Back - List of Pavilions

Horticulture - Expo Philadelphia 1876

Horticulture at the Exhibition Expo Philadelphia 1876
Architect(s) : H. J. Schwarzmann
Horticulture at the Exhibition Expo Philadelphia 1876
Architect(s) : H. J. Schwarzmann
Horticulture at the Exhibition Expo Philadelphia 1876
Map of the palace
Architect(s) : H. J. Schwarzmann
Horticulture at the Exhibition Expo Philadelphia 1876
Architect(s) : H. J. Schwarzmann
Horticulture at the Exhibition Expo Philadelphia 1876
Architect(s) : H. J. Schwarzmann
Horticulture at the Exhibition Expo Philadelphia 1876
Architect(s) : H. J. Schwarzmann
Horticulture at the Exhibition Expo Philadelphia 1876
The palace and gardens
Architect(s) : H. J. Schwarzmann

The Horticultural Palace is one of the most attractive structures on the Centenary grounds. It is so peculiar in appearance and so different from the usual order of buildings in this country that it deserves special attention and admiration.

The style is Moorish, and the character of Moorish architecture of the twelfth century, one of the finest examples of which is to be found in the remains of the Alhambra Palace in Spain. The characteristics of this architecture are light, fanciful and flowery. Bright colours and strong contrasts are allowed. The result was the construction of a building that resembles a palace of oriental romance, attractive and graceful.

This pavilion is at the beginning of Fountain Avenue, on the north side of the Lansdowne Valley and north-east of the Fine Arts Palace. It is built of iron, brick and glass. It is vaulted in the basement floors and is substantial and fireproof. It is 383 feet long, 193 feet wide and 72 feet high to the top of the lantern, covering 1.05 acres.

The east and west entrances are approached by flights of marble steps rising from the terraces and leading to an open kiosk 20 feet in diameter. The basements are occupied by kitchens, shops, heating installations, etc. The interior of the conservatory is adorned with fountains and plant display areas. On the sides of this flat, Moorish arcades of white, black and red bricks support a gallery 5 feet wide.

This arcade is a highly visible ornament from the interior and attracts universal attention. The upper part of the veranda is decorated with blue and gold, bright and showy. Four chandeliers in the Moorish style of elaborate construction are to illuminate the interior; they consist of 60 lights, and there are side lights in the room. Outside the space, in the building devoted to the main conservatory, are the forcing houses for the propagation of young plants; these are four in number, each 100x30 feet, and covered with iron and glass roofs. Vestibules or entrances separate these forcings; they are used for office purposes, as are the vestibules to the east and west, which run the length of the building.

Above the bays, external galleries 10 feet wide and 100 feet long connect to the large promenade formed by the roofs of the ground floor rooms.

Staircases at the corners of the building lead to the exterior as well as to the interior gallery. Connected to the Horticultural Pavilion are 35 acres of land, which extend westward along the Belmont Road to the Catholic Fountain, and which are gay with flowers from all parts of the world.

This building stands on Lansdowne Terrace, near the Schuylkill River, and affords a fine view in all directions.

It was built at the expense of the City of Philadelphia and presented to the Centennial Commission as part of the exhibition.

It will remain permanently as an ornament to the park and for future use.

The architect was H. J. Schwarzmann; builder, John Rice.

Cost, $251937.

©Centennial portfolio: a souvenir of the international exhibition at Philadelphia - 1876

Centennial Exposition Philadelphia 1876

Centenaire de l'indépendance américaine et de la Déclaration d'indépendance du 4 juillet 1776

