Centennial Exposition Philadelphia 1876

Centenary of American Independence and the Declaration of Independence of July 4, 1776

May 10, 1876 - November 10, 1876


Back - List of Pavilions

Shoes and Leather

Shoes and Leather at the Exhibition Expo Philadelphia 1876

Architect(s) : Alexander B. Bary

Shoes and Leather at the Exhibition Expo Philadelphia 1876

Architect(s) : Alexander B. Bary

Many special industries which might have been accommodated by an exhibition of their products in the main exhibition building, or of the apparatus used in the preparation of goods in the engine room, could not, in the opinion of those interested in such activities, be so accommodated also. illustrated in buildings intended for general exhibition as they would be in special enclosures which could serve all the purposes of large workshops, showing all the processes of manufacture, from the incipient handling of the raw material to the finished work.

The shoe and boot manufacturers were convinced that a special building for their own accommodation would be preferable, and with this idea in mind they united and raised funds to erect the structure known as the Shoe and Leather Building. It is of a general character and is similar to the engine house, which it adjoins on the south, and of which it is considered an annex.

The structure is 314 feet long and 160 feet wide, and though not ornamented with architecture, is pleasant in style. The interior contains leathers of all kinds: sole leather tanned with oak bark and hemlock, cultured union leather tanned with both substances, and also for the upper leathers kip, calf, fine morocco, curaçoa, kid, lamb and sheep.

The process of making leather after tanning, including bevelling, splitting, stripping, edging and browning, is illustrated.

The art of making shoes and boots is shown, including all varieties, from the coarse brogan and plough to the most delicate woman's gaiter or slipper. The manufacture of leather goods, from wallets to Saratoga trunks, is illustrated, as is saddlery from horse and pigskin.

A large steam engine in the centre provides the power to run the machine. The manufacture of shoes and boots by these means is so sharply contrasted with the methods of the old shoemaker, who hammered his lapstone and tightened his wax spikes, that all who visit this building are extremely pleased.

The room is well lit. The main aisle Î9 15 feet wide, two parallel aisles of 10 feet each, running east to west; they are crossed by other aisles, making 8 main exhibition spaces. Stairs lead to the second floor, which is divided into rooms at each end, and into galleries on the north and south, 8 feet wide by 112 feet long.

The roof construction is divided on the cross sections into an 80-foot circular truss and 16- and 24-foot sections, triangular in shape.

The architect was Alexander B. Bary of Philadelphia; builders, J. H. Coffrode & Co.

Cost, $31,000.

©Centennial portfolio: a souvenir of the international exhibition at Philadelphia - 1876

Centennial Exposition Philadelphia 1876

Centenaire de l'indépendance américaine et de la Déclaration d'indépendance du 4 juillet 1776

10 Mai 1876 - 10 Novembre 1876


Retour - Liste Pavillons

Chaussure et Cuir

Chaussure et Cuir à l'exposition de Philadelphie 1876

Architecte(s) : Alexander B. Bary

Chaussure et Cuir à l'exposition de Philadelphie 1876

Architecte(s) : Alexander B. Bary

Plusieurs industries spéciales qui auraient pu être accueillies par une exposition de leurs produits dans le bâtiment principal des expositions, ou des appareils utilisés pour la préparation des marchandises dans la salle des machines, ne pouvaient pas, de l'avis des personnes intéressées par de telles activités, l'être également. illustrés dans des bâtiments destinés à une exposition générale comme ils le seraient dans des enceintes spéciales qui pourraient répondre à tous les objectifs des grands ateliers, montrant tous les processus de fabrication, de la manipulation naissante de la matière première au travail fini.

Les fabricants de chaussures et de bottes étaient convaincus qu'un bâtiment spécial pour leur propre logement serait préférable, et dans cette idée, ils se sont unis et ont levé des moyens pour ériger la structure connue sous le nom de Shoe and Leather Building. De caractère général, il s'assimile à la salle des machines, qu'il jouxte au sud, et dont il est considéré comme une annexe.

La structure mesure 314 pieds de long et 160 pieds de large, et bien qu'elle ne soit pas ornée d'architecture, elle est de style agréable. L'intérieur contient des cuirs de toutes sortes: cuir de semelle tanné avec de l'écorce de chêne et de la ciguë, cuir de culture union tanné avec les deux substances, et aussi pour les cuirs supérieurs kip, veau, maroquin fin, curaçoa, chevreau, agneau et mouton.

Le processus de fabrication du cuir après tannage, y compris le biseautage, le fendage, le dénudage, le bordage et le brunissage, est illustré.

L'art de fabriquer des chaussures et des bottes est affiché, y compris toutes les variétés, du brogan grossier et de la charrue jusqu'à la guêtre ou la pantoufle la plus délicate de la femme. La fabrication d'articles en cuir, du portefeuille au coffre Saratoga, est illustrée, de même que la sellerie à partir de peau de cheval et de porc.

Une grosse machine à vapeur au centre fournit la puissance nécessaire pour faire fonctionner la machine. La fabrication de chaussures et de bottes par ces moyens est si fortement contrastée avec les méthodes de l'ancien cordonnier, qui a martelé sa lapstone et a serré ses pointes de cire, que tous ceux qui visitent ce bâtiment sont extrêmement satisfaits.

La salle est bien éclairée. L'allée principale Î9 de 15 pieds de largeur, deux allées parallèles de 10 pieds chacune, s'étendant d'est en ouest; ils sont traversés par d'autres allées, ce qui fait 8 principaux espaces d'exposition. Les escaliers mènent au deuxième étage, qui est divisé en pièces à chaque extrémité, et en galeries au nord et au sud, 8 pieds de large par 112 pieds de long.

La construction du toit est divisée sur les sections transversales en une ferme circulaire de 80 pieds et des sections de 16 et 24 pieds, de forme triangulaire.

L'architecte était Alexander B. Bary de Philadelphie; constructeurs, J. H. Coffrode & Co.

Coût, 31 000 $.

©Centennial portfolio: a souvenir of the international exhibition at Philadelphia - 1876