Back - List of Pavilions

Gabon-Congo Village - Expo Paris 1889

Gabon-Congo Village at the Exhibition Expo Paris 1889

Gabon-Congo was perhaps the most popular of the French colonies at the beginning. The men who created it and who, four years ago, gave it its present extent, are among those, very rare today, whom all France, without distinction of party, has adopted; Brazza, Ballay, these are names which one is happy to be able to oppose to that of Stanley.

On the other hand, it can be said that until last May the colony itself was almost completely ignored. The number of people who had any idea of its appearance, its inhabitants and its products was very small. The books and pictures that should popularise it were still rare and not widely available; few people went there, apart from the personnel needed to run it. Everyone knew Brazza; the most vague ideas reigned over his work - More than any other, in this admirable Esplanade des Invalides, the Gabon-Congo exhibition is therefore a revelation. The unknown colony is presented from scratch, so to speak, with two villages, twenty inhabitants, live or stuffed animals "and a great variety of objects.

Coming from the main entrance to the Esplanade, the first thing you see is a Loango village. Loango is the southern part of the coastline of our colony; it extends to the vicinity of the mouth of the Congo. The houses in this village are built entirely of papyrus stems and the wood of a palm tree called raffia, which is improperly called bamboo. The walls are made of papyrus, placed vertically, on which, at equal intervals, horizontal strips of raffia branches stand out. The roof, covered with leaves, forms a fairly wide and high canopy on the front and lower galleries on both sides.

The second village is Pahouin. The Pahouins live on the right bank of the Ogoôué. As they are often at war with each other, their villages are mostly fortified. Such is the one we are shown at the Invalides. It is surrounded by a palisade and forms a rectangle, on two sides of which are fairly low huts, joined in continuous rows, and made only of raffia branches, which are all vertical, unlike the village of Loango. The side of the palisade where two openings have been made for the public should also be occupied by the huts; the only entrance to the village, if we were shown it as it really exists, should be the long corridor on the side of Avenue La Bourdonnais. This corridor, which is made up of two parts that intersect at right angles, would only offer the attackers a very difficult access, especially as holes, pierced as loopholes in the palisade, would allow it to be riddled with rifle shots.

The centre of the village is occupied by a large shed, the roof of which is supported by piles that a barrier joins up to halfway up. This is the public square, the place where the inhabitants, leaving their smoky huts, come to talk, work, and often sleep in the shade. Besides the natives, there are two or three monkeys, and long-eared local dogs that look like foxes.

The Pahouin village is not inhabited by Pahouins. The natural people brought from Gabon are Adoumas and Okandas. At first sight, one will not perceive much difference between these two races, and all these negroes will seem to belong to the same type. On closer examination, however, they will be distinguished. The Okandas are taller and more vigorous; their noses are less crushed, their jaws less prominent; some have a light beard. In short, they are further from the traditional type of Negro. The Adoumas are small and beardless, rather thin; even their young men have an old-fashioned look. It is, moreover, rather difficult, for a European, to classify Negroes, at first sight, according to their age. The absence of a beard, and these black faces, on which wrinkles are difficult to see, prevent him from doing so.

Okandas and Adoumas live on the banks of the Ogoôué; skilful pirogues, they have rendered appreciable services to the explorers of Gabon, and it is from among them that the personnel of the transports are largely recruited. One can see, in front of the Palais des colonies, one of these long pirogues, with a flat bottom, in which they transport goods on this river. The flat bottom gives these boats greater stability when crossing the rapids. As for the small pirogues, which can be seen in the village and elsewhere, they are especially intended for fishing.

Okandas and Adoumas seem like friendly people. They always have a smile on their faces. Their lively and good-natured air makes them contrast with the Senegalese, who are always very serious, and especially with their Canaque neighbours, who are a bit sullen and answer with a rather reluctant air to the questions we ask them. These brave Gabonese, on the other hand, are very eager to meet visitors, and if their French is a little elementary, their vigorous handshakes and their good laughter at least show a great deal of cordiality.

