Centennial Exposition Philadelphia 1876

Centenary of American Independence and the Declaration of Independence of July 4, 1776

May 10, 1876 - November 10, 1876


Back - List of Pavilions

United States Government Pavilion

United States Government Pavilion at the Exhibition Philadelphia 1876

Architect(s) : James H. Windrim

United States Government Pavilion at the Exhibition Philadelphia 1876

Architect(s) : James H. Windrim

United States Government Pavilion at the Exhibition Philadelphia 1876

Map of the palace
Architect(s) : James H. Windrim

United States Government Pavilion at the Exhibition Philadelphia 1876

Architect(s) : James H. Windrim

United States Government Pavilion at the Exhibition Philadelphia 1876

Architect(s) : James H. Windrim

United States Government Pavilion at the Exhibition Philadelphia 1876

Architect(s) : James H. Windrim

Under the authority of an act of Congress passed in 1873, provision was made for the display of articles and utensils intended for exhibition by the executive departments of the Federal Government. The intention was originally to occupy portions of the Exposition buildings for this purpose, but upon examination it became apparent that it would be much better if the display could be made in a building entirely under the control of the board of directors representing the executive departments, which was authorized under the act.

The Departments of War, Navy, Interior, and Post Office, together with the Bureau of Agriculture and the Smithsonian Institute, were to be represented in the exhibition, which, according to the law, was to be "articles" and materials, when displayed in a collective exhibition, illustrate the administrative functions and faculties of the government in time of peace and its resources as a war power, and thus serve to demonstrate the nature of our institutions and their adaptation to the needs of the people.
"By act of Congress, approved March 3, 1875, an appropriation of $505,000 was made available to the Council for the organization of this exhibition, of which $150,000 could be expended for the erection of a special building for the accommodation of the government.

This structure stands at the intersection of Belmont and Fountain avenues, and is in the form of a cross, the short arms being those of the north, east, and south, while the long part extends to the west.

The greatest length of this building is 400 feet, the nave being long and 100 feet wide. The cross transept placed nearest the eastern end of the building is 100 feet wide and 300 feet deep.

There are aisles and sections of 40x60 feet, 40x200 feet and 20x20 feet on each side. Where the nave and transept meet, a dome rises above the rest of the building to a height of 60 feet, topped by a lantern.

The area occupied by this structure is 83,640 square feet.

The building is made of wood, with pilasters on the outside, and is carefully painted in neutral colours and decorated on the inside.

Immediately to the north of this hall is a small hospital on the U.S. Army plan, modest in appearance, yet significant.

The architect was James H. Windrim; builders, Aaron Doan & Co.

Cost of the main government building, $62,000.

The style is simple and pleasing to the eye, and from a distance the proportions and outline create a very favorable impression.

©Centennial portfolio: a souvenir of the international exhibition at Philadelphia - 1876

Centennial Exposition Philadelphia 1876

Centenaire de l'indépendance américaine et de la Déclaration d'indépendance du 4 juillet 1776

10 Mai 1876 - 10 Novembre 1876


Retour - Liste Pavillons

Pavillon du Gouvernement des États-Unis

Pavillon du Gouvernement des États-Unis à l'exposition de Philadelphie 1876

Architecte(s) : James H. Windrim

Pavillon du Gouvernement des États-Unis à l'exposition de Philadelphie 1876

Architecte(s) : James H. Windrim

Pavillon du Gouvernement des États-Unis à l'exposition de Philadelphie 1876

Plan du palais
Architecte(s) : James H. Windrim

Pavillon du Gouvernement des États-Unis à l'exposition de Philadelphie 1876

Architecte(s) : James H. Windrim

Pavillon du Gouvernement des États-Unis à l'exposition de Philadelphie 1876

Architecte(s) : James H. Windrim

Pavillon du Gouvernement des États-Unis à l'exposition de Philadelphie 1876

Architecte(s) : James H. Windrim

Sous l'autorité d'un acte du Congrès adopté en 1873, des dispositions ont été prises pour que soient exposés des articles et des ustensiles destinés à être exposés par les services exécutifs du gouvernement fédéral. L'intention était à l'origine d'occuper des parties des bâtiments de l'exposition à cette fin, mais après examen, il est devenu évident qu'il serait beaucoup mieux que l'affichage puisse être fait dans un bâtiment entièrement sous le contrôle du conseil d'administration représentant les départements exécutifs, ce qui était autorisé en vertu de la loi.

Les Départements de la Guerre, de la Marine, de l'Intérieur et des Postes, avec le Bureau de l'Agriculture et le Smithsonian Institute, devaient être représentés dans l'exposition, qui, selon la loi, devait être "des articles" et des matériaux , lorsqu'ils sont présentés dans une exposition collective, illustrent les fonctions et les facultés administratives du gouvernement en temps de paix et ses ressources en tant que puissance de guerre, et servent ainsi à démontrer la nature de nos institutions et leur adaptation aux besoins du peuple.
" Par un acte du Congrès, approuvé le 3 mars 1875, un crédit de 505 000 $ a été mis à la disposition du Conseil pour l'organisation de cette exposition, dont 150 000 $ pourraient être dépensés pour l’édification d'un bâtiment spécial pour l'hébergement du gouvernement.

Cette structure se trouve à l'intersection des avenues Belmont et Fountain, et a la forme d'une croix, les bras courts étant ceux du nord, de l'est et du sud, tandis que la partie longue s'étend vers l'ouest.

La plus grande longueur de ce bâtiment est de 400 pieds, la nef étant longue et 100 pieds de large. Le transept en croix placé le plus près de l'extrémité est du bâtiment mesure 100 pieds de largeur et 300 pieds de profondeur.

Il y a des allées et des sections de 40x60 pieds, 40x200 pieds et 20x20 pieds de chaque côté. Là où la nef et le transept s'unissent, une coupole s'élève au-dessus du reste du bâtiment à une hauteur de 60 pieds, surmontée d'une lanterne.

La superficie occupée par cette structure est de 83 640 pieds carrés.

Le bâtiment est en bois, avec des pilastres à l'extérieur, et est soigneusement peint dans des couleurs neutres et décoré à l'intérieur.

Immédiatement au nord de cette salle se trouve un petit hôpital sur le plan de l'armée américaine, d'apparence modeste, mais pourtant d'importance.

L'architecte était James H. Windrim; constructeurs, Aaron Doan & Co.

Coût du bâtiment principal du gouvernement, 62 000 $.

Le style est simple et agréable à l'œil, et de loin les proportions et le contour créent une impression très favorable.

©Centennial portfolio: a souvenir of the international exhibition at Philadelphia - 1876