Centennial Exposition Philadelphia 1876

Centenary of American Independence and the Declaration of Independence of July 4, 1776

May 10, 1876 - November 10, 1876


Back - List of Pavilions

Pomology

Pomology at the Exhibition Philadelphia 1876

To the east of the northern section of the Agricultural Palace and to the south of the Brewery Building is the Fruit Exhibition Annex.

This is one of several ground structures that must be used occasionally and may, at various times during the exhibition season, be entirely empty.

The building is temporary in character, and is therefore clearly constructed, without any effort at ornamentation. The attention which has been given to the building is such that it will facilitate the main object for which it was built - utility - the perfect adaptation to the purpose being the sole subject of study.

The pomological building extends from east to west, and is 180x200 feet in size. The exterior at the east and west ends shows a series of four shed roofs and four gables, between which are aisles running the length of the building from east to west. The walls rise from the ground at a convenient distance from the roof, from which extend continuous windows on all sides of the building, which throw light and can be fitted for ventilation.

The main sections resemble lanterns over the aisles and are also fitted with side lights, so that the interior is bright and cheerful, and the best opportunities are given for viewing whatever is on exhibition.

There are four main avenues and five aisles running the length of the building, intersected by five cross-aisles. In the centre of these aisles are the tables, four in each row, with tables at the side rows and at the ends of the building, making fifty-two tables not including the tables around the four sides of the flat. These tables are designed to showcase the fruit, with shelves in the form of truncated pyramids. The roof is supported by simple joists and beams, arranged without display of ornamentation for utility purposes only.

The avenues are about 6 feet wide. Light and air are abundant. The interior is painted white, which makes the appearance of the great hall cheerful and attractive for designed purposes. The main entrances are in the centre, on either side, with Gothic doors. In this building, during the season, there will be exhibitions of fresh American fruit in particular, as they appear when picked before decay. The programme includes special displays of strawberries, blackberries, raspberries and other berries. Melon, citron and cantaloupe will be duly featured.

The peach will be displayed in its lush beauty. In autumn, pears and apples, plums and grapes, will be presented in all varieties, fresh and lush. The arrangement will free the agricultural palace from what might sometimes be an inconvenience; and for the accommodation of visitors or persons willing to examine for themselves, the pomological building has special claims.

©Centennial portfolio: a souvenir of the international exhibition at Philadelphia - 1876

Centennial Exposition Philadelphia 1876

Centenaire de l'indépendance américaine et de la Déclaration d'indépendance du 4 juillet 1776

10 Mai 1876 - 10 Novembre 1876


Retour - Liste Pavillons

Pomologie

Pomologie à l'exposition de Philadelphie 1876

À l’est de la section nord du palais de l'agriculture et au sud du bâtiment des brasseurs, se trouve l’annexe pour l’exposition des fruits.

Il s'agit de l'une des nombreuses structures au sol qui doit être utilisée occasionnellement et peut, à diverses périodes de la saison des expositions, être entièrement vide.

Le bâtiment est temporaire dans son caractère, et est donc clairement construit, sans aucun effort d'ornementation. L'attention qui a été accordée au bâtiment est telle qu'il facilitera l'objet principal pour lequel il a été construit - l'utilité - l'adaptation parfaite au but étant le seul sujet d'étude.

Le bâtiment pomologique s'étend d'est en ouest, et est de dimensions 180x200 pieds. L'extérieur aux extrémités est et ouest montre une série de quatre toits de hangar et de quatre pignons, entre lesquels se trouvent des allées s'étendant sur toute la longueur du bâtiment d'est en ouest. Les murs s'élèvent du sol à une distance commode du toit, à partir duquel s'étendent des châssis continus de tous les côtés du bâtiment, qui jettent de la lumière et peuvent être aménagés pour la ventilation.

Les sections principales ressemblent à des lanternes au-dessus des allées et sont également équipées de lumières de côté, de sorte que l'intérieur est lumineux et gai, et les meilleures opportunités sont données pour voir tout ce qui fait l'objet de l'exposition.

Il y a quatre avenues principales et cinq allées s'étendant sur toute la longueur du bâtiment, coupées par cinq allées transversales. Au centre de ces passages sont placées les tables, quatre dans chaque rangée, avec des tables aux rangées latérales et aux extrémités de l'immeuble, ce qui en fait cinquante-deux sans compter les tables autour des quatre côtés de l'appartement. Ces tables sont conçues pour mettre en valeur les fruits, avec des étagères à la manière de pyramides tronquées. Le toit est soutenu par des solives et des poutres simples, disposées sans étalage d'ornementation à des fins d'utilité uniquement.

Les avenues mesurent environ 6 pieds de largeur. La lumière et l'air sont abondants. L'intérieur est peint en blanc, ce qui rend l'apparence de la grande salle joyeuse et attrayante pour les fins conçues. Les entrées principales sont au centre, de chaque côté, avec des portes gothiques. Dans ce bâtiment, au cours de la saison, se tiendront à différents moments des expositions de fruits frais américains en particulier, tels qu'ils apparaissent lorsqu'ils sont cueillis avant la décomposition. Le programme comprend des expositions spéciales de fraises, de mûres, de framboises et d'autres petits fruits. Le melon, le cédrat et le cantaloup seront dûment mis à l'honneur.

La pêche sera affichée dans sa beauté luxuriante, En automne, la poire et la pomme, la prune et le raisin, seront présentés dans toutes les variétés, frais et luxuriant. L'arrangement libérera le palais de l'agriculture de ce qui pourrait parfois être un inconvénient; et pour l'hébergement des visiteurs ou des personnes disposées à examiner par elles-mêmes, le bâtiment pomologique a des prétentions particulières.

©Centennial portfolio: a souvenir of the international exhibition at Philadelphia - 1876