World Fair of Paris 1889

Centenary of the French Revolution

May 6, 1889 - October 31, 1889


Back - List of Pavilions

Algeria

Algeria at the Exhibition Paris 1889

Architect(s) : Ballu

M.Ballu, the architect of the beautiful pavilion of Algeria, was designated for this work by the studies which he made in Algiers, where, for the account of the commission of the Historic monuments, he noted and drew many Arab buildings. His memories served him well.

Look at his work:
His Palais de l'Algérie has its main façade on the Seine, with a large garden on the right; but the vestibule overlooks both the Quai d'Orsay (along the railway line) and the central Avenue des Invalides. This vestibule is surprisingly reminiscent of the Kouba of Sidi-Abder-Rhaman with its three-arched porch. As for the large door decorated with earthenware, it reproduces the mihrab of the Pêcherie mosque. There is a pretty corner here that we recommend to visitors curious to observe the colourful crowd filling the Esplanade: these are two corbelled boxes where it is good to rest after leaving the three exhibition rooms.

In the axis of the vestibule is a large gallery decorated with stained glass windows. It is through this gallery that we reach the three rooms, one for each department, Algiers, Oran and Constantine, or that we go to the official saloon, a pretty room decorated with earthenware and sculptures designed by Mr. Marquette, an Algerian architect of the greatest talent.

To the left of the vestibule, a staircase invites us to go up to the minaret. Tourists will think they have found the staircase of the Algiers Museum. This one gives access to the two loges that we have mentioned and to the gallery on the first floor of the Kouba. What freshness give its earthenware! And what a pretty decoration! Earthenware plays a great role in the whole Palace, and one can be surprised that Western art has not borrowed more from Eastern art in this respect.

The minaret we have just arrived at would be worth a long chapter in itself.

But how many details can the same be said of? Here, for example, is the garden separating the Palace proper from the bazaars of the indigenous industry. The most beautiful plants of Algeria are gathered there, a charming preface to the obligatory walk we are going to make among the Arab shops.

Under the eyes of the public, they are there, the arbicos workers, as our kids call them, who work in twenty ways. Manufacturers of fabrics, embroidery, leather goods, belts, weapons, carpets, turned trinkets, etc., they add a picturesque note to this entrance to the Colonial Exhibition. No less amusing is the part of the Algerian palace situated opposite the Tunisian Section, from which it is separated by a street 5 metres wide, which would be a lot for an African street if the love of accuracy were not to give way to that of comfort and the need for traffic.

For it is crowded here. The Moorish café-concert, with its Moorish and Kabyle women, with its dancers: the famous Ouled-Naïls, the Kabyle house with its purebred meharis, running camels of the beautiful type, attract above all the curious.

And how many other attractions do we forget, without mentioning this street of Algiers, so exact, which skirts the Moorish coffee, and, further, of the sendings of the Jumenteris of Tiaret, work of our soldiers! The director of this Jumenterie, the skilful Captain Grimblot, exhibits mares and foals that will not be admired only by sportsmen.

It is difficult to speak now of the Algerian exhibition itself. It is necessary to see it, and to see it well, in order to reconsider the prejudice that represents the French as a non-colonizing people. In Algeria, with the help of time, and the proximity of the mother country having gradually overcome the timidity of our compatriots, France has taken up and perfected the Roman work. Progress is being made in giant steps, and the three provinces are being transformed agriculturally and industrially every day.

Remember the 1867 and 1878 Exhibitions, reread their old catalogues, their statistics, and compare.

First, there are the wines, the young and already great wealth of Algeria. Some wines have a reputation that a few years in the cellar will increase tenfold. As plantations do not stop, we can predict that within twenty-five years, our African colony will be the main supplier to the tables of the whole world.

And the wine exhibition shows only one side of the production of this blessed soil. Look at the showcases, the trophies cluttering the rooms too small for the shipments from the three provinces. From the indigenous fabrics, let us move on to alfas, textile plants, wools, wood, cork, grains, etc. Let us not forget the marbles, the onyxes, the alabasters, and, if we are afraid of being victims of administrative trompe-l'oeil, of fanciful exhibitions intended to caress our pride as conquerors of North Africa, let us consult, before leaving, the relief maps and the statistics. Then, in order to rest from these figures, we stop in front of the works of artists living in Algeria: paintings, statues, stained glass, earthenware, etc.

Finally, if an overly Europeanised Algeria hinders our nostalgia for exoticism, let us not leave without having seen the desert.