Near the village is a chalet where perfume bottles are sold, made, it seems, with oils from Gabon. On the other side is a pavilion, of rather coquettish architecture, with side galleries, and white and blue poles supporting a bamboo roof. In one corner is a refreshment counter, where the various brandies and liquors, which still play so great a part in our processes of "civilising" the blacks, are sold. All the rest is occupied by an interesting exhibition. On the walls are hung panoplies and musical instruments. The former are made up of cutlasses, of ungainly shapes, almost all made of blades, with small wooden handles, around which wire spirals are wound. As for the musical instruments, the most notable is a long cylindrical drum, to which our travellers have given the name of tam-tam; it reminds us a little of the Algerian darbouka, but is much longer; next to it is a sort of four-stringed guitar, very primitive.

In the showcases we are shown some rather pretty gold ornaments: rings, bracelets, necklaces, brooches, one of which, in the shape of a butterfly, is really elegant work. All these objects are the work of goldsmiths from the Guinea coast; the art of the Gabonese themselves has not yet reached this perfection.

We see the proof of this in these elephant tusks, where native draughtsmen have engraved in the ivory bizarre processions of negroes, which ascend in spirals to the point, as in a Roman column. Those from Gabon are quite barbaric. As in the drawings of children or primitive peoples, the characters are represented in profile, with front eyes. Other of these works, which will be seen in the Palais des colonies, are of a more sophisticated work. They are the work of people living on the Congo. It will be interesting to study them in detail; they will provide information on many aspects of black life. Here, for example, is a whole procession of chained slaves, or a European, easily recognisable by his clothes and hat, in conversation with the natives. Elsewhere, the artist has depicted the animals of the country: elephants or a crocodile devouring a panther:

In the pavilion we find wicker baskets woven by Gabonese people, mats and cloths made from the fibre of the raffia palm, the same tree used to build the huts. In the Pahouin village, we can see one of the looms used to make these somewhat coarse but very resistant fabrics.

This gives us a brief insight into the life and work of the inhabitants of Gabon. A large number of photographs give us information on the external aspect of the country. Some of the sites that we can contemplate here are charming, I will mention among others the American mission established on the banks of the Ogoôué, and the views of Libreville, the present capital of the colony, whose buildings disappear under an extremely dense tropical vegetation.

But we are not yet informed about the economic value of this possession. Surely it was not acquired for the sole pleasure of admiring its landscapes and inhabitants. What are its products useful for trade? This is the question that it is legitimate to ask.

We will find the desired answer in the Colonial Palace. Besides various objects of ethnographic interest, such as wooden idols, furniture belonging to chiefs, which the poorest French craftsman would not want, musical instruments, etc., we see there the main products likely to be traded.

The first is ivory, whose sole market is now England. Alongside the elephant tusks which, as we have seen, have been used for the fantasies of indigenous sculptors, we have some here, of all sizes, in their primitive state, that is to say, coated with a blackish patina which, at first sight, makes one doubt their nature. One of these tusks is particularly remarkable; it weighs 71 kilograms, is 2.5 metres long and measures 55 centimetres around. After the ivory comes the rubber; it is, as we know, the secretion of a liana. An incision is made in the vine, and the milk that comes from it is collected in a calabash. This milk, coagulated with salt, gradually solidifies, giving off a yellowish liquid; the solidified material is rubber. Here we see samples of it in its various states.

The forests which cover a large area of the colony have precious species for cabinet making, notably sandalwood or redwood, and ebony, of which we are shown some very good specimens. The Etais guineensis palm tree has fruits from which the famous palm oil is extracted, which is used today in perfumery; it is still one of the colony's export items. As for seeds and edible roots, such as millet and groundnuts, Gabon could not compete with Senegal. On the other hand, some tropical crops have been tried, tobacco, coffee, cotton, vanilla, which have so far given good results. The Europeans have to pay the natives for the products they demand. As money is not yet widespread in the country, they pay in goods and especially in cloth. The natives acquire a taste for these fabrics, they work to acquire new ones, production increases and at the same time outlets are created for goods from the metropolis. Up to now, England has had a monopoly on the manufacture of cotton fabrics used as a medium of exchange. It is to be hoped that our manufacturers, supported by protective rights, will at least succeed in taking the market in the French colonies from British competitors. Commendable efforts are being made in this direction, as evidenced by the exhibition, by Mr. Paul Dufourcq, of Rouen, Épinal and Tarare cottons intended for the colony.

