Centennial Exposition Philadelphia 1876

Centenary of American Independence and the Declaration of Independence of July 4, 1776

May 10, 1876 - November 10, 1876


Back - List of Pavilions

Singer Manufacturing Co (Sewing machine)

Singer Manufacturing Co (Sewing machine) at the Exhibition Philadelphia 1876

Architect(s) : James Vandyke

Time is entirely in the memory of Americans of the present generation who will not confess when the invention of the sewing machine has been spoken of as a novelty which could never be valued, or which, if it were, would lead to deplorable results in the distress and injury of every seamstress in the country.

It is scarcely thirty years since Elias Howe obtained his first patent. Some years passed before the machine gained much favour, but of late its success in various forms has been enormous. The Singer Manufacturing Co. has invested a great deal of capital in the manufacture of machines on the patents in their possession, and they have their headquarters in the Centennial compound. The two millionth machine of their manufacture will, at the end of the exhibition, be awarded by lottery to a lucky woman who may visit them in the meantime.

The Singer Building is situated on Lansdowne Drive, north-west of the Arts Building Annexe, and occupies a pleasant position overlooking Lansdowne Glen. It is in the Gothic cottage style, oblong in shape, the dimensions being 56x81 feet. Very ornate gables rise in the centre of the north, south, east and west sides. They are surmounted by beautiful finials, and the woodwork and open decoration are of refined style. Their sloping roofs join the Mansard pavilion roofs at the corners of the house. Each of these corner additions receives light from a single dormer window opening onto the second floor bedrooms.

A beautiful portico surrounds the building. It is wide, comfortable and shaded.

The slate roof is cheerfully decorated with colours.

The upper part of the chalet is decorated with flagpoles at every available point. There are twelve of them, displaying the colours of the major nations of the world.

The ladies' lounge is situated in the south-western part of the cottage and is richly furnished, the wall decorations being elegant tapestry pictures worked by the Singer sewing machine. There are adjoining offices. The main showroom is to the east and occupies the whole depth of the building on this side.

On display are specimens of the manufacture of sewing machines on footwear, saddles, harness, clothing and embroidery.
There are 61 sewing machines in full operation in this flat during the exhibition hours, no two of which are alike in the details of the machines. Among the curious devices on display are machines for sewing wax thread, making buttonholes and eyelets, and binding books. Three wax figures of beautiful women, one of which is an accurate representation of the Princess of Wales, are in the windows. The dresses are elaborate and expensive, in the richest styles, showing varieties of stitching, pleating, ruffling and embroidery, including a magnificent suit rich in gold bullion embroidery, this garment is valued at $8,000.

The architect of this building was James Vandyke, of Elizabeth, New Jersey.
The work was done entirely by employees of Singer Manufacturing Co.

Cost, $20,000.

©Centennial portfolio: a souvenir of the international exhibition at Philadelphia - 1876

Centennial Exposition Philadelphia 1876

Centenaire de l'indépendance américaine et de la Déclaration d'indépendance du 4 juillet 1776

10 Mai 1876 - 10 Novembre 1876


Retour - Liste Pavillons

Singer Manufacturing Co (Machine à coudre)

Singer Manufacturing Co (Machine à coudre) à l'exposition de Philadelphie 1876

Architecte(s) : James Vandyke

Le temps est entièrement dans la mémoire des Américains de la génération actuelle qui ne se confesseront pas lorsque l'invention de la machine à coudre a été évoquée comme une nouveauté qui ne pourrait jamais être valorisée, ou qui, si tel devait être le cas, entraînerait des résultats déplorables dans la détresse et les blessures de toutes les couturières du pays.

A peine trente ans se sont écoulés depuis qu'Elias Howe a obtenu son premier brevet. Quelques années se sont écoulées avant que la machine n'obtienne beaucoup de faveur, mais dernièrement, son succès sous diverses formes a été énorme. La Singer Manufacturing Co. a investi un grand capital dans la fabrication de machines sur les brevets en leur possession, et ils ont à leur siège social dans l'enceinte du centenaire. La deux millionième machine de leur fabrication sera, à la fin de l'exposition, attribuée par tirage au sort à une femme chanceuse qui pourrait leur rendre visite dans l'intervalle.

L'édifice Singer est situé sur la promenade Lansdowne, au nord-ouest de l'annexe du bâtiment des arts, et occupe une situation agréable avec vue sur Lansdowne Glen. Il est de style chalet gothique, de forme oblongue, les dimensions étant de 56x81 pieds. Des pignons très ornés s'élèvent au centre des côtés nord, sud, est et ouest. Ils sont surmontés de beaux fleurons, et les boiseries et les décorations ouvertes sont de style raffiné. Leurs toits en pente rejoignent les toits du pavillon Mansard aux angles de la maison. Chacun de ces ajouts d'angle reçoit la lumière d'une seule lucarne ouvrant sur les chambres du deuxième étage.

Un beau portique entoure le bâtiment. Il est large, confortable et ombragé.

Le toit, en ardoise, est gaiement orné de couleurs.

La partie supérieure du chalet est décorée de mâts de drapeau à chaque point disponible. Il y en a douze, qui arborent les couleurs des principales nations du monde.

Le salon des dames est situé dans la partie sud-ouest du chalet et est richement meublé, les décorations murales étant des images élégantes en tapisserie travaillées par la machine à coudre Singer. Il y a des bureaux attenants. La salle d'exposition principale est à l'est et occupe toute la profondeur du bâtiment de ce côté.

Dans l'exposition sont exposés des spécimens de fabrication de machines à coudre sur des chaussures, des selles, des harnais, des vêtements et des broderies.
Il y a 61 machines à coudre en pleine activité dans cet appartement pendant les heures d'exposition, dont deux ne se ressemblent ni dans les détails des machines. Parmi les curieux appareils exposés, on trouve des machines à coudre du fil de cire, à faire des boutonnières et des œillets, et à relier des livres. Trois figures de cire représentant de magnifiques femmes, dont une représentant fidèlement la princesse de Galles, sont dans les vitrines. Les robes sont élaborées et coûteuses, dans les styles les plus riches, montrant des variétés de couture, de plissage, de volants et de broderies, y compris un magnifique costume riche en broderie de lingots d'or, ce vêtement est estimé à 8000 $.

L'architecte de ce bâtiment était James Vandyke, d'Elizabeth, New Jersey.
Le travail a été entièrement réalisé par des employés de Singer Manufacturing Co.

Coût, 20 000 $.

©Centennial portfolio: a souvenir of the international exhibition at Philadelphia - 1876