We will find it in the place of honour in the Constantine gallery, whose entire central panel is occupied by the magnificent exhibition of the Société de Batna et du Sud algérien, a French agricultural enterprise in the Sahara.

The Figaro has reported many times on the work of transformation and fertilisation in the Oued-Bir, south of Biskra, work that can be imagined here.

This part of the exhibition is dominated by a monumental arch made of date boxes, of a charming blue colour, and framed by earthenware with arabesques of the most beautiful effect; on the frontispiece, these two elegant mottos stand out: Conquest of the desert, Colonisation of the Sahara. In the archway, a large canvas depicts the burning desert, in the middle of which a bubbling well springs up, with an oasis, a European edge and, at the bottom, the name of this new country of the future: Oued-Bir.

Below, the exhibition proper of the company: maps, photographs, from which the attached view is borrowed, plans of the great oases created by Mr. Rolland and his friends, who have planted the enormous figure of 50,000 palm trees, etc. Opposite, a plan in relief representing in its details a European oasis with a gushing well. A small model of a portable dromedary-borne sounding device accompanies an innumerable collection of all sorts of samples: soil, water, fish from artesian wells; various parts of the palm tree, from the root to the leaves, and derivatives; dates of various varieties and date boxes, baskets, boxes of dates, presented with much cachet (articles that can be tasted and not only admired, by addressing the Café Maure of the exhibition); finally, cereals, vegetables and various plants cultivated in the oases; agricultural instruments of the country, etc. ..

In short, a complete monograph of the Oued-Bir, which will teach the visitor more than a trip to the Algerian South.

© Guide Bleu du Figaro et du Petit Journal 1889

Retour - Liste Pavillons

Algérie


Algérie à l'exposition de Paris 1889

Architecte(s) : Ballu

M.Ballu, l'architecte du beau pavillon de l'algérie, était désigné pour ce travail par les études qu'il a faites à Alger, où, pour le compte de la commision des monuments Historiques, il a relevé et dessiné maints édifices arabes. Ses souvenirs l'ont bien servi.

Voyez plutôt son oeuvre :
Son Palais de l'Algérie présente sa façade principale à laSeine, avec sur la droite, un grand jardin; mais le vestibule donne à la fois sur le quai d'Orsay (le long de la ligne du chemin de fer) et sur l'avenue centrale des invalides. Il rappelle étonnament, ce vestibule, la Kouba de Sidi-Abder-Rhaman par son porche à trois arcades. Quant à la grande porte ornée de faïences, elle reproduit le mihrab de la mosquée de la Pêcherie. Il y a là un joli coin que nous recommandons aux visiteurs curieux d'observer la foule bigarrée remplissant l'Esplanade : ce sont deux loges en encorbellement où il fait bon se reposer au sortir des trois salles d'exposition.

Dans l'axe du vestibule donne une grande galerie ornée de vitraux. C'est par elle que nous gagnons les trois salles, une par département, d'Alger, d'Oran et de Constantine, ou que nous nous rendons au saloon officiel, une jolie pièce décorée de faïences et de sculptures relevées par M. Marquette, un architecte algérien du plus grand talent.

A gauche du vestibule, un escalier nous invite à monter au minaret. Les touristes croiront retrouver là l'escalier du Musée d'Alger. Celui-ci donne accès aux deux loges que nous avons signalées et à la galerie du premier étage de la Kouba. Quelle fraîcheur donnent ses faïences ! Et quelle jolie décoration! La faïence d'ailleurs joue un grand rôle dans tout le Palais, et l'on peut s'étonner que l'art occidental n'ait pas de ce côté emprunté davantage à l'art oriental.

Le minaret auquel nous arrivons vaudrait, à lui seul, un long chapitre.

Mais de combien de détails n'en peut-on dire autant? Voici, par exemple, le jardin séparant le Palais proprement dit des bazars de l'industrie indigène. Les plus belles plantes d'Algérie y sont réunies, charmante préface à la promenade obligée que nous allons faire parmi les échoppes arabes.

Sous les yeux du public, ils sont là, les ouvriers arbicos, comme les appellent nos gamins, qui travaillent de vingt façons. Fabricants d'étoffes, de broderies, de maroquineries, de ceintures, d'armes, de tapis, de bibelots tournés etc., ils mettent une note pittoresque à cette entrée de l'Exposition coloniale. Non moins amusante est la partie du palais d'Algérie situé vis-à-vis de la Section Tunisienne, dont elle est séparée par une rue de 5 mètres de largeur, ce qui serait beaucoup pour une rue d'Afrique si l'amour de l'exactitude ne devait céder le pas à celui du confort et à la nécessité de la circulation.