The impression produced by the Gabon-Congo exhibition can only be favourable. Without doubt it is not one of those brilliant colonies, like Tunisia or Tonkin, on which one can base unlimited hopes. It is modest; but, if it still brings in little, it is fair to point out that it has not required many sacrifices, and moreover its production will only increase. Moreover, it maintains the prestige and even the preponderance of France in this equatorial Africa, where almost all the powers of Europe have wanted to carve out their share.

© L'exposition Universelle de 1889 - Louis Rousselet

Retour - Liste Pavillons

Village Gabon-Congo


Village Gabon-Congo à l'exposition de Paris 1889

Le Gabon-Congo a été peut-être la plus populaire, à son début, des colonies françaises. Les hommes qui l'ont créée et qui lui ont fait donner, il y a quatre ans, son étendue actuelle, sont de ceux, bien rares aujourd'hui, que toute la France, sans distinction de partis, a adoptés; Brazza, Ballay, voilà des noms que l'on est heureux de pouvoir opposer à celui de Stanley.

On peut dire, en revanche, que jusqu'au mois de mai dernier, la colonie elle-même était presque absolument ignorée. Bien minime était le nombre des gens qui eussent quelque idée de son aspect, de ses habitants, de ses produits. Les livres et les images qui devraient la populariser sont encore rares et peu répandus ; peu de gens y vont, en dehors du personnel nécessaire pour la diriger. Chacun connaissait Brazza; les idées les plus vagues régnaient sur son œuvre-Plus que tout autre, dans cette admirable Esplanade des Invalides, l'exposition du Gabon-Congo est donc une révélation. La colonie inconnue se présente de toute pièces, pour ainsi dire, avec deux villages, vingt habitants, des animaux vivants ou empaillés "et une grande variété d'objets.

Quand on vient de l'entrée principale de l'Esplanade, on voit tout d'abord un village loango. Le Loango est la partie sud du littoral de notre colonie ; il s'étend jusque dans le voisinage de l'embouchure du Congo. Les maisons de ce village sont construites tout entières avec des tiges de papyrus et avec le bois d'un palmier appelé raphia, et désigné improprement sous le nom de bambou. Les parois sont faites de papyrus, placés verticalement, sur lesquels, à intervalles égaux, se détachent des bandes horizontales de branches de raphia. Le toit, recouvert de feuilles, forme, sur la façade, un auvent assez large et assez élevé, et sur les deux côtés des galeries plus basses.

Le second village est pahouin. Les Pahouins habitent la rive droite de l'Ogoôué. Comme ils sont souvent en guerre les uns avec les autres, leurs villages sont la plupart du temps fortifiés. Tel est celui qu'on nous montre aux Invalides. Il est entouré d'une palissade et forme un rectangle, sur deux côtés duquel sont des cases assez basses, unies en rangées continues, et faites uniquement de branches de raphia, qui sont toutes verticales, à la différence du village de Loango. Le côté de la palissade où l'on a pratiqué deux ouvertures, pour le public, devrait également être occupé par les cases ; la seule entrée du village, si l'on nous le montrait tel qu'il existe réellement, devrait être le long couloir pratiqué du côté de l'avenue La Bourdonnais. Ce couloir, composé de deux parties qui se coupent à angle droit, n'offrirait aux assaillants qu'un accès très difficile, d'autant plus que des trous, percés en guise de meurtrières dans la palissade, permettraient de le cribler de coups de fusil.

Le centre du village est occupé par un grand hangar, dont le toit est soutenu par des pieux qu'une barrière unit jusqu'à mi-hauteur. C'est la place publique, le lieu où les habitants, quittant leurs cases enfumées, viennent causer, travailler, et souvent dormir à l'ombre. A côté des indigènes, on y voit deux ou trois singes, et des chiens du pays, aux longues oreilles, qui ressemblent à des renards.

Le village pahouin n'est pas habité par des Pahouins. Les naturels que l'on a amenés du Gabon sont des Adoumas et des Okandas. Au premier abord, on ne percevra pas grande différence entre ces deux races, et tous ces nègres sembleront appartenir au même type. Un examen plus attentif permettra pourtant de les distinguer. Les Okandas sont plus grands et plus vigoureux; ils ont le nez moins écrasé, la mâchoire moins saillante ; quelques-uns ont une barbe légère. En somme ils sont plus éloignés du type traditionnel du Nègre. Les Adoumas sont petits et imberbes, assez grêles ; leurs jeunes gens même ont un air vieillot. Il est du reste assez difficile, pour un Européen, de classer, à première vue, les nègres d'après leur âge. L'absence de barbe, et ces noirs visages, sur lesquelles rides se voient mal, l'en empêchent.

