Fine Arts - Expo Philadelphia 1876

Fine Arts at the Exhibition Expo Philadelphia 1876
Architect(s) : H. J. Schwarzmann
Fine Arts at the Exhibition Expo Philadelphia 1876
Architect(s) : H. J. Schwarzmann
Fine Arts at the Exhibition Expo Philadelphia 1876
Architect(s) : H. J. Schwarzmann
Fine Arts at the Exhibition Expo Philadelphia 1876
Architect(s) : H. J. Schwarzmann
Fine Arts at the Exhibition Expo Philadelphia 1876
Plan of the pavilion
Architect(s) : H. J. Schwarzmann
Fine Arts at the Exhibition Expo Philadelphia 1876
Architect(s) : H. J. Schwarzmann
Fine Arts at the Exhibition Expo Philadelphia 1876
Spanish Section, Fine Arts Annex
Architect(s) : H. J. Schwarzmann
Fine Arts at the Exhibition Expo Philadelphia 1876
Entrance to the Beaux-Arts, opening day of the exhibition
Architect(s) : H. J. Schwarzmann
Fine Arts at the Exhibition Expo Philadelphia 1876
Vestibule of the rotunda
Architect(s) : H. J. Schwarzmann
Fine Arts at the Exhibition Expo Philadelphia 1876
West entrance to the pavilion
Architect(s) : H. J. Schwarzmann

This building, the most ornate and striking of the Centennial Park buildings, was built by the State of Pennsylvania and is intended to remain a permanent park building.

It is located north of the main building in a prominent position overlooking the Schuylkill River. The floor is elevated and is 122 feet above the level of the river. The materials are granite, brick, glass and iron, no wood is used in the construction.

The building is 365 feet long, 210 feet wide and 59 feet high. The dome above the rotunda rises 150 feet above the ground and is topped by a colossal bell, on which stands an iconic Columbia figure cast in zinc.

The main façade, facing south, has a large entrance with arcades on each side and square pavilions at the corners.

The centre consists of three large arched doorways, each 40 feet high by 15 feet wide, resting on a platform 70 feet wide, which is ascended by 13 steps. Between the doorway arches are groups of columns terminating in emblematic designs illustrating science and art. Giant seated figures of science and art crown the cornice of the main entrance. The arcades to the east and west of the main entrance are each 90 feet long and 40 feet high. They connect the main central building to the pavilions at the corners and consist of 5 arches, and open onto gardens, each 90 by 36 feet, decorated in the centre with fountains and statues.

The pavilions measure 45 feet square. There are two at the north end of the building, connected to those on the south by saloon galleries. The pavilions are each illuminated by two large windows, each 12.5 feet wide and 34 feet high, decorated with paintings, stained glass, etc., depicting Pegasus led by the king of the island. The pavilions are each illuminated by two large windows, 12.5 feet wide and 34 feet high each, decorated with paintings, stained glass, etc., representing Pegasus led by the Muses, which were brought from Vienna and presented some years ago to the Fairmount Park Commission by R. H. Gratz.

The outer walls on the east and west sides show the pavilions and picture walls, raised by niches, above which is a very ornate frieze. The north façade has the same character as the south, except that instead of arcades there are small windows opening into small rooms or galleries. There are 13 of them.

The dome is of glass and iron, and at the corners are figures representing the four corners of the globe.

All the exterior statues are cast in zinc from designs by Mueller, a German artist.

The main entrance on the south side opens into a room 60 feet wide, 82 feet long and 53 feet high. Large doors open from this room into the central hall, which is 83 feet square and 80 feet to the dome ceiling. To the east and west of the rotunda are galleries 98 feet long, 88 feet wide and 35 feet high. The central hall and galleries form a large hall, 287 feet long and 85 feet wide, with a capacity of 8,000 people, almost double the size of the largest hall in the country.

To the east and west of the long galleries are two more, each 89 feet long and 28 feet wide, which are connected to flats that open onto the pavilions.

On the north side there are 13 smaller rooms, which open onto a 14 foot wide corridor, and can be used for studios or exhibition rooms. The interior rooms are lit from above; the pavilions from the sides; the north rooms from the front. The interior doors are of iron and bronze, richly ornamented. All the flats are decorated with rich bas-relief ornaments. The floors are covered with marble tiles and the whole building, in appearance and interior finish, is rich and tasteful. The pavilions are devoted to statues; the galleries mainly to paintings.

The total area covered by the building is about 1.5 acres. The total wall space is 87,990 square feet. The architect was H. J. Schwarzmann; builder, R. J. Dobbins. Cost, $1,500,000, paid by the State of Pennsylvania.

