Centennial Exposition Philadelphia 1876

Centenary of American Independence and the Declaration of Independence of July 4, 1776

May 10, 1876 - November 10, 1876


Back - List of Pavilions

Studio of the Photographic Association

Studio of the Photographic Association at the Exhibition Expo Philadelphia 1876

Architect(s) : H. J. Schwarzmann

Studio of the Photographic Association at the Exhibition Expo Philadelphia 1876

Architect(s) : H. J. Schwarzmann

The Centennial Board of Finance assigned to the Centennial Photographic Company, prior to the opening of the exhibition, the exclusive privilege of selling and making photographs and photographic articles for production and use in the international exhibition.

In order to take and produce photographs, the association erected a studio or room on the east side of Belmont Avenue.

The building attracts attention because it is windowless, showing walls and decorations that, through the softening of art, subtract from the appearance of what would otherwise be an unremarkable structure. A piazza, porch and balustrade outside are prominent features, and the front is raised and beautifully finished.

The building measures 86 feet 6 inches front by 125 feet deep and is only one story high. It is built on the sides of a hollow square, the courtyard being decorated as a garden with flowers and shrubs.

The interior of the building is lit by skylights designed for photographic convenience.

The front of the studio is accessed by a wide staircase communicating with the reception room and two galleries for the display of photographs. There are three operating rooms for taking photographs, rooms for developing them, waiting rooms and public and private offices.

The whole structure is perfectly arranged for the purpose, and its use has given great satisfaction.

Architect, H. J. Schwarzmann; builder, John Duncan.

©Centennial portfolio: a souvenir of the international exhibition at Philadelphia - 1876

Centennial Exposition Philadelphia 1876

Centenaire de l'indépendance américaine et de la Déclaration d'indépendance du 4 juillet 1776

10 Mai 1876 - 10 Novembre 1876


Retour - Liste Pavillons

Studio de l'Association Photographique

Studio de l'Association Photographique à l'exposition de Philadelphie 1876

Architecte(s) : H. J. Schwarzmann

Studio de l'Association Photographique à l'exposition de Philadelphie 1876

Architecte(s) : H. J. Schwarzmann

Le Centennial Board of Finance a cédé à la Centennial Photographic Company, avant l'ouverture de l'exposition, le privilège exclusif de vendre et de réaliser des photos et des articles photographiques tendant à leur production et à leur utilisation au sein de l'exposition internationale.

Afin de prendre des photos et de les réaliser, l'association a érigé un studio ou une salle du côté est de l'avenue Belmont.

Le bâtiment attire l'attention du fait qu'il est sans fenêtres, montrant des murs et des décorations qui, par l'adoucissement de l'art, soustraient l'apparence de ce qui autrement serait une structure sans intérêt. Une piazza, un porche et une balustrade à l'extérieur sont des éléments importants, et l'avant est surélevé et joliment fini.

Le bâtiment mesure 86 pieds 6 pouces de front sur 125 pieds de profondeur et ne fait qu'un étage. Il est construit sur les côtés d'une place creuse, la cour étant décorée comme un jardin de fleurs et d'arbustes.

L'intérieur du bâtiment est éclairé par des puits de lumière conçus pour la commodité photographique.

La partie avant du studio est accessible par un large escalier communiquant avec la salle de réception et deux galeries pour l'exposition de photographies. Il y a trois salles d'opération pour prendre des photos, des salles pour les développer, des salles d'attente et des bureaux publics et privés.

L'ensemble de la structure est parfaitement agencé pour l'objet visé, et son utilisation a donné une grande satisfaction.

Architecte, H. J. Schwarzmann; constructeur, John Duncan.

©Centennial portfolio: a souvenir of the international exhibition at Philadelphia - 1876