Okandas et Adoumas habitent les bords de l'Ogoôué; piroguiers habiles, ils ont rendu des services appréciables aux explorateurs du Gabon, et c'est parmi eux que se recrute en grande partie le. personnel des transports. On peut voir, devant le Palais des colonies, une de ces longues pirogues, à fond plat, dans lesquelles ils convoient les marchandises sur ce fleuve. Le fond plat assure à ces embarcations, dans la traversée des rapides, une plus grande stabilité. Quant aux petites pirogues, qu'on peut voir dans le village et ailleurs, elles sont spécialement destinées à la pêche.

Okandas et Adoumas paraissent des gens aimables. Ils ont constamment le sourire aux lèvres. Leur air vif et bon enfant les fait contraster avec les Sénégalais; toujours très graves, et surtout avec leurs voisins canaques, qui sont un peu maussades, et répondent d'un air assez rechigné aux questions qu'on leur pose. Ces braves Gabonais, au contraire, sont très empressés auprès des visiteurs, et si leur français est un peu élémentaire, leurs poignées de main vigoureuses et leurs bons rires témoignent du moins de beaucoup de cordialité.

Près du village est un chalet où l'on vend spécialement des flacons de parfumerie, faits, paraît-il, avec des huiles du Gabon. De l'autre côté se trouve un pavillon, d'une architecture assez coquette, avec des galeries latérales, et des pieux blancs et bleus soutenant un toit de bambou. On y trouve dans un coin un comptoir de rafraîchissements, où l'on débite les diverses eaux-de-vie et liqueurs, qui jouent encore un si grand rôle dans nos procédés de « civilisation » des noirs. Tout le reste est occupé par une exposition intéressante. Aux parois sont accrochés des panoplies et des instruments de musique. Les premières sont formées de coutelas, aux formes rébarbatives, presque tout en lames, avec de petits manches en bois, autour desquels s'enroulent des spirales en fil de fer. Quant, aux instruments de musique, le plus notable est un long tambour cylindrique, auquel nos voyageurs ont donné le nom de tam-tam, il rappelle un peu la darbouka algérienne, mais est beaucoup plus long; à côté est une sorte de guitare à quatre cordes, très primitive.

Dans des vitrines on nous montre d'assez jolis ornements en or : bagues, bracelets, colliers, broches, dont l'une, en forme de papillon, est d'un travail vraiment élégant. Tous ces objets sont l'œuvre d'orfèvres venus de la côte de Guinée; l'art des Gabonais eux-mêmes n'est pas encore arrivé à cette perfection.

Nous en voyons la preuve dans ces défenses d'éléphants, où des dessinateurs indigènes ont gravé dans l'ivoire de bizarres processions de nègres, qui montent en spirales jusqu'à la pointe, comme dans une colonne romaine. Celles qui viennent du Gabon sont assez barbares. Comme dans les dessins des enfants ou des peuples primitifs, les personnages y sont représentés de profil, avec des yeux de face. D'autres de ces œuvres, que l'on verra au Palais des colonies, sont d'un travail plus perfectionné. Elles sont l'œuvre de riverains du Congo. On trouvera de l'intérêt à les étudier en détail ; elles renseigneront sur bien des traits de la vie des noirs. Voici, par exemple, toute une procession d'esclaves enchaînés, ou bien un Européen, facilement reconnaissable à ses vêtements et à son chapeau, en pourparlers avec des indigènes. Ailleurs, l'artiste a figuré les animaux du pays : ainsi des éléphants ou bien un crocodile dévorant une panthère:

Nous trouvons encore, dans le pavillon, des corbeilles d'osier tressées par des Gabonais, des nattes et des pagnes faits avec la fibre du palmier raphia, le même arbre qui sert à la construction des cases. Dans le village pahouin, on pourra voir un des métiers qui servent à confectionner ces tissus un peu grossiers, mais très résistants.

