Centennial Exposition Philadelphia 1876

Centenary of American Independence and the Declaration of Independence of July 4, 1776

May 10, 1876 - November 10, 1876


Back - List of Pavilions

New York

New York at the Exhibition Expo Philadelphia 1876

New York at the Exhibition Expo Philadelphia 1876

This building is located on the south side of State Avenue, north of St. George's House (British Pavilion). This building has a very conspicuous structure, which cannot be considered to represent an early building style.

The house seems to be modelled on the plan of the ordinary luxury villas that dot the banks of the Hudson River from New York to Albany, or court the sea breezes on Staten Island or Long Island.

It is cheerful, but does not illustrate any particularity of the state.

The dimensions are 80 feet long by 35 feet wide. The piazzas are 15 feet wide.

The tower at the front is wide and convenient and offers a good view of the fairgrounds.

The fancy ornamentation is abundant, and the painting and finishing in the most elaborate American villa style.

Here are displayed the wonders that result from the modern adaptation of machinery to the production of irregular forms, in the wooden mouldings and scrolls, the decorations and patterns, which have all the beauty of sculpture without requiring the labour and patience once necessary to obtain them.

This style of house illustrates the tendency of the American spirit in architecture, which is too often governed by the desire to obtain all the advantages of a beautiful appearance without solidity of construction.

Harsh critics denounce the application of pretense to the necessities of art or convenience. They must have everything solid and real, or they are dissatisfied. But the forms of beauty can be appreciated even if they are empty shells.

A statue that is pleasing to the eye and designed with great taste and skill is no less beautiful because it is hollow.

The interior of the building is beautifully appointed with parlours and reception rooms, as well as offices and lodgings for the officers of the State of New York and the citizens of that great Commonwealth.

©Centennial portfolio: a souvenir of the international exhibition at Philadelphia - 1876

Centennial Exposition Philadelphia 1876

Centenaire de l'indépendance américaine et de la Déclaration d'indépendance du 4 juillet 1776

10 Mai 1876 - 10 Novembre 1876


Retour - Liste Pavillons

New York

New York à l'exposition de Philadelphie 1876

New York à l'exposition de Philadelphie 1876

Ce bâtiment est situé sur le côté sud de State Avenue, au nord de St. George’s House (Pavillon de la Grande-Bretagne). Ce bâtiment présente une structure très voyante, qui ne peut pas être considérée comme représentant un style de construction ancien.

La maison semble être calquée sur le plan des villas de luxe ordinaires qui parsèment les rives de la rivière Hudson de New York à Albany, ou courtisent les brises de mer sur Staten Island ou Long Island.

Il est gai, mais n'illustre aucune particularité de l'État.

Les dimensions sont de 80 pieds de longueur par 35 pieds de largeur. Les piazzas mesurent 15 pieds de large.

La tour à l'avant est large et pratique et offre une belle vue sur le parc des expositions.

L'ornementation fantaisiste est abondante, et la peinture et la finition dans le style le plus élaboré de la villa américaine.

Ici sont affichées les merveilles qui résultent de l'adaptation moderne des machines à la production de formes irrégulières, dans les moulures en bois et les volutes, les décorations et les motifs, qui ont toute la beauté de la sculpture sans nécessiter le travail et la patience une fois nécessaires pour les obtenir.

Ce style de maison illustre la tendance de l'esprit américain en architecture, qui est trop souvent régi par le désir d'obtenir tous les avantages d'une belle apparence sans solidité de construction.

Les critiques sévères dénoncent l'application du faux semblant aux nécessités de l'art ou de la commodité. Ils doivent avoir tout solide et réel, sinon ils sont mécontents. Mais les formes de la beauté peuvent être appréciées même si elles ne sont que des coquilles vides.

Une statue qui est agréable à l'œil et conçue avec beaucoup de goût et d'habileté n'est pas moins belle car elle est creuse.

L'intérieur du bâtiment est joliment aménagé avec des salons et des salles de réception, ainsi que des bureaux et des logements pour les officiers de l'État de New York et les citoyens de ce grand Commonwealth.

©Centennial portfolio: a souvenir of the international exhibition at Philadelphia - 1876