World Fair of Paris 1889

Centenary of the French Revolution

May 6, 1889 - October 31, 1889


Back - List of Pavilions

Angkor-Wat

Angkor-Wat at the Exhibition Paris 1889

Entrance on the central alley. Let us say right away that the name Angkor-Wat pagoda is not absolutely correct.

The construction we have arrived at is in fact only one of the corner doors of one of the best preserved monuments left by the Khmers, that great extinct people of whom the present-day Cambodians claim to be the grandsons - singularly degenerate grandsons. The region of Angkor - taken by the Siamese from the Cambodians - contains absolutely marvellous constructions, in ruins respected for centuries.

Discovered by French missionaries in the 16th century, they have been studied from 1861 to the present day by Doudart de Lagrée, Delaporte, etc. (See Delaporte Museum, Paris). (See the Delaporte Museum at Trocadero).

Who were the Khmers, these incomparable architects, these creators of a form and a style, these true artists? We don't really know. Recent studies tend to show that the word Khmer is modern and means Cambodian. At the same time, the deciphering of certain Angkor inscriptions revealed, two years ago, the date of the second century, which would give the oldest of these ruins - for there are all dates in this dead Rome - the age of the oldest monuments in India. Ten civilisations and twenty races must have struggled and disappeared in turn between the Mekong and the Great Lake. Alongside works of art that delight artists, excavations have brought to light objects from the Stone Age. All that is known is that between the second or third century B.C. and the tenth century A.D., a great people of high intellectual culture covered a part of Indo-China with cities and monuments, of which the ruins of Angkor remain as a superb sample. Khmer or not, this people had close religious and artistic links with India: inscriptions and stones are proof of this. The draining of the region, the transformation of the gulf into a lake, and other as yet unknown causes have impoverished, disseminated, and bastardized the race, finally causing it to disappear. Angkor alone remains as a witness, a pilgrimage for historians and artists alike; and the lake dwellings, the fishermen's sampans on the site of the ancient cities, show the perpetuity of life indifferent to revolutions.

Even the visitor will not have time to philosophize at the Invalides. Let us simply tell him that this piece of pagoda tends to represent a fragment of the monument of which only the following figures can give him an idea:
The temple of Angkor-Wat-the real sanctuary that we wanted to recall and symbolize here-occupied nearly six thousand meters. The moat that surrounded it was 200 meters wide and the rectangle it encompassed would measure no less than 827 meters wide. The central tower was 80 metres. The whole thing cannot be described. The photograph of this architectural wonder will edify the curious.

Our Cambodian pavilion, known as the Angkor-Wat pagoda, is about as good a representation of the German military system as a Pomeranian guardhouse. As it is, however, it sufficiently synthesizes the art known as Khmer. Two galleries and counter-galleries intersecting at right angles and at the intersection of which rises the tower - the main feature of its façade - are the building's constituent elements. The tower is divided into tiers simulating an accumulation of parasols housing the image of the deity in whose honour this part of Angkor-Wat was built. On each side, pediments, formed by a frame representing a hundred-headed serpent, decorate the floors. The forty meters of the tower are decorated in this way and have nothing heavy or inaccurate, while recalling a monument, which, reconstituted as it is, would have covered, by itself, the entire Champ de Mars, without suffering too much from the crushing proximity of the Eiffel Tower!
Perhaps, however, the treasures of Angkor could have been represented by a more grandiose sample, but we know how lazy France is about overseas riches, and then there was not enough time, not to mention the fact that the organisers would have spent enormous sums to satisfy only rare sinologists and artists. Let us only regret that this reproduction of a fragment of a disappeared art is not more faithful, that the roofs of the monument, for example, are not more real.

As it is, this pavilion, if it does not suggest the intense admiration that Khmer art deserves, will strike visitors by its details. As far as we are concerned, it will be enough to have inspired their curiosity to find out more about these marvels in our museums.

In any case, the walker should not leave without having gone through the interior exhibition: weapons, jewels, silverware, musical instruments, hairstyles, furniture, clothes, elephant packs, palanquins, models of domestic and agricultural instruments, etc., are to retain him. And we are not talking about the products of the soil, the woods and all the riches that the specialists - we took them from the exhibitions of Burma and Siam - will be able to admire there. To these customers aside, there is no need to remind them that the products of French Indo-China (annexed or protectorate countries) should not be estimated according to their possible flow in Europe. Whatever one's opinion may be on the subject of our colonial policy, it is quite certain that Indo-Chinese exporters can and must live only by trading with China - the only country where their trade finds buyers for products which would be of no use to Liverpool as well as to Marseilles.

© Guide Bleu du Figaro et du Petit Journal 1889

Retour - Liste Pavillons

Angkor-Wat


Angkor-Wat à l'exposition de Paris 1889

Entrée sur l'allée centrale. Disons-le tout de suite, ce nom de pagode d'Angkor-Wât n'est pas absolument juste.

La construction à laquelle nous arrivons ne reproduit, en effet, qu'une des portes d'angle du n des monuments les mieux conserves parmi ceux qu'ont laissés les Khmers, ce grand peuple disparu dont les Cambodgiens actuels prétendent être les petits-fils, — des petits-fils singulièrement dégénérés. La région d'Angkor — prise par les Siamois aux Cam-bodgiens — renferme des constructions absolument merveilleuses, aux ruines respectées des siècles.