Car il y a foule ici. Le café-concert maure, avec ses femmes mauresques et kabyles, avec ses danseuses : les célèbres Ouled-Naïls, la maison kabyle avec ses méharis pur sang, des chameaux coureurs du beau type, attirent surtout les curieux.

Et combien oublions-nous d'attractions diverses, sans parler de cette rue d'Alger, si exacte, qui longe le café maure, et, plus loin, des envois de la Jumenteris de Tiaret, œuvre de nos soldats! Le directeur de cette Jumenterie, l'habile capitaine Grimblot, expose des juments et des juments et des poulains que n'admireront pas les seuls sportmen.

Il est malaisé de parler maintenant de l'exposition algérienne proprement dite. Il faut la voir, et la bien voir, pour revenir sur le préjugé représentant les Français comme un peuple non colonisateur. En Algérie, le temps aidant, et la proximité de la mère patrie ayant eu raison peu à peu des timidités de nos compatriotes, la France a repris et perfectionné l'œuvre romaine. Les progrès s'y font à pas de géants, les trois provinces se transforment agricolement et industriellement, chaque jour.

Rappelez-vous plutôt les Expositions de 1867 et 1878, relisez leurs anciens catalogues, leurs statistiques, et comparez.

D'abord, ce sont les vins, la jeune et déjà grande richesse de l'Algérie. Des crus y ont leur réputation que quelques années de cave vont décupler. Les plantations ne s'arrêtant point, on peut prédire qu'avant vingt-cinq ans, notre colonie africaine sera la principale pourvoyeuse des tables du monde entier.

Et l'exposition vinicole ne montre qu'une face de la production de ce sol béni. Voyez plutôt les vitrines, les trophées encombrant les salles trop petites pour les envois des trois provinces. Des étoffes indigènes passons aux alfas, aux plantes textiles, aux laines, aux bois, au liège, aux grains, etc. N'oublions pas les marbres, les onyx, les albâtres, et, si nous craignons d'être victimes de trompe-l'œil administratifs, d'exhibitions fantaisistes destinées à caresser notre orgueil de conquérants de l'Afrique-Nord, consultons, avant que de sortir, les cartes en relief et les statistiques. Puis pour nous reposer de ces chiffres, nous nous arrêtons devant les envois des artistes domiciliés en Algérie : tableaux, statues, vitraux, faïences, etc.

Enfin, si une Algérie trop européanisée gêne nos nostalgies d'exotisme, ne partons pas sans avoir vu le désert.

Nous le trouverons à la place d'honneur de la galerie de Constantine, dont tout le panneau central est occupé par la magnifique exposition de la Société de Batna et du Sud algérien, entreprise française de création agricole au sahara.

Le figaro a signalé maintes fois l'œuvre de transformation et de fertilisation dans l'Oued-Bir, au sud de Biskra, œuvre qu'on peut s'imaginer ici.

Cette partie de l'exposition est en effet dominée par un arceau monumental en boîtes de dattes, d'un bleu charmant, et encadré par des faïences avec des arabesques du plus bel effet; au frontispice, se détachent ces deux élégantes devises : Conquête du désert, Colonisation du Sahara. Dans l'arceau, une grande toile représente le désert brûlant, au milieu duquel jaillit un puits bouillonnant, avec une oasis, un bord européen et au fond, le nom de ce nouveau pays d'avenir : l'Oued-Bir.

Au-dessous, l'exposition proprement dite de la société : des cartes, des photographies, auxquelles est empruntée la vue ci-jointe, les plans des grande oasis créées par M. Rolland et ses amis, qui ont planté le chiffre énorme de 50000 palmiers, etc. Vis-à-vis, un plan en relief représentant dans ses détails une oasis européenne à puits jaillissant. Un petit modèle d'appareil de sondage, portatif à dos de dromadaire, accompagne une collection innombrable de toutes sortes d'échantillons : terrains, eaux, poissons des puits artésiens; diverses parties du palmier, depuis la racine jusqu'aux feuilles, et dérivés; de dattes de diverses variétés et des caissettes, paniers, boîtes de dattes, présentés avec beaucoup de cachet (articles qu'on pourra goûter et non pas admirer seulement, en s'adressant au Café Maure de l'exposition); enfin des céréales, des légumes et des plantes diverses cultivés dans les oasis; des instruments agricoles du pays, etc...

Bref une monographie complète de l'Oued-Bir, qui en apprendra plus au visiteur qu'un voyage dans le Sud algérien.

© Guide Bleu du Figaro et du Petit Journal 1889