Centennial Exposition Philadelphia 1876

Centenary of American Independence and the Declaration of Independence of July 4, 1776

May 10, 1876 - November 10, 1876


Back - List of Pavilions

Jury Pavilion

Jury Pavilion at the Exhibition Philadelphia 1876

Architect(s) : H. J. Schwarzmann

Jury Pavilion at the Exhibition Philadelphia 1876

Architect(s) : H. J. Schwarzmann

Jury Pavilion at the Exhibition Philadelphia 1876

Plan of the pavilion
Architect(s) : H. J. Schwarzmann

Jury Pavilion at the Exhibition Philadelphia 1876

Architect(s) : H. J. Schwarzmann

Jury Pavilion at the Exhibition Philadelphia 1876

Architect(s) : H. J. Schwarzmann

According to the plan agreed upon by the Centennial Commission, the magnificent collection of articles presented at the Exhibition will be subjected to the examination of 200 judges, half of whom are foreigners and half citizens of the United States. They are selected for their known qualifications and character, and are experts in the departments to which they are respectively assigned. The US judges are appointed by the Centennial Commission; the foreign judges by the Commission of each country. These judges review the papers and base their awards on merit. In view of the important question, what is merit? It is originality, invention, discovery, usefulness, quality, skill, workmanship, fitness for purpose, adaptation to public desire, economy and cost. All of these issues are taken into consideration by the judges in drafting their final reports, which are prepared and upon which awards are to be made by the Centennial Commission. The Commission does not offer staggered awards. The Exhibition medal will be bronze, uniform in all cases; but the value of the medal to the exhibitor will depend on the written report of the judges, which will fully emphasise the merit of the exhibit.

The large number of judges engaged in this work, and the necessity of having some accommodation for consultation and comparison, have necessitated the construction of a building for their occupation and use.

The judges' room is situated on the east side of Belmont Avenue, north of the west end of the main exhibition building.

It is beautiful in appearance on the outside and finely decorated on the inside. It is 152 feet long and 115 feet wide.

The towers at the four corners of the building are each 50 feet high and are highly decorated. The woodwork inside is beautiful. The interior is set up for the use of the judges and for meetings of committees and larger numbers of people. In the centre is a meeting room, 60x80 feet.

At the rear is a small flat, 60x26 feet, to be used for large committee meetings.

These rooms can be grouped together by removing the partitions. There are 14 small committee rooms and on the second floor a comfortable lounge. There is a lot of taste in the construction of this room, which is painted on the outside with neutral colours, judiciously contrasted.

Architect, H. J. Schwarzmann.

Cost, $30,000.

©Centennial portfolio: a souvenir of the international exhibition at Philadelphia - 1876

Centennial Exposition Philadelphia 1876

Centenaire de l'indépendance américaine et de la Déclaration d'indépendance du 4 juillet 1776

10 Mai 1876 - 10 Novembre 1876


Retour - Liste Pavillons

Pavillon du Jury

Pavillon du Jury à l'exposition de Philadelphie 1876

Architecte(s) : H. J. Schwarzmann

Pavillon du Jury à l'exposition de Philadelphie 1876

Architecte(s) : H. J. Schwarzmann

Pavillon du Jury à l'exposition de Philadelphie 1876

Plan du pavillon
Architecte(s) : H. J. Schwarzmann

Pavillon du Jury à l'exposition de Philadelphie 1876

Architecte(s) : H. J. Schwarzmann

Pavillon du Jury à l'exposition de Philadelphie 1876

Architecte(s) : H. J. Schwarzmann

Selon le plan convenu par la Commission du Centenaire, la magnifique collection d'articles présentés à l'Exposition sera soumise à l'examen de 200 juges, dont la moitié d'étrangers et la moitié de citoyens des États-Unis. Ils sont sélectionnés pour leur qualification et leur caractère connus, et sont experts dans les services auxquels ils sont respectivement affectés. Les juges des États-Unis sont nommés par la Commission du centenaire; les juges étrangers, par la Commission de chaque pays. Ces juges examinent les articles et fondent leurs prix sur le mérite. Compte tenu de la question importante, qu'est-ce que le mérite? il s'agit d'originalité, d'invention, de découverte, d'utilité, de qualité, de compétence, de fabrication, d'adéquation aux finalités prévues, d'adaptation aux désirs du public, d'économie et de coût. Toutes ces questions sont prises en considération par les juges lors de la rédaction de leurs rapports finaux, qui sont rédigés et sur lesquels les sentences doivent être rendues par la Commission du centenaire. La Commission n'offre pas de primes échelonnées. La médaille de l'Exposition sera de bronze, uniforme dans tous les cas; mais la valeur de la médaille pour l'exposant dépendra du rapport écrit des juges, qui soulignera pleinement le mérite de l'objet exposé.

Le grand nombre de juges engagés dans ce travail et la nécessité de disposer de certains logements pour consultation et comparaison ont nécessité la construction d'un bâtiment pour leur occupation et leur utilisation.

La salle des juges est située du côté est de l'avenue Belmont, au nord de l'extrémité ouest du bâtiment principal des expositions.

Il est beau en apparence extérieure et finement décoré à l'intérieur. Il mesure 152 pieds de long sur 115 pieds de large.

Les tours aux quatre coins du bâtiment mesurent chacune 50 pieds de haut et sont très décorées. Les boiseries à l'intérieur sont belles. L'intérieur est aménagé pour l'usage des juges et pour les réunions des commissions et un plus grand nombre de personnes. Au centre se trouve une salle de réunions, 60x80 pieds.

À l'arrière se trouve un petit appartement de 60 x 26 pieds, destiné à être utilisé pour de grandes réunions de comité.

Ces pièces peuvent être regroupées en démontant les cloisons. Il y a 14 petites salles de commission et au deuxième étage un confortable salon. Il y a beaucoup de goût dans la construction de cette salle, qui est peinte sur l'extérieur avec des couleurs neutres, judicieusement contrastées.

Architecte, H. J. Schwarzmann.

Coût, 30 000 $.

©Centennial portfolio: a souvenir of the international exhibition at Philadelphia - 1876