Back - List of Pavilions

Education in Pennsylvania -

Education in Pennsylvania at the Exhibition Expo Philadelphia 1876

Octagonal in form of the main walls, lantern, and cupola, the severe mathematical character of the ground plan of the Pennsylvania Educational Building is broken by annexes on the north and south of one story in height, which serve useful purposes and make the appearance of the building more pleasing than it would be if the strict form were adhered to.

In diameter this structure is one hundred feet. The annexes measure 19x44 feet. The walls of the main building rise some distance above the foundation, from which the windows extend to the cornice and throw light into the interior from all sides. The central hall is similarly illuminated by the lantern, and a cupola of good taste in proportion and appearance surmounts the whole. The plan of the building provides good ventilation by adjustable sashes, and the interior is bright and attractive. The exterior is carefully painted in colours that harmoniously match even in their contrasts. The building is located north of the Transport Palace, east of Belmont Avenue, near Lansdowne Drive, and is not far from the Swedish School.

The difference between the two is that while the foreign structure shows how Swedish children are housed at present, the Pennsylvania building gives no idea of the shape or appearance of the Pennsylvania school. It is an exhibition room in which, as in the foreign example, the mode of teaching is shown in the subjects to be examined, but the display lacks the practicality that is attached to the idea of a temple of primary education.

Everything related to the general education plans is here correctly shown. The path of knowledge can be followed from the alphabetical map and the start by the stations where spelling books, grammars, geographies and arithmetic treatises are placed, to the stopping points of history, language, science and art.

From kindergarten to college, the whole course can be traced, and in all practical necessities the collection is complete. There are maps, drawings, illustrations, and all the appliances of the school, which are arranged with systematic regularity, so that all who are disposed to study this most interesting subject will find the method easy. The erection of this building is due to the efforts of the Pennsylvania Teachers 'Institute and the great interest and earnestness of Professor J. B. Wickersham, Director of Education of the State of Pennsylvania.

The Legislature gave $15,000 towards the cost of the building; the Teachers' Institute subscribed $5,000. The latter provided a room at the west end of the building at a cost of over $1,000 for meetings and a general reception room for visitors. The builders were Peters & Burger of Lancaster, Pennsylvania.

©Centennial portfolio: a souvenir of the international exhibition at Philadelphia - 1876

Centennial Exposition Philadelphia 1876

Centenaire de l'indépendance américaine et de la Déclaration d'indépendance du 4 juillet 1776

10 Mai 1876 - 10 Novembre 1876


Retour - Liste Pavillons

Education en Pennsylvanie

Education en Pennsylvanie à l'exposition de Philadelphie 1876

De forme octogonale des murs principaux, de la lanterne et de la coupole, le caractère mathématique sévère du plan au sol du Pennsylvania Educational Building est brisé par des annexes au nord et au sud d'un étage en hauteur, qui servent à des fins utiles et donnent l'apparence de l'immeuble plus agréable qu'il ne le serait si la forme stricte était respectée.

En diamètre, cette structure est de cent pieds. Les annexes mesurent 19x44 pieds. Les murs du bâtiment principal s'élèvent à une certaine distance au-dessus de la fondation, à partir de laquelle les fenêtres s'étendent jusqu'à la corniche et jettent de la lumière à l'intérieur de tous les côtés. Le hall central est éclairé de la même manière par la lanterne, et une coupole de bon goût en proportion et en apparence surmonte le tout. Le plan du bâtiment assure une bonne ventilation par des vantaux réglables, et l'intérieur est lumineux et attrayant. L'extérieur est soigneusement peint dans des couleurs qui s'accordent harmonieusement même dans leurs contrastes. Le bâtiment se trouve au nord du Palais des Transports, à l'est de l'avenue Belmont, près de la promenade Lansdowne, et n'est pas loin de l'école suédoise.

La différence entre les deux est que, alors que la structure étrangère montre la façon dont les enfants suédois sont hébergés à l'heure actuelle, le bâtiment de Pennsylvanie ne donne aucune idée de la forme ou de l'apparence de l'école de Pennsylvanie. C'est une salle d'exposition dans laquelle, comme dans l'exemple étranger, le mode d'enseignement est montré dans les matières à examiner, mais l'affichage n'a pas l'aspect pratique qui est attaché à l'idée d'un temple de l'enseignement primaire.

Tout ce qui est lié aux plans d'enseignement général est ici correctement montré. Le chemin de la connaissance peut être suivi de la carte alphabétique et de l'amorce par les stations où les livres d'orthographe, les grammaires, les géographies et les traités d'arithmétique sont placés, jusqu'aux points d'arrêt de l'histoire, de la langue, de la science et de l'art.

Du jardin d'enfants au collège, l'ensemble du cours peut être retracé et, dans toutes les nécessités pratiques, la collection est complète. Il y a des cartes, des dessins, des illustrations et tous les appareils de l'école, qui sont disposés avec une régularité systématique, de sorte que tous ceux qui sont disposés à étudier ce sujet le plus intéressant trouveront la méthode facile. L'érection de ce bâtiment est due aux efforts du Pennsylvania Teachers 'Institute et au grand intérêt et au sérieux du professeur J. B. Wickersham, directeur de l'éducation de l'État de Pennsylvanie.

La Législature a donné 15 000 $ pour le coût de l'édifice; l'Institut des enseignants a souscrit 5 000 $. Ce dernier a aménagé une salle à l'extrémité ouest du bâtiment au coût de plus de 1000 $ pour les réunions et une salle de réception générale pour les visiteurs. Les constructeurs étaient Peters & Burger, de Lancaster, Pennsylvanie.

©Centennial portfolio: a souvenir of the international exhibition at Philadelphia - 1876