Centennial Exposition Philadelphia 1876

Centenary of American Independence and the Declaration of Independence of July 4, 1776

May 10, 1876 - November 10, 1876


Back - List of Pavilions

transportation

transportation at the Exhibition Philadelphia 1876

Architect(s) : H. J. Schwarzmann

transportation at the Exhibition Philadelphia 1876

Architect(s) : H. J. Schwarzmann

This spacious pavilion can be seen as an annex to the main exhibition building, in which the area was so busy with quality products that it was thought that the vehicles would not receive the attention they deserved.

The Transportation Building is immediately to the east of Memorial Hall and would be considered elsewhere than on the Centennial grounds as a large structure.

It is a parallelogram 392 feet long and 277 feet wide. It is constructed of wood sheathed on the outside with corrugated iron. It is only one storey high, but from floor to roof is 36 feet. A hipped roof rises from the walls, which are 24 feet high, and in this there are five skylights which run the length of the building and provide abundant light to the interior. This necessity is further assisted by a large number of windows, each 14 feet high, on the sides of the building.

There are 4 large entrances, with ancillary offices, and a number of smaller ones. The floor space is 100,000 square feet and the interior is occupied by specimens of light and heavy coaches, luxury wagons and pleasure cars, fashionable vehicles, sleighs, omnibuses and railway wagons sent from Great Britain, Canada, Germany, Austria, Belgium, Italy, France and the United States.

The architect was H. J. Schwarzmann.

©Centennial portfolio: a souvenir of the international exhibition at Philadelphia - 1876

Centennial Exposition Philadelphia 1876

Centenaire de l'indépendance américaine et de la Déclaration d'indépendance du 4 juillet 1776

10 Mai 1876 - 10 Novembre 1876


Retour - Liste Pavillons

Transports

Transports à l'exposition de Philadelphie 1876

Architecte(s) : H. J. Schwarzmann

Transports à l'exposition de Philadelphie 1876

Architecte(s) : H. J. Schwarzmann

Cette pavillon spacieux peut être considérée comme une annexe du bâtiment principal des expositions, dans lequel la zone était tellement occupée par les produits de qualité que l'on pensait que les véhicules ne recevraient pas l'attention voulue.

L'édifice des transport se trouve immédiatement à l'est de Memorial Hall et serait considéré ailleurs que sur les terrains du centenaire comme une grande structure.

Il s'agit d'un parallélogramme de 392 pieds de long sur 277 pieds de large. Il est construit en bois gainé à l'extérieur avec de la tôle ondulée. Il est de la hauteur d'un seul étage, mais du sol au toit est de 36 pieds. Un toit en croupe s'élève des murs, qui sont de 24 pieds de hauteur, et en cela il y a cinq puits de lumière qui couvrent toute la longueur du bâtiment et fournissent une lumière abondante à l'intérieur. Cette nécessité est en outre assistée par un grand nombre de fenêtres, chacune de 14 pieds de hauteur, sur les côtés du bâtiment.

Il y a 4 grandes entrées, avec des bureaux annexes, et un certain nombre de plus petites. La surface au sol est de 100 000 pieds carrés et l'intérieur est occupé par des spécimens d'autocars légers et lourds, de wagons et de voitures de plaisance de luxe, de véhicules à la mode, de traîneaux, d'omnibus et de wagons de chemin de fer envoyés de Grande-Bretagne, Canada, Allemagne, Autriche, Belgique , L'Italie, la France et les États-Unis.

L'architecte était H. J. Schwarzmann.

©Centennial portfolio: a souvenir of the international exhibition at Philadelphia - 1876