Back - List of Pavilions

Expo 2020 Water feature

Expo 2020 Water feature at the Exhibition Expo 2020 Dubai
© Suneesh Sudhakaran/Expo 2020 Dubai
Water falling at the Water Feature
Architect(s) : WET Design, SWA Group
Expo 2020 Water feature at the Exhibition Expo 2020 Dubai
© Mahmoud Khaled/Expo 2020 Dubai
Water falling at the Water Feature
Architect(s) : WET Design, SWA Group
Expo 2020 Water feature at the Exhibition Expo 2020 Dubai
© Mahmoud Khaled/Expo 2020 Dubai
Water falling at the Water Feature
Architect(s) : WET Design, SWA Group
Expo 2020 Water feature at the Exhibition Expo 2020 Dubai
© Expo 2020 Dubai
Aerial view of the Water Feature and Al Wasl Plaza
Architect(s) : WET Design, SWA Group

Water, earth and fire combine to make the Expo 2020 Water Feature one of Expo 2020’s must-see attractions
 
Experience giant sheets of water tumbling down 13-metre-high vertical walls that by day cascade into a mysterious, multi-hued circle of fire, and by night defy gravity by flowing upwards — accompanied by an orchestral score from the award-winning composer of the Game of Thrones theme music.
 
Situated between Al Wasl Plaza and Jubilee Park, the Expo 2020 Water Feature combines the elements of water, earth and fire in a way that will both surprise and delight the senses.
 
Visitors coming from Al Wasl Plaza enter a verdant 40-metre-wide garden of towering palms and fragrant plants rising above a series of curving paths that encircle the central water feature like ripples in a pond. Large planted walls rise up around the feature, with three openings to a central area that takes visitors below ground level.
 
The 153 individual waves range from glistening sheets to bursts of water that literally leap from the walls as they make their dramatic descent to the plaza below. People are invited to walk to the base of the falls to see how the water disappears through the stone. At night the waves reverse themselves – producing a gravity-defying spectacle as they flow up the walls.
 
At the feature’s centre is a mysterious circle of fire that produces enormous bursts of flames in spectral hues of red, green and yellow. In keeping with Expo 2020’s theme of sustainability, these huge flames are of pure hydrogen and therefore produce no carbon.
 
Each surge of water is released on a musical cue, creating an orchestral masterpiece performed by the London Symphony Orchestra. The original score was written by the award-winning composer Ramin Djawadi, whose work includes the theme music for the HBO series Game of Thrones, which earned him Grammy Award nominations in 2009, 2018 and 2020.
 
The Expo 2020 Water Feature and its surrounding landscaping and architectural elements are arranged in a way that connects people through dynamic movement inside the park, while also allowing interaction between adjacent spaces.
 
The Expo 2020 Water Feature was created by California-based WET Design, which uses supercomputers and other cutting-edge technology to build some of the world’s most iconic fountains and water features, including the famous dancing fountain at Dubai’s Burj Khalifa. WET’s choreographers and Ramin Djawadi worked together to marry music with the visual water experience of the water feature. The surrounding landscaping and architectural features were designed by SWA Group.

Exposition universelle 2020 de Dubaï

Connecter les Esprits, Construire le Futur

1 octobre 2021 - 31 mars 2022


Retour - Liste Pavillons

Expo 2020 : Jeu d'eau

Expo 2020 : Jeu d'eau à l'exposition de Expo 2020 Dubaï

© Suneesh Sudhakaran/Expo 2020 Dubai

Chute d'eau au jeu d'eau
Architecte(s) : WET Design, SWA Group

Expo 2020 : Jeu d'eau à l'exposition de Expo 2020 Dubaï

© Mahmoud Khaled/Expo 2020 Dubai

Chute d'eau au jeu d'eau
Architecte(s) : WET Design, SWA Group

Expo 2020 : Jeu d'eau à l'exposition de Expo 2020 Dubaï

© Mahmoud Khaled/Expo 2020 Dubai

Chute d'eau à la Fête de l'eau
Architecte(s) : WET Design, SWA Group

Expo 2020 : Jeu d'eau à l'exposition de Expo 2020 Dubaï

© Expo 2020 Dubai

Vue aérienne du jeu d'eau et de l'Al Wasl Plaza
Architecte(s) : WET Design, SWA Group

L'eau, la terre et le feu se combinent pour faire du jeu d'eau de l'Expo 2020 (Expo 2020 Water Feature) l'une des attractions incontournables de l'Expo 2020.
 
Découvrez des nappes d'eau géantes dévalant des parois verticales de 13 mètres de haut qui, le jour, se transforment en un mystérieux cercle de feu multicolore et, la nuit, défient la gravité en s'écoulant vers le haut, accompagnées d'une musique orchestrale du compositeur primé de la musique du thème de Game of Thrones.
 
Situé entre Al Wasl Plaza et le parc du Jubilé, le jeu d'eau de l'Expo 2020 combine les éléments de l'eau, de la terre et du feu d'une manière qui surprendra et ravira les sens.
 
En venant de l'Al Wasl Plaza, les visiteurs pénètrent dans un jardin verdoyant de 40 mètres de large, composé de palmiers imposants et de plantes odorantes qui s'élèvent au-dessus d'une série de chemins sinueux qui encerclent la pièce d'eau centrale, comme les rides d'un étang. De grands murs plantés s'élèvent autour de la fontaine, avec trois ouvertures vers une zone centrale qui emmène les visiteurs sous le niveau du sol.
 
Les 153 vagues individuelles vont des feuilles scintillantes aux éclats d'eau qui sautent littéralement des murs lors de leur descente spectaculaire vers la place en contrebas. Les visiteurs sont invités à se rendre à la base des chutes pour voir comment l'eau disparaît dans la pierre. La nuit, les vagues s'inversent et produisent un spectacle qui défie la gravité en remontant les murs.
 
Au centre de l'installation se trouve un mystérieux cercle de feu qui produit d'énormes explosions de flammes dans des teintes spectrales de rouge, vert et jaune. En accord avec le thème de la durabilité de l'Expo 2020, ces énormes flammes sont composées d'hydrogène pur et ne produisent donc pas de carbone.
 
Chaque jet d'eau est libéré sur un signal musical, créant un chef-d'œuvre orchestral interprété par l'Orchestre symphonique de Londres. La partition originale a été écrite par le compositeur primé Ramin Djawadi, qui a notamment composé la musique du thème de la série Game of Thrones sur HBO, ce qui lui a valu des nominations aux Grammy Awards en 2009, 2018 et 2020.
 
Le jeu d’eau Expo 2020 et les éléments paysagers et architecturaux qui l'entourent sont disposés de manière à relier les gens par un mouvement dynamique à l'intérieur du parc, tout en permettant l'interaction entre les espaces adjacents.
 
Le jeu d'eau Expo 2020 a été créé par la société californienne WET Design, qui utilise des superordinateurs et d'autres technologies de pointe pour construire certaines des fontaines et des jeux d'eau les plus emblématiques au monde, dont la célèbre fontaine dansante de la Burj Khalifa de Dubaï. Les chorégraphes de WET et Ramin Djawadi ont travaillé ensemble pour marier la musique à l'expérience visuelle de la fontaine. L'aménagement paysager et les éléments architecturaux environnants ont été conçus par SWA Group.