Centennial Exposition Philadelphia 1876

Centenary of American Independence and the Declaration of Independence of July 4, 1776

May 10, 1876 - November 10, 1876


Back - List of Pavilions

Brazil

Brazil at the Exhibition Expo Philadelphia 1876

The Brazilian empire is distinguished by the tasteful arrangement of the details connected with the participation of the government of that country in the exhibition.

The Brazilian pavilion is situated on a slight wooded rise or mound of ground which rises near the head of the Lansdowne ravine and to the east of the German building. The situation is one of the most attractive on the ground, and the building is worthy of its position.

The ground plan is octagonal; but the porches and bay windows, the latter extending on all sides of the building except the front, break up the otherwise apparent mathematical exactitude. The style is light and graceful. The pavilion has an airy appearance that appeals to every viewer. The front porch is spacious enough to provide shade and good ventilation for the interior, and the roof makes a very attractive balcony and walkway.

The exterior shows pleasing colour combinations, in which brown, yellow and red are harmoniously contrasted, the ornamentation of the scroll work being very elaborate.

The interior is about 70 feet in diameter. A large hall runs through the building from the door. On either side of the hall are two rooms, one opening to the front and the other to the rear. Stairs lead from the far end of the corridor to the turret above and the balcony.

The turret is divided into four rooms, each containing three windows and communicating with the balcony, thus providing light, access to a beautiful walkway and a view of the park in fine weather. The turret is topped by a finial of classical proportions. The walls of the interior rooms are covered with gold paper veined with flowers and vines.

The furniture is simple but tasteful.

Immediately around the building, the grounds are carefully landscaped and planted with Brazilian plants.

©Centennial portfolio: a souvenir of the international exhibition at Philadelphia - 1876

Centennial Exposition Philadelphia 1876

Centenaire de l'indépendance américaine et de la Déclaration d'indépendance du 4 juillet 1776

10 Mai 1876 - 10 Novembre 1876


Retour - Liste Pavillons

Brésil

Brésil à l'exposition de Philadelphie 1876

L'empire du Brésil se distingue par le goût qui se manifeste dans l'organisation des détails liés à la participation du gouvernement de ce pays à l'exposition.

Le pavillon du Brésil est situé sur une légère élévation boisée ou un monticule de terrain qui s'élève près de la tête du ravin Lansdowne et à l'est du bâtiment allemand. La situation est l'une des plus attrayantes du terrain, et l'édifice est digne de sa position.

Le plan au sol est de forme octogonale; mais les porches et les baies vitrées, ces dernières s'étendant de tous les côtés du bâtiment à l'exception de la façade, brisent l'exactitude mathématique qui autrement serait apparente. Le style est léger et gracieux. Le pavillon a une apparence aérée qui plaît à chaque spectateur. Le porche à l'avant est suffisamment spacieux pour assurer l'ombre et une bonne ventilation de l'intérieur, et le toit fait un balcon et une promenade très attrayants.

L'extérieur montre des combinaisons de couleurs agréables, dans lesquelles le brun, le jaune et le rouge sont harmonieusement contrastés, l'ornementation du travail de défilement étant très élaborée.

L'intérieur est d'environ 70 pieds de diamètre. Un grand hall traverse le bâtiment depuis la porte. De chaque côté du couloir se trouvent deux pièces, l'une s'ouvrant vers l'avant et l'autre vers l'arrière. Des escaliers mènent de l'extrémité la plus éloignée du couloir à la tourelle au-dessus et au balcon.

La tourelle est divisée en quatre pièces, chacune contenant trois fenêtres et communiquant avec le balcon, assurant ainsi la lumière, l'accès à une belle promenade et une vue sur le parc par beau temps. La tourelle est surmontée d'un fleuron de proportions classiques. Les murs des pièces intérieures sont recouverts de papier doré veiné de fleurs et de vignes.

Le mobilier est simple, mais de bon goût.

Immédiatement autour du bâtiment, l'enceinte est soigneusement aménagée et plantée de plantes brésiliennes.

©Centennial portfolio: a souvenir of the international exhibition at Philadelphia - 1876