Centennial Exposition Philadelphia 1876

Centenary of American Independence and the Declaration of Independence of July 4, 1776

May 10, 1876 - November 10, 1876


Back - List of Pavilions

Missouri

Missouri at the Exhibition Expo Philadelphia 1876

Architect(s) : C. K. Ramsey

Missouri at the Exhibition Expo Philadelphia 1876

Architect(s) : C. K. Ramsey

Built in the style of a Gothic villa, the Missouri State House, which stands on the north side of State Avenue, the westernmost of all the state buildings on this side of the grounds, closes in fine proportion the line of state buildings in the district.

Iowa adjoins to the east and George's Hill Restaurant is immediately to the south.

The façade features a main gable, which rises high near the west side of the house, and is elaborately decorated with finials and sawn wood scrolls.

A large arched window opens into this part of the building.

To the east of the gable, a dormer window rises from the roof. At the eastern corner is a square tower, with a window in the second floor, which extends above the main building and ends in a mansard roof. A gable on the east side rises at the north end of the house. There are two dormers on this side between the gable and the tower.

On the west side there are four dormers.

The second floor is formed entirely by the roof and the sloping gables, lit by the dormers. There is a square on the east, south and west sides, supporting a veranda, which is pleasant for walking and observation.

On the first floor, the main door opens into a large living room which occupies almost the entire length and width of the building. Nine floor-to-ceiling windows open onto the piazzas, providing ample ventilation and light. This is the main reception room for gentlemen. The side walls are panelled with hardwood, fluted and varnished. The walls above are carefully coloured and decorated. The floor is matted; the furniture is comfortable and easy; and on the whole there is an air of hospitality in the flat which assures the visitor that he is welcome. Some specimens of Missouri produce are arranged around this room.

The ladies' room is on the second floor, which is approached by an easy staircase in the front tower. The flat is pleasant and comfortable in every respect. There is a gentlemen's room, which serves as an office. There are four bedrooms on the second floor.

The exterior is painted in light colours.

Dimensions, 48 x 56 feet. The material is mainly Missouri wood prepared in that state.

Design architect, C. K. Ramsey. Superintending architect, L. C. Miller; both of St. Louis, Missouri.

©Centennial portfolio: a souvenir of the international exhibition at Philadelphia - 1876

Centennial Exposition Philadelphia 1876

Centenaire de l'indépendance américaine et de la Déclaration d'indépendance du 4 juillet 1776

10 Mai 1876 - 10 Novembre 1876


Retour - Liste Pavillons

Missouri

Missouri à l'exposition de Philadelphie 1876

Architecte(s) : C. K. Ramsey

Missouri à l'exposition de Philadelphie 1876

Architecte(s) : C. K. Ramsey

Construit dans le style d'une villa gothique, le siège du Missouri, qui se trouve sur le côté nord de State Avenue, le plus à l'ouest de tous les bâtiments d'État de ce côté du terrain, ferme dans de belles proportions la ligne des bâtiments d'État dans le quartier.

L'Iowa jouxte à l'est et le restaurant George’s Hill est immédiatement au sud.

La façade montre un pignon principal, qui s'élève haut près du côté ouest de la maison, et est décoré minutieusement de fleuron et de volutes de bois scié.

Une grande fenêtre cintrée s'ouvre sur cette partie du bâtiment.

À l'est du pignon, une lucarne s'élève sur le toit. À l'angle est se trouve une tour carrée, avec fenêtre dans le deuxième étage, qui s'étend au-dessus du bâtiment principal et se termine par un toit mansardé. Un pignon sur le côté est s'élève à l'extrémité nord de la maison. Il y a deux lucarnes de ce côté entre le pignon et la tour.

Du côté ouest se trouvent quatre lucarnes.

Le deuxième étage est entièrement formé par le toit et les pignons inclinés, éclairés par les lucarnes. Il y a une place disposée sur les côtés est, sud et ouest, soutenant une véranda, agréable pour la promenade et l'observation.

Au premier étage, la porte principale s'ouvre sur un grand salon qui occupe presque toute la longueur et la largeur du bâtiment. Neuf fenêtres descendant au sol s'ouvrent sur les piazzas, assurant ainsi une ventilation et une lumière abondantes. C'est la principale salle de réception pour messieurs. Les murs latéraux sont lambrissés de bois franc, cannelés et vernis. Les murs au-dessus sont soigneusement colorés et ornés. Le sol est mat; le mobilier est confortable et facile; et dans l'ensemble, il y a un air d'hospitalité dans l'appartement qui assure au visiteur qu'il est le bienvenu. Quelques spécimens des produits du Missouri sont disposés autour de cette salle.

Le salon des dames se trouve au deuxième étage, dont l’approche se fait par un escalier facile disposé dans la tour avant. L'appartement est agréable et confortable à tous égards. Il y a un salon pour messieurs, qui sert de bureau. Il y a quatre chambres dans le deuxième étage.

L'extérieur est peint dans des couleurs claires.

Dimensions, 48 x 56 pieds. Le matériau est principalement constitué de bois du Missouri préparés dans cet État.

Architecte concepteur, C. K. Ramsey. L'architecte surintendant, L. C. Miller; tous deux de St. Louis, Missouri.

©Centennial portfolio: a souvenir of the international exhibition at Philadelphia - 1876