Nous avons ainsi un aperçu sommaire de la vie et des travaux des habitants du Gabon. Des photographies en assez grand nombre nous renseignent sur l'aspect extérieur du pays. Quelques-uns des sites que nous pouvons contempler ici sont charmants, je citerai entre autres la mission américaine établie sur les bords de l'Ogoôué, et les vues de Libreville, la capitale actuelle de la colonie, dont les bâtiments disparaissent sous une végétation tropicale extrêmement touffue.

Mais nous ne sommes pas encore renseignés sur la valeur économique de celte possession. Assurément on ne l'a pas acquise pour le seul plaisir de nous en faire admirer les paysages et les habitants. Quels sont ses produits utiles au commerce ? Voilà la question qu'il est légitime de se poser.

Nous trouverons la réponse désirée dans le Palais colonial. A côté de différents objets d'un intérêt tout ethnographique, tels qu'idoles en bois, meubles appartenant à des chefs, et dont le plus pauvre artisan français ne voudrait pas, instruments de musique, etc., nous voyons là les principaux produits susceptibles d'échange.

Le premier est l'ivoire, dont le marché unique est aujourd'hui l'Angleterre. A côté des défenses d'éléphants qui ont servi, comme nous l'avons vu, aux fantaisies des sculpteurs indigènes, nous en avons là, de toutes dimensions, dans leur état primitif, c'est-à-dire revêtues d'une patine noirâtre qui fait, à première vue, douter de leur nature. Une de ces défenses est particulièrement remarquable; elle pèse 71 kilogrammes, sa longueur est 2m,50, et elle mesure 55 centimètres de tour. Après l'ivoire vient le caoutchouc ; c'est, on le sait, la sécrétion d'une liane. On fait une incision à la liane, et on recueille, dans une calebasse, le lait qui en découle. Ce lait, coagulé au moyen de sel, se solidifie peu à peu en dégageant un liquide jaunâtre ; la matière solidifiée est le caoutchouc. Nous en voyons ici des échantillons à ses différents états.

Les forêts qui recouvrent une grande étendue de la colonie ont des essences précieuses pour l'ébénisterie, notamment le santal ou bois rouge, et l'ébène dont on nous montre de très bons spécimens. Le palmier dit Etais guineensis a des fruits dont on extrait la fameuse huile de palme, si employée aujourd'hui dans la parfumerie ; c'est encore un des articles d'exportation de la colonie. Quant aux graines et aux racines comestibles, telles que le mil et l'arachide, le Gabon ne pourrait pas soutenir la concurrence du Sénégal. En revanche, on a essayé quelques cultures tropicales, le tabac, le café, le coton, la vanille qui jusqu'ici ont donné de bons résultats. Les Européens doivent payer les produits qu'ils demandent ainsi aux indigènes. La monnaie n'étant pas encore répandue dans le pays, ils payent en marchandises et surtout en étoffes, Au bénéfice direct qui résulte de ce mode de payement, s'ajoute un autre avantage. Les indigènes prennent le goût de ces étoffes, ils travaillent pour en acquérir de nouvelles, la production augmente et en même temps des débouchés se créent pour les marchandises de la métropole. Jusqu'ici, c'est l'Angleterre qui a eu le monopole de la fabrication des cotonnades employées comme moyens d'échange. Il est à souhaiter que nos fabricants, soutenus d'ailleurs par des droits protecteurs, parviennent au moins à enlever aux concurrents britanniques le marché des colonies françaises. De louables efforts sont faits dans ce sens, ainsi qu'en témoigne l'exposition, par M. Paul Dufourcq, de cotonnades de Rouen, d'Épinal et de Tarare destinées à la colonie.

L'impression produite par l'exposition du Gabon-Congo ne peut qu'être favorable. Sans doute ce n'est pas là une de ces colonies brillantes, comme la Tunisie ou le Tonkin, sur laquelle on puisse fonder des espérances illimitées. Elle est modeste ; mais, si elle rapporte encore peu, il est juste de rappeler qu'elle n'a pas exigé beaucoup de sacrifices, et d'ailleurs sa production ne fera que s'accroître. De plus, elle maintient le prestige et même la prépondérance de la France dans cette Afrique équatoriale, où presque toutes les puissances d'Europe ont voulu se tailler leur part.

© L'exposition Universelle de 1889 - Louis Rousselet