Centennial Exposition Philadelphia 1876

Centenary of American Independence and the Declaration of Independence of July 4, 1776

May 10, 1876 - November 10, 1876


Back - List of Pavilions

Women's Pavilion

Women's Pavilion at the Exhibition Philadelphia 1876

Architect(s) : H. J. Schwarzmann

Women's Pavilion at the Exhibition Philadelphia 1876

Architect(s) : H. J. Schwarzmann

Women's Pavilion at the Exhibition Philadelphia 1876

Plan of the pavilion
Architect(s) : H. J. Schwarzmann

Women's Pavilion at the Exhibition Philadelphia 1876

Architect(s) : H. J. Schwarzmann

Women's Pavilion at the Exhibition Philadelphia 1876

Architect(s) : H. J. Schwarzmann

Women's Pavilion at the Exhibition Philadelphia 1876

Interior of the pavilion
Architect(s) : H. J. Schwarzmann

The Women's Centenary Committee has done a noble job in helping the great exhibition.

A very large sum of money was raised through the efforts of this committee and invested in the actions of the Finance Council. After several months of work in this direction, the interested ladies wanted special means to exhibit women's work in a way that would showcase industry, taste, manufacturing and artistic skills. For obvious reasons, this could not be done in the general exhibition buildings in order to separate the work of women from that of men. It was therefore decided by the Women's Centenary Committee to raise a special fund for a building which should in no way interfere with the contributions to the main exhibition object. Liberal responses were given to this proposal, and a quite sufficient amount for this purpose was obtained without much difficulty.

The Women's Pavilion is situated on the east side of Belmont Avenue, opposite the United States Government Building. It consists of two intersecting aisles, each 64 x 192 feet. At the end of each of these aisles is an 8 x 32 foot porch. The corners formed by the two aisles are filled by four pavilions, each 48 feet square.

The centre of the building is raised 25 feet higher than the rest of the building, and is surmounted by an observatory with a dome on top, 90 feet above the ground. The material is wood.

The interior is very attractive. Four columns supporting the dome are the only loads that can obstruct the view. The roof is mainly supported by trusses resting on the outer walls. The walls are painted in a light colour, carefully panelled with blue on the ceilings. The panels on the side walls are decorated with allegorical groups of faith, hope, charity, art, work, education and the family, after drawings by Camille Pitou.

The pavilion covers an area of 30,000 square feet.

The architect of this fine building was H. J. Schwarzmann; builders, Jacob G. Peters and John D. Burger, of Lancaster, Pa.

Cost, $40,000.

©Centennial portfolio: a souvenir of the international exhibition at Philadelphia - 1876

Centennial Exposition Philadelphia 1876

Centenaire de l'indépendance américaine et de la Déclaration d'indépendance du 4 juillet 1776

10 Mai 1876 - 10 Novembre 1876


Retour - Liste Pavillons

Pavillon des Femmes

Pavillon des Femmes à l'exposition de Philadelphie 1876

Architecte(s) : H. J. Schwarzmann

Pavillon des Femmes à l'exposition de Philadelphie 1876

Architecte(s) : H. J. Schwarzmann

Pavillon des Femmes à l'exposition de Philadelphie 1876

Plan du pavillon
Architecte(s) : H. J. Schwarzmann

Pavillon des Femmes à l'exposition de Philadelphie 1876

Architecte(s) : H. J. Schwarzmann

Pavillon des Femmes à l'exposition de Philadelphie 1876

Architecte(s) : H. J. Schwarzmann

Pavillon des Femmes à l'exposition de Philadelphie 1876

Intérieur du pavillon
Architecte(s) : H. J. Schwarzmann

Le Comité du centenaire des femmes a accompli un travail noble en aidant la grande exposition.

Une somme très importante a été collectée grâce aux efforts de ce comité et investie dans les actions du Conseil des finances. Après plusieurs mois de travail dans cette direction, les dames intéressées voulaient des moyens spéciaux pour exposer le travail des femmes de manière à mettre en valeur l'industrie, le goût, la fabrication et les compétences artistiques. Pour des raisons évidentes, cet objet n'a pu être réalisé dans les bâtiments de l'exposition générale afin de séparer le travail des femmes de celui des hommes. Il a donc été décidé par le Comité du centenaire des femmes de réunir un fonds spécial pour un bâtiment qui ne devrait en aucune manière interférer avec les contributions consacrées au grand objet de l’exposition. Des réponses libérales ont été apportées à cette proposition, et un montant tout à fait suffisant à cette fin a été obtenu sans trop de difficultés.

Le Pavillon des femmes est situé du côté est de l'avenue Belmont, en face de l'édifice du gouvernement des États-Unis. Il est formé de deux nefs, chacune de 64 x 192 pieds, qui se croisent. À la fin de chacune de ces nefs se trouve un porche de 8 x 32 pieds. Les coins formés par les deux nefs sont remplis par 4 pavillons de 48 pieds carrés chacun.

Le centre de l'édifice est surélevé de 25 pieds plus haut que le reste du bâtiment, et est surmonté d'un observatoire avec une coupole sur le dessus, à 90 pieds au-dessus du sol. Le matériau est en bois.

L'intérieur est très attrayant. Quatre colonnes qui soutiennent le dôme sont les seules charges pouvant obstruer la vue. Le toit est principalement soutenu par des fermes reposant sur les murs extérieurs. Les murs sont peints de couleur claire, soigneusement lambrissés de bleu sur les plafonds. Les panneaux sur les parois latérales sont décorés de groupes allégoriques de foi, d'espoir, de charité, d'art, de travail, d'instruction et de la famille, d'après les dessins de Camille Pitou.

La superficie couverte par le pavillon est de 30 000 pieds carrés.

L'architecte de ce bel immeuble était H. J. Schwarzmann; constructeurs, Jacob G. Peters et John D. Burger, de Lancaster, Pa.

Coût, 40 000 $.

©Centennial portfolio: a souvenir of the international exhibition at Philadelphia - 1876