Back - List of Pavilions

New Hampshire - Expo Philadelphia 1876

New Hampshire at the Exhibition Expo Philadelphia 1876

To the east of the Connecticut pavilion on State Avenue, with the Michigan pavilion as a neighbour on the other side, are the accommodations furnished for the use of its citizens by the State of New Hampshire. The location is northeast of the New York State Villa.

This structure consists of a floor space of 50 x 50 feet. The style is simple, representing the American half-timbered house, the frame standing out from the weather, the braces running at right angles or diagonally.

The building is two storeys, the front gable flattened near the top; on the east and west sides, three steeply pitched gables rise above the windows. The first floor has, at the north end and extending east and west, a one-storey extension or office, connecting the piazza, supported by simple open columns, which extends along three sides of the building.

The entrance is by a flight of low steps, which lead through a wide door into the interior.

This is furnished in good style, but not extravagantly, comfort being evidently a more desirable object than show. There is a drawing-room for the ladies, a reception-room for the gentlemen, with adjoining flats for toilet and other purposes.

The second floor is divided into several flats for the convenience of the committee. Overcoming simplicity seems to have governed the arrangements. The interior, unplastered, showing the wood of the panelling or wainscoting, has a plain, rough appearance, which contrasts with the usual style of furnishing of the neighbouring buildings. The dark wood does not attract light, but seems to invite shade and coolness.

The quadrangular staircase in the reception room opens to the rear, rather than to the front, as is more common in American houses. This square approach to the second floor in the centre of the building makes it possible to arrange the flats at the top of the stairs, which is not the general style in this country.

There are other peculiarities of the place that attract general attention.

The natives of New Hampshire who resort to this building are received with great cordiality, put at ease by the representatives of the State, and go away well satisfied with the character of the accommodations which have been prepared.

©Centennial portfolio: a souvenir of the international exhibition at Philadelphia - 1876

Centennial Exposition Philadelphia 1876

Centenaire de l'indépendance américaine et de la Déclaration d'indépendance du 4 juillet 1776

10 Mai 1876 - 10 Novembre 1876


Retour - Liste Pavillons

New Hampshire

New Hampshire à l'exposition de Philadelphie 1876

À l'est du pavillon du Connecticut sur State Avenue, avec le pavillon du Michigan comme voisin de l'autre côté, se trouvent les logements meublés à l'usage de ses citoyens par l'État du New Hampshire. La situation est au nord-est de la villa de l'Etat de New York.

Cette structure se compose d'un espace au sol de 50 x 50 pieds. Le style est simple, représentant la maison américaine à colombages, la charpente se détachant des intempéries, les contreventements courant à angle droit ou en diagonale.

Le bâtiment est de deux étages, le pignon avant aplati près du sommet; sur les côtés est et ouest, trois pignons à forte pente s'élèvent au-dessus des fenêtres. Le premier étage a, à l'extrémité nord et s'étendant à l'est et à l'ouest, une extension d'un étage ou un bureau, reliant la piazza, soutenu par de simples colonnes ouvertes, qui s'étend sur trois côtés du bâtiment.

L'entrée se fait par une volée de marches basses, qui mènent par une large porte à l'intérieur.

Ceci est aménagé dans le bon style, mais pas de façon extravagante, le confort étant évidemment un objet plus souhaitable que le spectacle. Il y a un salon pour les dames, une salle de réception pour les messieurs, avec des appartements attenants pour la toilette et d'autres usages.

Le deuxième étage est divisé en plusieurs appartements pour la commodité de la commission. Le dépassement de la simplicité semble avoir régi dans les arrangements. L'intérieur, non plâtré, montrant le bois des lambris ou des lambris, a un aspect uni et rugueux, ce qui contraste avec le style habituel d'aménagement des bâtiments voisins. Les bois sombres n'attirent pas la lumière, mais semblent inviter à l'ombre et à la fraîcheur.

L'escalier quadrangulaire dans la salle de réception s'ouvre à l'arrière, plutôt qu'à l'avant, comme c'est le plus souvent dans les maisons américaines. Cette approche carrée du deuxième étage au centre du bâtiment rend possible une disposition des appartements en haut des escaliers, ce qui ne ressemble pas au style général de ce pays.

Il y a d'autres particularités du lieu qui suscitent l'attention générale.

Les natifs du New Hampshire qui recourent à cet édifice sont reçus avec une grande cordialité, mis à l'aise par les représentants de l'Etat, et s'en vont bien satisfaits du caractère des logements qui ont été préparés.

©Centennial portfolio: a souvenir of the international exhibition at Philadelphia - 1876