relient les pièces entre elles est d'environ 450,000 kilogrammes ; leur nombre total est de 2,500,000; sur ce chiffre, 800,000 ont été posés à la main sur le chantier même de la tour.
Le nombre des pièces métalliques qui s'entrecroisent en tous sens est de 12,000 et chacune d'elles, en raison de leur forme môme et de leur direction sans cesse variée dans l'es-pace, a nécessité un dessin spécial. C'est donc l'énorme masse de 12,000 dessins qui est sortie, calculée par loga-rithmes, avec une précision de un dixième de millimètre, du bureau des études de l'usine Eiffel, à Levallois-Perret : une montagne de dessins a préparé cette montagne de fer. Et dans tout cela, ainsi que le constatent les rapports offi-ciels du service de contrôle de l'Exposition, il n'y a pas eu une seule incertitude et pas une seule erreur.

Utilité de la Tour.

La Tour Eiffel est avant tout la réalisation d'un gigan-tesque travail industriel dans l'ordre des constructions des ponts, des viaducs ou des phares. Un phare sauveur, un pont utile seront certainement la conséquence de ces tra-vaux d'exécution hardie devant lesquels la science humaine reculait jusqu'à présent. Elle est donc, à ce point de vue spécial, pleine d'enseignement pour l'avenir.
Mais là ne se borne pas son rôle : et il y a peu de savants qui ne pensent, depuis l'achèvement, à réaliser à l'aide de la Tour une expérience quelconque se rattachant plus direc-tement à l'objet de leurs études. Ce sera donc pour tous un observatoire et un laboratoire tels qu'il n'en aura jamais été mis à la disposition des intelligences humaines.
Observations astronomiques. — Un télescope de grande ouverture, installé au sommet de la Tour permet-trait de suivre les astres qui n'atteignent qu'une faible hauteur sur l'horizon de Paris. En outre la pureté de l'air et l'absence des brumes basses qui recouvrent le plus sou-vent l'Observatoire faciliteront bien des études que l'on croyait irréalisables dans notre région.
Observations scientifiques. — Disposant pour la première fois, en dehors de la nacelle instable et tournoyante d'un ballon, d'une hauteur libre et verticale de 300 mètres, on pourra compléter des travaux depuis longtemps com-mencés, entre autres :
La chute des corps dans l'air;
La résistance de l'air sous différentes vitesses;
Les lois de l'élasticité;
L'étude de la compression des gaz ou des vapeurs;
5.
L'étude He l'oscillation du pendule ; La rotation de la terre, etc., etc.
Au sujet de la rotation de la terre et de la Tour, le Journal du Ciel a donné, il y a quelques mois, de curieux détails.
Le sommet de la Tour, dit M. Minary dans cette note, va faire en un jour, par suite de la rotation de la terre, une circonférence de 300 mètres de rayon, c'est-à-dire l,884m,96 de plus que son pied. Une rotation de la terre durant 23 h. 56 ou 1,436 minutes, ou 86,160 secondes solaires, il en résulte que le sommet de la Tour fait par seconde l,884m,96 : 86,160 ou 0m,02187, ou près de 22 millimètres de plus que son pied. Or, une balle de plomb pour tomber librement du sommet de la Tour, devant mettre un nombre de secondes égal à la racine carrée du double de la hauteur divisé par l'intensité de la pesanteur, soit la racine carrée de 600 : 98,088 «mettra 7 secondes 8, et dans cet intervalle, le sommet de la Tour fera 0,02187 x 7,8 ou 0m,17 de plus que son pied du côté de l'est. Il en résulte que si le plancher de chaque étage de la Tour est percé de trois trous à 25 centimètres de distance sur des lignes ayant la direction nord-sud, et situées verticalement les unes au-dessous des autres, en faisant passer par les trous extrêmes deux fils à plomb (fils d'acier de un millimètre de diamètre) descendant jusqu'au sol, les extrémités inférieures de ces fils dessineront, sur une large et solide plaque de fonte placée au-dessous, la direction du méridien sur une longueur de 50 centimètres. Les trous du •milieu, allongés de plus en plus du côté de l'est, donneront passage à une balle de plomb de minute en minute et on pourra constater chaque fois la déviation de 17 centimètres vers l'est due à la rota-tion de la terre par le point où la balle vient frapper la plaque de fonte à l'est des deux fils à plomb.
M. Minary ajoute qu'en recevant la balle de plomb dans un vase de forme convenable, les amateurs auront encore l'avantage de pouvoir constater la transformation du mou-vement en chaleur, sans se brûler les mains, car l'échauffe-ment de la balle, quoique bien appréciable, ne dépassera pas 22 degrés.

Observations météorologiques. — Au point de vue de l'hygiène et de la science, on pourra étudier utilement : La direction et la violence des courants atmosphériques; L'état et la composition chimique de l'atmosphère; Son électrisation ;
Les courants supérieurs; La foudre;
La température aux différentes hauteurs de la Tour et aux différentes heures de la journée; L'hygrométrie de l'atmosphère, etc.

Observations stratégiques. — En cas de guerre, on pourrait, du haut de la Tour, observer les mouvements des armées dans un rayon de plus de 70 kilomètres, par dessus nos forts de défense.
En cas de siège ou d'investissement, ce serait la commu-nication constante assurée entre Paris et les départements par les foyers électriques dont la Tour est munie. La télégra-phie optique permettrait de communiquer avec Rouen, Beauvais, Orléans, Alençon, etc.
Ce n'est certes pas l'un des aspects les moins utiles de ce monument unique à travers le globe.

L'avenir nous dira quels seront les enseignements acquis dans l'exécution de cette construction colossale: mais ces renseignements que prédisent et prévoient les savants de toutes les nations seront certainement considérables. La foule en a le sentiment, aussi a-t-elle toujours témoigné à M. Eiffel de chaleureuses sympathies.
En attendant, nous devons féliciter l'auteur de cette grande entreprise : il a prouvé au monde entier que la France est un grand pays, aux conceptions hardies, et qu'elle est encore capable de réussir là où d'autres ont échoué. Les Américains disaient en 1874, à propos de la tour de Philadelphie : « Nous célébrerons notre centenaire par la plus colossale construction de fer que l'homme ait jamais conçue. » Leur tour n'a pas été achevée, tandis que ces paroles, qui, en Amérique, sont restées lettre morte sont devenues pour la France une vivante réalité.
Paris possède désormais un arc de triomphe plus colos-sal que tous ceux que les peuples ont rêvé pour les con-quérants, et ce monument superbe est élevé à la gloire de la science moderne pour le plus grand honneur des Fran-çais.

© Guide Bleu du Figaro et du Petit Journal 1889