©Centennial portfolio: a souvenir of the international exhibition at Philadelphia - 1876

Centennial Exposition Philadelphia 1876

Centenaire de l'indépendance américaine et de la Déclaration d'indépendance du 4 juillet 1776

10 Mai 1876 - 10 Novembre 1876


Retour - Liste Pavillons

Beaux-Arts

Beaux-Arts à l'exposition de Philadelphie 1876

Architecte(s) : H. J. Schwarzmann

Beaux-Arts à l'exposition de Philadelphie 1876

Architecte(s) : H. J. Schwarzmann

Beaux-Arts à l'exposition de Philadelphie 1876

Architecte(s) : H. J. Schwarzmann

Beaux-Arts à l'exposition de Philadelphie 1876

Architecte(s) : H. J. Schwarzmann

Beaux-Arts à l'exposition de Philadelphie 1876

Plan du pavillon
Architecte(s) : H. J. Schwarzmann

Beaux-Arts à l'exposition de Philadelphie 1876

Architecte(s) : H. J. Schwarzmann

Beaux-Arts à l'exposition de Philadelphie 1876

Section espagnole, annexe des Beaux-Arts
Architecte(s) : H. J. Schwarzmann

Beaux-Arts à l'exposition de Philadelphie 1876

Entrée des Beaux-Arts, jour de l'ouverture de l'exposition
Architecte(s) : H. J. Schwarzmann

Beaux-Arts à l'exposition de Philadelphie 1876

Vestibule de la rotonde
Architecte(s) : H. J. Schwarzmann

Beaux-Arts à l'exposition de Philadelphie 1876

Entrée ouest du pavillon
Architecte(s) : H. J. Schwarzmann

Ce bâtiment, le plus orné et le plus frappant des édifices du parc Centennial, a été construit par l'État de Pennsylvanie et est destiné à rester un bâtiment permanent du parc.

Il se trouve au nord du bâtiment principal, dans une position dominante surplombant la rivière Schuylkill. Le sol est surélevé et se situe à 122 pieds au-dessus du niveau de la rivière. Les matériaux sont le granit, la brique, le verre et le fer, aucun bois n'est utilisé dans la construction.

Le bâtiment mesure 365 pieds de long, 210 pieds de large et 59 pieds de hauteur. Le dôme au-dessus de la rotonde s'élève à 150 pieds au-dessus du sol et est coiffé d'une cloche colossale, sur laquelle se dresse une figure emblématique de Columbia, coulée en zinc.

La façade principale, orientée au sud, présente une grande entrée, avec des arcades de chaque côté et des pavillons carrés aux angles.

Le centre se compose de trois grandes portes cintrées, chacune de 40 pieds de haut par 15 pieds de large, reposant sur une plate-forme de 70 pieds de large, dont l'ascension se fait par 13 marches. Entre les arcades de la porte se trouvent des groupes de colonnes se terminant par des dessins emblématiques illustrant la science et l'art. De gigantesques personnages assis de science et d'art couronnent la corniche de l'entrée principale. Les arcades à l'est et à l'ouest de l'entrée principale mesurent chacune 90 pieds de long et 40 pieds de haut. Elles relient le bâtiment central principal aux pavillons aux coins et se composent de 5 arches, et s'ouvrent sur des jardins, chacun de 90 par 36 pieds, ornés au centre de fontaines et de statues.

Les pavillons mesurent 45 pieds carrés. Il y en a deux à l'extrémité nord du bâtiment, reliés à ceux du sud par des galeries de salon. Les pavillons sont chacun éclairés par deux grandes fenêtres de 12,5 pieds de largeur et 34 pieds de hauteur chacune, ornées de peintures, de vitraux, etc. , représentant Pegasus dirigé par les Muses, qui ont été amenés de Vienne et présentés il y a quelques années à la Commission Fairmount Park par R. H. Gratz.

Les murs extérieurs sur les côtés est et ouest présentent les pavillons et les murs pour les images, relevés par des niches, au-dessus desquelles se trouve une frise très ornée. La façade nord a le même caractère que le sud, sauf qu'au lieu des arcades, il y a de petites fenêtres ouvrant sur de petites pièces ou galeries. Il y en a 13.

Le dôme est en verre et en fer, et aux coins se trouvent des figures représentant les quatre coins du globe.

Toutes les statues extérieures sont coulées en zinc d'après les dessins de Mueller, un artiste allemand.

L'entrée principale, au sud, s'ouvre sur une salle de 60 pieds de large, 82 pieds de long et 53 pieds de haut. De grandes portes s'ouvrent de cette salle dans la salle centrale, qui mesure 83 pieds carrés et 80 pieds jusqu'au plafond du dôme. À l'est et à l'ouest de la rotonde se trouvent des galeries de 98 pieds de long, 88 pieds de large et 35 pieds de haut. La salle centrale et les galeries forment une grande salle, longue de 287 pieds et large de 85 pieds, pouvant accueillir 8 000 personnes, soit près du double des dimensions de la plus grande salle du pays.

À l'est et à l'ouest des longues galeries, il y en a deux autres, chacune de 89 pieds de long et 28 pieds de large, qui sont reliées à des appartements qui s'ouvrent sur les pavillons.

Du côté nord, il y a 13 salles plus petites, qui s'ouvrent sur un couloir de 14 pieds de large, et peuvent être utilisées pour des studios ou des salles d'exposition. Les salles intérieures sont éclairées par le haut; les pavillons des côtés; les chambres nord de l'avant. Les portes intérieures sont en fer et en bronze, richement ornées. Tous les appartements sont ornés d'ornements en riche bas-relief. Les sols sont recouverts de carreaux de marbre et l'ensemble du bâtiment, d'aspect extérieur et de finition intérieure, est riche et de bon goût. Les pavillons sont consacrés aux statues ; les galeries principalement aux peintures.

La superficie totale couverte par le bâtiment est d'environ 1,5 acres. L'espace mural total est de 87 990 pieds carrés. L'architecte était H. J. Schwarzmann; constructeur, R. J. Dobbins. Coût, 1 500 000 $, payé par l'État de Pennsylvanie.

©Centennial portfolio: a souvenir of the international exhibition at Philadelphia - 1876