Découvertes par des missionnaires français au xvie siècle, elles ont été surtout étudiées de 1861 à nos jours par Doudart de Lagrée, Delaporte, etc. (Voir te musée Delaporte, au Trocadéro.)

Qui étaient les Khmers, ces incomparables architectes, ces créateurs d'une forme et d'un style, ces vrais artistes ? On ne sait trop. De récents travaux tendraient à démontrer que le mot Khmer est moderne, et veut dire : cambodgien. En même temps le déchiffrage de certaines inscriptions d'Angkor a révélé, il à deux ans, la date du IIE siècle, ce qui donnerait aux plus vieilles de ces ruines, — car il en est de toutes dates dans cette Rome morte, — l'âge des plus anciens monuments de l'Inde. Dix civilisations et vingt races ont dû d'ailleurs lutter et disparaître tour à tour entre le Mékong et le Grand-Lac. A côté d'oeuvres ravissant les artistes, les fouilles ont mis à jour des objets de l'âge de pierre. Tout ce qu'on sait tient en ceci : qu'entre le IIe ou le IIIe siècle avant Jésus-Christ et le dixième de notre ère, un grand peuple, d'une haute culture intellectuelle, couvrit une partie de l'Indo-Chine de villes et de monuments dont les ruines d'Angkor demeurent comme un superbe échantillon. Khmer ou non, ce peuple avait avec l'Inde d'étroites parentés au moins religieuses et artistiques : inscriptions et pierres en font foi. L'assèchement de la contrée, la transformation golfe en lac, d'autres causes encore inconnues ont appauvri, disséminé, abâtardi la race, l'ont enfin fait disparaitre. Angkor seul subsiste qui témoigne, pèlerinage des historiens comme des artistes; et des habitations lacustres, les sampans de pêcheurs disent sur l'emplacement des ancienne, cités la perpétuité de la vie indifférente aux révolutions.

Même le visiteur n'aura pas le temps de philosopher aux Invalides. Disons-lui simplement que ce morceau de pagode tend à représenter un fragment du monument dont seuls les chiffres suivants peuvent lui donner une idée :
Le temple d'Angkor-Wât—le véritable sanctuaire que l'on a voulu rappeler et symboliser ici — occupait près de six mille mètres. Le fossé qui l'entourait avait 200 mètres de largeur et le rectangle qu'il englobait ne mesurerait pas moins de 827 mètres de largeur. La tour centrale ayant 80 mètres. L'ensemble ne se décrit pas. La photographie de cette merveille architecturale édifiera les curieux.

Notre pavillon cambodgien, dit pagode d'Angkor-Wât, représente donc à peu près aussi bien qu'une guérite poméranienne représente le système militaire allemand. Telqu'il est cependant, il synthétise suffisamment l'art dit: Khmer. Deux galeries et contre-galeries se coupant angle droit et à l'intersection desquelles s'élève la tour-motif principal de sa façade ; — voilà les éléments constitutifs de l'édifice. La tour est partagée en étages simulant une accumulation de parasols abritant l'image de la divinité en l'honneur de laquelle cette partie d'Angkor-Wât a été bâtie. Sur chaque face, des frontons, formés d'un encadrement représentant un serpent à cent têtes, décorent les étages. Les quarante mètres de la tour sont ornés de la sorte et n'ont rien de lourd, ni d'inexact, tout en rappelant un monument, qui, reconstitué tel quel, aurait couvert, à lui seul, le Champ de Mars tout entier, sans trop souffrir de l'écrasant voisinage de la Tour Eiffel !
Peut-être cependant aurait-on pu représenter les trésors d'Angkor par un plus grandiose échantillon, mais on sait les paresses françaises à l'endroit des richesses d'outre-mer, et puis, le temps manquait, sans compter qu'à faire plus grand les organisateurs auraient dépensé des sommes énormes pour satisfaire uniquement de rares sinologues et de plus rares artistes. Regrettons seulement que cette reproduction d'un fragment d'un art disparu ne soit pas plus fidèle, que les toitures du monument, par exemple, ne soient pas plus vraies.

Tel qu'il est, ce pavillon, s'il ne suggère pas l'intense admiration que mérite l'art Khmer, frappera les visiteurs par ses détails. Pour nous, il nous suffira de leur avoir inspiré la curiosité de se renseigner dans nos musées sur ! merveilles.

En tous cas, le promeneur ne devra point le quitter sans avoir parcouru l'exposition intérieure : armes, bijoux, orfèvrerie, instruments de musique, coiffures, meubles, vêtements, bâts d'éléphants, palanquins, modèles d'instruments domestiques et aratoires, etc., sont pour le retenir. Et nous ne parlons pas des produits du sol, des bois et de toutes les richesses que les spécialistes — les prenions-nous au sortir des expositions de la Birmanie et du Siam pourront admirer là. A ces clients à part, il n'est pas besoin de rappeler que les produits de l'indo-Chine française (pays annexés ou de protectorat), ne doivent point être estimés d'après leur débit possible en Europe. Quelque opinion que l'on ait au sujet de notre politique coloniale, il est bien certain que les exportateurs indo-chinois ne peuvent et ne doivent vivre que par le négoce avec la Chine — le seul pays où leur commerce trouve des acheteurs pour des produits qu'inutiliserait Liverpool aussi bien que Marseille.

© Guide Bleu du Figaro et du Petit Journal 1889