Centennial Exposition Philadelphia 1876

Centenary of American Independence and the Declaration of Independence of July 4, 1776

May 10, 1876 - November 10, 1876


Back - List of Pavilions

Maryland

Maryland at the Exhibition Philadelphia 1876

Architect(s) : Geo. A. Fredrick

Maryland at the Exhibition Philadelphia 1876

Architect(s) : Geo. A. Fredrick

West of its territorial neighbour, the Delaware, on State Avenue, MaryLand maintains its headquarters, immediately north of the California building. The Tennessee is to its right; and being close under the rise of George's Hill, the position is high enough to overlook the grounds.

The style of this house is not so ornamental as some of the State seats in the vicinity.

The Maryland appropriation was very moderate and construction did not begin until near the opening of the exposition. The floor plan is that of a cruciform structure. The centre is 31.5 feet wide by 60 feet long. The wings to the east and west are each 30x31.5 feet. At the corners of the cross are piazzas, each 12x30 feet, usable for shade, making the interior flats more pleasant and taking away from the exact appearance presented by the bare cruciform figure. The building is two storeys high, the cornices wide and overhanging, decorated with ornamental work in scrolls, interlacing, geometric figures and shields bearing the state monogram and the dates 1776-1876.

The central pediment bears the word "Maryland" in large letters.

Turned and carved finials finish the exterior. The interior is devoted to exhibition purposes as well as accommodation. The central hall displays in appropriate exhibits the mineral, mining and other productions of the State of Maryland, including coal, stone and marble, and also illustrates hunting and fishing interests, including in the latter the oyster fishery, which is of great importance.
There are models of fish hatching houses, fishing rafts and buildings used in the Susquehanna shad fisheries, as well as oyster catching equipment, vessels, pungys, canoes, dredges, rafts, etc.

A very important part of this exhibit is devoted to showing the various enemies of the oyster that prey on its existence - all except man, the greatest enemy of all, who calmly stalks and is glad that he comes last.

The Maryland Academy of Sciences provides liberal selections from its museum. The Maryland Historical Society has loaned valuable antique relics, especially portraits of historical state dignitaries from Calvert to the present.

To the left of the main hall are the press rooms, intended for the headquarters of newspapers for correspondents, etc., as well as parlors and rest rooms and other conveniences, making this house agreeable as a stopping place for the citizens of the State, and presenting to all who may lay eyes upon it something of interest and instruction.

Architect, Geo. A. Fredrick. Builders, S. H. & J. F. Adams. Ornamental woodwork by J. Thomas & Son; all Baltimore. The building was erected under the special supervision of John H. B. Latrobe, American Centennial Commissioner.

©Centennial portfolio: a souvenir of the international exhibition at Philadelphia - 1876

Centennial Exposition Philadelphia 1876

Centenaire de l'indépendance américaine et de la Déclaration d'indépendance du 4 juillet 1776

10 Mai 1876 - 10 Novembre 1876


Retour - Liste Pavillons

Maryland

Maryland à l'exposition de Philadelphie 1876

Architecte(s) : Geo. A. Fredrick

Maryland à l'exposition de Philadelphie 1876

Architecte(s) : Geo. A. Fredrick

À l'ouest de son voisin territorial, le Delaware, sur State Avenue, le MaryLand maintient son siège social, immédiatement au nord de l'édifice californien. Le Tennessee est à sa droite; et étant proche sous la montée de George’s Hill, la position est suffisamment élevée pour surplomber le terrain.

Le style de cette maison n'est pas aussi ornemental que certains des sièges de l'État à proximité.

L'appropriation du Maryland a été très modérée et la construction n'a commencé que vers l'ouverture de l'exposition. Le plan au sol est celui d'une structure cruciforme. Le centre mesure 31,5 de largeur sur 60 pieds de longueur. Les ailes à l'est et à l'ouest mesurent chacune 30x31,5 pieds. Aux angles de la croix se trouvent des piazzas, chacune de 12x30 pieds, utilisables pour leur ombre, rendant les appartements intérieurs plus agréables et décollant de l'apparence exacte que présente la figure cruciforme nue. Le bâtiment est de deux étages, les corniches larges et surplombantes, décorées d'œuvres ornementales en volutes, entrelacs, figures géométriques et boucliers portant le monogramme d'État et les dates 1776-1876.

Le fronton central porte en gros caractères le mot «Maryland».

Les fleurons tournés et sculptés donnent une finition à l'extérieur. L'intérieur est consacré à des fins d'exposition ainsi qu'à l'hébergement. Le hall central présente dans des expositions appropriées les productions minérales, minières et autres de l'État du Maryland, y compris le charbon, la pierre et le marbre, et illustre également les intérêts de la chasse et de la pêche, y compris dans ce dernier la pêche aux huîtres, qui est d'une grande importance .
Il existe des modèles de maisons d'éclosion de poissons, de radeaux de pêche et de bâtiments utilisés dans les pêcheries d'alose de la Susquehanna, ainsi que de matériel de capture d'huîtres, de navires, de pungys, de canots, de dragues, de radeaux, etc.

Une partie très importante de cette exposition est consacrée à montrer les différents ennemis de l'huître qui s'attaquent à son existence - tous sauf l'homme, le plus grand ennemi de tous, qui traque calmement et se réjouit qu'il vienne en dernier.

La Maryland Academy of Sciences fournit des sélections libérales de son musée. La Maryland Historical Society a prêté de précieuses reliques antiques, et en particulier les portraits de dignitaires historiques de l'État depuis Calvert jusqu'à nos jours.

A gauche du hall principal se trouvent les salles de presse, destinées au siège des journaux pour les correspondants, etc., ainsi que les salons et les salles de repos et autres commodités, rendant cette maison agréable comme une halte pour les citoyens de l'Etat, et présentant à tous ceux qui peuvent déposer quelque chose à regarder d'intérêt et d'instruction.

Architecte, Geo. A. Fredrick. Constructeurs, S. H. & J. F. Adams. Travail du bois d'ornement par J. Thomas & Son; tout Baltimore. Le bâtiment a été érigé sous la supervision spéciale de John H. B. Latrobe, commissaire américain du centenaire.

©Centennial portfolio: a souvenir of the international exhibition at Philadelphia - 1876