Centennial Exposition Philadelphia 1876

Centenary of American Independence and the Declaration of Independence of July 4, 1776

May 10, 1876 - November 10, 1876


Back - List of Pavilions

Indiana

Indiana at the Exhibition Philadelphia 1876

Indiana at the Exhibition Philadelphia 1876

This pavilion is located on State Avenue, west of the Ohio Building.

It is somewhat peculiar in appearance and decoration, and by some has been compared to the upper and "Texas" decks of a Mississippi steamer.

It is constructed of wood and is in the form of an irregular cross, 55 feet long. From the ceiling level of the side rooms, a lattice roof rises 24 feet above the centre of the room, which is lit from the rotunda above.

There are three entrance porches - one in the centre and the others on the sides. Inside, on the walls, are 200 tablets, 92 of which are to be used by the counties of the state for their statistics. By this means is furnished in the most concise form a very complete and satisfactory summary of the State of Indiana in all the details which are of interest and importance to the political economist.

Each county shows the date of its establishment, the time of its organization as a county, the census figures of population, statements of principal products, particularization of industries, geological and natural features, as well as the population of the larger villages and a count of churches and schools.

The towns, by this assistance, exhibit their commercial statistics and manifest to all who observe the character of their most notable industries. The design should include on these tablets matters of knowledge and interest equal in value to the most elaborate article that could be printed in an encyclopedia. The remaining tablets are to be devoted to the businessmen of the state, for advertising and other purposes.

There are also committee rooms, a women's salon, a men's salon and other flats.

A beautiful fountain stands in the centre of the great hall. The materials used in this striking building are wood, brick, iron and glass. It was semi-officially stated at the time of the structure's installation that it was intended to illustrate "as much as possible of Indiana's homes and their productions". The materials are as the State produces them, but the most enthusiastic citizen will not be prepared to go so far as to assert that "Indiana houses" are generally as ornate as this very fine building.

Cost, $10,000.

©Centennial portfolio: a souvenir of the international exhibition at Philadelphia - 1876

Centennial Exposition Philadelphia 1876

Centenaire de l'indépendance américaine et de la Déclaration d'indépendance du 4 juillet 1776

10 Mai 1876 - 10 Novembre 1876


Retour - Liste Pavillons

Indiana

Indiana à l'exposition de Philadelphie 1876

Indiana à l'exposition de Philadelphie 1876

Ce pavillon se trouve sur State Avenue, à l'ouest de l'Ohio Building.

Il est un peu particulier en apparence et en décoration, et par certains a été comparé aux ponts supérieurs et «Texas» d'un bateau à vapeur du Mississippi.

Il est construit en bois et se présente sous la forme d'une croix irrégulière, de 55 pieds de long. Depuis le niveau des plafonds des pièces latérales, un toit en treillis s'élève de 24 pieds au-dessus du centre de la salle, qui est éclairé à partir de la rotonde au-dessus.

Il y a trois porches pour l'entrée - un au centre et les autres sur les côtés. À l'intérieur, sur les murs, se trouvent 200 tablettes, dont 92 doivent être utilisées par les comtés de l'État pour leurs statistiques. Par ce moyen est fourni sous la forme la plus concise un résumé très complet et satisfaisant de l'État de l'Indiana dans tous les détails qui présentent un intérêt et une importance pour l'économiste politique.

Chaque comté indique la date de son établissement, le moment de son organisation en tant que comté, les chiffres du recensement de la population, les déclarations des principaux produits, la particularisation de industries, caractéristiques géologiques et naturelles, ainsi que la population des plus grands villages et un dénombrement des églises et des écoles.

Les villes, par cette assistance, exposent leurs statistiques commerciales et manifestent à tous ceux qui observent le caractère de leurs industries les plus notables. Le dessin doit comprendre sur ces tablettes des questions de connaissance et d'intérêt d'une valeur égale à l'article le plus élaboré qui pourrait être imprimé dans une encyclopédie. Les tablettes restantes doivent être consacrées aux hommes d'affaires de l'État, à des fins publicitaires et autres.

Il y a également des salles de commission, un salon pour femmes, un salon pour hommes et d’autres appartements.

Une belle fontaine s'élève au centre de la grande salle. Les matériaux utilisés dans cette construction très voyante sont le bois, la brique, le fer et le verre. Il a été déclaré de manière semi-officielle lors de la mise en place de cette structure qu'elle visait à illustrer «autant que possible les maisons de l'Indiana et leurs productions». Les matériaux sont tels que l'État les produit, mais le citoyen le plus enthousiaste ne sera pas prêt à aller aussi loin pour affirmer que les "maisons de l'Indiana" sont généralement aussi ornées que ce très bel édifice.

Coût, 10 000 $.

©Centennial portfolio: a souvenir of the international exhibition at Philadelphia - 1876