Back - List of Pavilions

Spain - Expo Philadelphia 1876

Spain at the Exhibition Expo Philadelphia 1876
Spain at the Exhibition Expo Philadelphia 1876

Spain prepared for the use of her commissioners and servants an octagonal building somewhat in the style of the lanterns, with but little decoration, and no character to attract special attention.

The hasty visitor to the grounds might pass it by unpretentiously as much as many who are near; but nothing more than a little attention will be needed to the structure to discover that it is a very neat architectural example.

The Moorish door may be called plain, but it is strictly subordinate to the rules that govern in this fantastic style, lacking only in the elaboration of ornaments that appear in the Alhambra and other ancient remains that attest to Moorish rule in Spain.

The windows are Moorish. The decorations appropriate to the eaves of the first floor are made of zinc, according to the designs of Mueller, who also prepared the coat of arms that surmounts the door.

The upper lantern is illuminated on all sides and the finish is in harmony with the general style. The Spanish flag flies over everything. This structure is occupied by a detachment of Spanish engineer soldiers, consisting of a lieutenant, a sergeant, a corporal and twenty soldiers.

The interior fittings are those of a barracks and the pavilion is subject to strict military discipline. After the original structure was completed, an arcade was built next to the main building, in the Moorish style; it is small, but much more conspicuous in detail than the main headquarters. This building is used for a dining room, offices and shower rooms.

Later still, a large structure was erected next to it, for the use of the commission. It is a parallelogram, high, airy and well-lit. It will not be comparable in richness of style to the octagon or the arcade; but it is a sensible, substantial affair, and is in a position where a pleasant view of the grounds and coolness - the situation being most inviting to the breeze - are always objects to be attained.

The Commissioners have their official residence in this additional building, which is equipped with all the conveniences for the discharge of their duties in a manner satisfactory to the Spaniards as well as to the Americans who await them.

The octagon measures 50 feet in diameter and the largest structure 80x100 feet. The Spanish buildings are on Republic Avenue, adjoining the West Virginia buildings to the west.

©Centennial portfolio: a souvenir of the international exhibition at Philadelphia - 1876

Centennial Exposition Philadelphia 1876

Centenaire de l'indépendance américaine et de la Déclaration d'indépendance du 4 juillet 1776

10 Mai 1876 - 10 Novembre 1876


Retour - Liste Pavillons

Espagne

Espagne à l'exposition de Philadelphie 1876

Espagne à l'exposition de Philadelphie 1876

L'Espagne prépara à l'usage de ses commissaires et serviteurs un bâtiment octogonal quelque peu dans le style des lanternes, avec mais peu de décoration, et pas de caractère pour attirer une attention particulière.

Le visiteur hâtif du terrain pourrait le passer sans prétention autant que beaucoup qui sont proches; mais il ne faut rien de plus qu'une petite attention sera portée à la structure pour découvrir qu'il s'agit d'un exemple architectural très soigné.

La porte mauresque peut être appelée plaine, mais elle est strictement subordonnée aux règles qui régissent dans ce style fantastique, ne manquant que de l'élaboration d'ornements qui apparaissent dans l'Alhambra et d'autres vestiges antiques qui attestent de la domination maure en Espagne.

Les fenêtres sont mauresques. Les décorations appropriées à l'avant-toit du premier étage sont en zinc, d'après les dessins de Mueller, qui a également préparé les armoiries qui surmontent la porte.

La lanterne supérieure est éclairée de tous les côtés et la finition est en harmonie avec le style général. Le drapeau de l'Espagne flotte sur tout. Cette structure est occupée par un détachement de soldats ingénieurs espagnols, composé d'un lieutenant, d'un sergent, d'un caporal et de vingt soldats.

Les aménagements intérieurs sont ceux d'une caserne et le pavillon est soumis à une stricte discipline militaire. Une fois la structure d'origine terminée, une arcade a été construite près du bâtiment principal, dans le style mauresque; elle est petite, mais beaucoup plus voyante dans les détails que le quartier général principal. Cette construction est utilisée pour une salle à manger, des bureaux et des salles d'eau.

Plus tard encore, une grande structure a été érigée à côté, à l'usage de la commission. Il s'agit d'un parallélogramme, haut, aéré et bien éclairé. Il ne sera pas comparable en richesse de style à l'octogone ou à l'arcade; mais c'est une affaire sensible, substantielle, et est dans une position où une vue agréable du terrain et de la fraîcheur - la situation étant la plus invitante à la brise - sont toujours des objets à atteindre.

Les commissaires ont leur résidence officielle dans ce bâtiment supplémentaire, qui est équipé de toutes les commodités pour l'exercice de leurs fonctions d'une manière satisfaisante pour les Espagnols ainsi que pour les Américains qui les attendent.

L'octogone mesure 50 pieds de diamètre et la plus grande structure 80x100 pieds. Les bâtiments espagnols sont sur l'avenue de la République, jouxtant à l'ouest les bâtiments de Virginie-Occidentale.

©Centennial portfolio: a souvenir of the international exhibition at Philadelphia - 1876