Back - List of Pavilions

Cook International Agency -

Cook International Agency at the Exhibition Expo Philadelphia 1876

This building is located on the west side of Belmont Avenue, north of the east end of the engine house.

The pavilion is in the Renaissance style, beautifully ornamented and attractive in appearance.

The floor plan is in the figure of a Greek cross. Inside is a central hall 60 feet in diameter, offices, waiting rooms and other flats for the accommodation of visitors.

This "agency" is owned by Messrs. Cook, Son & Jenkins, the American branch of the house of Thomas Cook & Son, London, known throughout the world as a manager of excursions, tours and travels in all parts of the globe. Through their extensive agencies and arrangements, they assure the traveller of the best accommodation on his journey, good hotels wherever he stops and every comfort and convenience. The tickets for the cooking tourists carry the holders to all parts of the civilized world.

The whole enterprise is under the control and responsibility of Mr. Thomas Cook, the principal member of the company, who for nearly a lifetime has devoted himself to teaching people all over the world how to travel cheaply, pleasantly and comfortably.

These tourist tickets also have the added advantage of not being time-limited; they allow the tourist to stop en route at will, while any unused tickets are redeemed.

Hotel vouchers are also issued, available for accommodation in at least one first-class hotel in all major cities of the world, at fixed and uniform prices, and this price is lower than the regular hotel price. The firm holding this concession has had a similar connection with all the great exhibitions of the world, beginning in London in 1851 and ending in Vienna in 1873.

©Centennial portfolio: a souvenir of the international exhibition at Philadelphia - 1876

Centennial Exposition Philadelphia 1876

Centenaire de l'indépendance américaine et de la Déclaration d'indépendance du 4 juillet 1776

10 Mai 1876 - 10 Novembre 1876


Retour - Liste Pavillons

Agence Internationale Cook

Agence Internationale Cook à l'exposition de Philadelphie 1876

Ce bâtiment est situé du côté ouest de l'avenue Belmont, au nord de l'extrémité est de la salle des machines.

Le pavillon est de style Renaissance, joliment orné et attrayant en apparence.

Le plan au sol est dans la figure d'une croix grecque. A l'intérieur se trouve un hall central de 60 pieds de diamètre, des bureaux, des salles d'attente et d'autres appartements pour l'hébergement des visiteurs.

Cette "agence" appartient à MM. Cook, Son & Jenkins, la branche américaine de la maison de Thomas Cook & Son, Londres, connue dans le monde entier comme gestionnaire d'excursions, de visites et de voyages dans toutes les régions du globe. Par leurs agences et arrangements étendus, ils assurent au voyageur le meilleur hébergement sur son voyage, de bons hôtels où qu'il s'arrête et tout le confort et la commodité. Les billets pour les touristes cuisiniers transportent les détenteurs dans toutes les parties du monde civilisé.

L'ensemble de l'entreprise est sous le contrôle et la responsabilité de M. Thomas Cook, le membre principal de l'entreprise, qui depuis près d'une vie se consacre à enseigner aux gens du monde entier comment voyager à moindre coût, agréablement et confortablement.

Ces billets touristiques présentent également l'avantage supplémentaire de ne pas être limités dans le temps; ils permettent au touriste de s'arrêter en route à son gré, tandis que tous les billets non utilisés sont échangés.

Des coupons d'hôtel sont également émis, disponibles pour l'hébergement dans au moins un hôtel de première classe dans toutes les grandes villes du monde, à des prix fixes et uniformes, et ce prix est inférieur au prix régulier de l'hôtel. La firme titulaire de cette concession a eu un lien similaire avec toutes les grandes expositions du monde, commençant à Londres en 1851 et se terminant à Vienne en 1873.

©Centennial portfolio: a souvenir of the international exhibition at Philadelphia - 1876