10 Mai 1876 - 10 Novembre 1876


Retour - Liste Pavillons

Horticulture

Horticulture à l'exposition de Philadelphie 1876

Architecte(s) : H. J. Schwarzmann

Horticulture à l'exposition de Philadelphie 1876

Architecte(s) : H. J. Schwarzmann

Horticulture à l'exposition de Philadelphie 1876

Plan du palais
Architecte(s) : H. J. Schwarzmann

Horticulture à l'exposition de Philadelphie 1876

Architecte(s) : H. J. Schwarzmann

Horticulture à l'exposition de Philadelphie 1876

Architecte(s) : H. J. Schwarzmann

Horticulture à l'exposition de Philadelphie 1876

Architecte(s) : H. J. Schwarzmann

Horticulture à l'exposition de Philadelphie 1876

Le palais et les jardins
Architecte(s) : H. J. Schwarzmann

Le palais de l'horticulture est l'une des structures les plus attrayantes sur le terrain du centenaire. Il est si particulier en apparence et si différent de l'ordre habituel des bâtiments dans ce pays qu'il mérite une attention et une admiration particulières.

Le style est mauresque, et le caractère de l'architecture mauresque du XIIe siècle, dont l'un des plus beaux exemples se trouve dans les vestiges du palais de l'Alhambra en Espagne. Les caractéristiques de cette architecture sont légères, fantaisistes et fleuries. Des couleurs vives et de forts contrastes sont permis. Le résultat a été la construction d'un bâtiment qui ressemble à un palais de la romance orientale, attrayant et gracieux.

Ce pavillon est au début de l'avenue Fountain, du côté nord de la vallée de Lansdowne et au nord-est de palais des Beaux-Arts. Il est construit en fer, brique et verre. Il est voûté dans les étages du sous-sol et est substantiel et résistant au feu. Il mesure 383 pieds de longueur, 193 pieds de largeur et hauteur jusqu'au sommet de la lanterne de 72 pieds, couvrant 1,05 acres.

Les entrées est et ouest sont approchées par des volées de marches en marbre s'élevant des terrasses et menant à un kiosque ouvert de 20 pieds de diamètre. Les sous-sols sont occupés par des cuisines, des magasins, des installations de chauffage, etc. L'intérieur du conservatoire est orné de fontaines et de lieux d'exposition de plantes. Sur les côtés de cet appartement, des arcades mauresques de briques blanches, noires et rouges soutiennent une galerie de 5 pieds de largeur.

Cette arcade est un ornement très visible de l'intérieur et attire l'attention universelle. La partie supérieure de la véranda est ornée de bleu et d'or, brillante et voyante. Quatre lustres dans le style mauresque de construction élaborée doivent éclairer l'intérieur; ils sont composés de 60 lumières, et il y a des lumières latérales dans la pièce. A l'extérieur de l'espace, dans le bâtiment consacré au conservatoire principal, se trouvent les forçages pour la propagation des jeunes plantes; ils sont au nombre de 4, chacun de 100x30 pieds, et recouverts de toits de fer et de verre. Des vestibules ou entrées séparent ces forçages; ils sont utilisés à des fins de bureaux, tout comme les vestibules à l'est et à l'ouest, qui s'étendent sur toute la longueur du bâtiment.

Au-dessus des forçages, des galeries extérieures de 10 pieds de largeur et 100 de longueur sont reliées à la grande promenade formée par les toits des pièces du rez-de-chaussée.

Des escaliers aux coins du bâtiment mènent à l'extérieur ainsi qu'à la galerie intérieure. Relié à pavillon de l'horticulture, il y a 35 acres de terrain, qui s'étendent vers l'ouest sur la route de Belmont jusqu'à la fontaine catholique, et qui sont gays avec des fleurs de toutes les parties du monde.

Cet édifice se dresse sur la terrasse Lansdowne, près de la rivière Schuylkill, et offre une belle vue dans toutes les directions.

Il a été construit aux frais de la ville de Philadelphie et présenté à la Commission du centenaire dans le cadre de l'exposition.

Il restera en permanence comme ornement du parc et pour une utilisation future.

L'architecte était H. J. Schwarzmann; constructeur, John Rice.

Coût, 251937 $.

©Centennial portfolio: a souvenir of the international exhibition at Philadelphia - 1876