Centennial Exposition Philadelphia 1876

Centenary of American Independence and the Declaration of Independence of July 4, 1776

May 10, 1876 - November 10, 1876


Back - List of Pavilions

Germany

Germany at the Exhibition Expo Philadelphia 1876

Germany at the Exhibition Expo Philadelphia 1876

While the great majority of the structures erected by foreign governments and States of the Union on the Centennial grounds are of wood, Germany decided to distinguish itself by a solid structure, analogous, as an architectural idea, to the clear and practical character of the people of the German nation.

This building is of brick, moulded and plastered, situated on Lansdowne Drive, near the east side of Belmont Avenue, 82 feet long by 42 wide, and is finished in the style of the Italian Renaissance, being chiefly conspicuous by reason of its spacious and beautiful portico.

The approach to this great feature of the building is by wide steps which lead, with balustrade, to the main entrance. The main passage leads to a hall, which is finished in stucco, the walls and ceilings frescoed.

The officers of the commission occupy the rooms on one side of the hall, and on the other side are reception rooms for ladies and gentlemen. The roof of the main building is quadrangular in shape, rising gently to a small central space, from which the flagpole rises. The main hall is 32 feet square; the ceiling is 34 feet above the floor. The imperial arms of the German Empire are frescoed in the centre. The black eagle is shown with outstretched wings, in which the feathers are separated with bizarre taste, and the tail is enhanced with the collar and cross of a noble order. The claws, red and strong, suggest a power of attack or defence. On the chest is the shield of the Hoftenzollern, charged with a double eagle grasping the globe and sceptre and bearing the white and black quarters of the imperial house. The four corners of the ceiling are decorated with emblematic motifs, interspersed with garlands and floral decorations, cupids and figures in a high style of elaborate painting.

A building adjoining the main structure is occupied by German exhibitors to show the quality of their wines.

©Centennial portfolio: a souvenir of the international exhibition at Philadelphia - 1876

Centennial Exposition Philadelphia 1876

Centenaire de l'indépendance américaine et de la Déclaration d'indépendance du 4 juillet 1776

10 Mai 1876 - 10 Novembre 1876


Retour - Liste Pavillons

Allemagne

Allemagne à l'exposition de Philadelphie 1876

Allemagne à l'exposition de Philadelphie 1876

Alors que la grande majorité des structures érigées par les gouvernements étrangers et les États de l'Union sur les terrains du centenaire sont en bois, l'Allemagne a décidé de se distinguer par une structure solide, analogue, en tant qu'idée architecturale, au caractère clair et pratique du peuple de la nation allemande.

Ce bâtiment est en brique, moulé et plâtré, situé sur la promenade Lansdowne, près du côté est de l'avenue Belmont, 82 pieds de longueur par 42 de largeur, et est fini dans le style de la Renaissance italienne, étant principalement visible en raison de son portique, spacieux et beau.

L'approche de cette grande caractéristique de l'édifice se fait par de larges marches qui mènent, avec balustrade, à l'entrée principale. Le passage principal mène à une salle, qui est finie en stuc, les murs et les plafonds ornés de fresques.

Les officiers de la commission occupent les salles d'un côté de la salle, et de l'autre côté sont des salles de réception pour dames et messieurs. Le toit du bâtiment principal est de forme quadrangulaire, s'élève doucement vers un petit espace central, d'où s'élève le mât de drapeau. Le hall principal mesure 32 pieds carrés; le plafond est à 34 pieds du sol. Les armes impériales de l'empire allemand sont décorées de fresques au centre. L'aigle noir est présenté avec des ailes déployées, dans lesquelles les plumes sont séparées avec un goût bizarre, et la queue est rehaussée avec le collier et la croix d'un ordre de noblesse. Les griffes, rouges et fortes, suggèrent une puissance d'attaque ou de défense. Sur la poitrine est le bouclier des Hoftenzollern, chargé d'un aigle en double saisissant le globe et le sceptre et portant les quartiers blancs et noirs de la maison impériale. Les quatre coins du plafond sont ornés de motifs emblématiques, entrecoupés de guirlandes et de décorations florales, de Cupids et de figures dans un style élevé de peinture élaborée.

Un bâtiment attenant à la structure principale est occupé par des exposants allemands afin de montrer la qualité de leurs vins.

©Centennial portfolio: a souvenir of the international exhibition at Philadelphia - 1876