World Expo 2020 Dubai

Connecting Minds, Building the Future

October 1, 2021 - March 31, 2022


Back - List of Pavilions

Germany

Germany at the Exhibition Expo 2020 Dubai

© facts and fiction | NUSSLI Adunic | LAVA

The German Pavilion CAMPUS GERMANY at night: Façade
Architect(s) : LAVA (Laboratory for Visionary Architecture)

Germany at the Exhibition Expo 2020 Dubai

© facts and fiction | NUSSLI Adunic | LAVA

The German Pavilion CAMPUS GERMANY: Side view.
Architect(s) : LAVA (Laboratory for Visionary Architecture)

Germany at the Exhibition Expo 2020 Dubai

© facts and fiction | NUSSLI Adunic | LAVA

The German Pavilion CAMPUS GERMANY: Side view.
Architect(s) : LAVA (Laboratory for Visionary Architecture)

Germany at the Exhibition Expo 2020 Dubai

© facts and fiction | NUSSLI Adunic | LAVA

The German Pavilion CAMPUS GERMANY: Front
Architect(s) : LAVA (Laboratory for Visionary Architecture)

Germany at the Exhibition Expo 2020 Dubai

© facts and fiction | NUSSLI Adunic | LAVA

The German Pavilion CAMPUS GERMANY: Exhibition, “Biodiversity Lab”
Architect(s) : LAVA (Laboratory for Visionary Architecture)

Germany at the Exhibition Expo 2020 Dubai

© facts and fiction | NUSSLI Adunic | LAVA

The German Pavilion CAMPUS GERMANY: Exhibition, ”Energy Lab”
Architect(s) : LAVA (Laboratory for Visionary Architecture)

Germany at the Exhibition Expo 2020 Dubai

© facts and fiction | NUSSLI Adunic | LAVA

The German Pavilion CAMPUS GERMANY: Exhibition, ”Future City Lab”
Architect(s) : LAVA (Laboratory for Visionary Architecture)

Germany at the Exhibition Expo 2020 Dubai

© facts and fiction | NUSSLI Adunic | LAVA

The German Pavilion CAMPUS GERMANY: Exhibition, ”Germany by numbers”
Architect(s) : LAVA (Laboratory for Visionary Architecture)

Germany at the Exhibition Expo 2020 Dubai

© facts and fiction | NUSSLI Adunic | LAVA

The German Pavilion CAMPUS GERMANY: Atrium
Architect(s) : LAVA (Laboratory for Visionary Architecture)

Germany at the Exhibition Expo 2020 Dubai

© facts and fiction | NUSSLI Adunic | LAVA

The German Pavilion CAMPUS GERMANY: Stage
Architect(s) : LAVA (Laboratory for Visionary Architecture)

Germany at the Exhibition Expo 2020 Dubai

© facts and fiction | NUSSLI Adunic | LAVA

The German Pavilion CAMPUS GERMANY: Restaurant
Architect(s) : LAVA (Laboratory for Visionary Architecture)

Germany at the Exhibition Expo 2020 Dubai

© facts and fiction | NUSSLI Adunic | LAVA

The German Pavilion: Exploded diagram
Architect(s) : LAVA (Laboratory for Visionary Architecture)

The German pavilion, named Campus Germany, is designed as a university campus, and is therefore a forward-looking place of knowledge, learning and human interaction. It focuses on one of the sub-themes of the exhibition: Sustainability.
The aim of the pavilion is to have fun, and to be entertained while raising awareness of global issues.
The German energy revolution "Energiewende" has become a worldwide reference. This impulse is continued by Campus Germany.
The architecture designed by LAVA (Laboratory for Visionary Architecture) for the German pavilion also reflects the underlying idea of the Campus. Rather than a building in the traditional sense, it is a vertical collection of building volumes, surrounded by a connecting element, much like a park surrounds a campus, but vertically.
This profusion of structures represents Germany's federal system and the diversity of its industrial and research sectors. The stacked cubes create an alternation between open and closed spaces, a concept reminiscent of the Habitat 67 architectural project in Montreal.
The atrium is the real heart of the pavilion: a green and open space, offering many surprising perspectives and panoramic views. A place where many things happen at the same time in the exhibition, on the stage and in the restaurant.

Exhibition
The German pavilion makes the wait more pleasant by giving an interesting insight into the federal structure of Germany and its 16 federal states. There is a showcase for each of them, with fun facts and features about them.
As with all campuses, registration is required. So visitors enter their first name, country of origin and preferred language of communication (German, Arabic or English) at a terminal. Each visitor then receives a name badge, which plays an important role in their journey through CAMPUS Germany.
An "introductory event" in the reception hall explains the theoretical concept behind the German pavilion: "Welcome to the Anthropocene, the era of human impact! Our aim in Dubai is to show that instead of having a destructive impact on our planet, humanity has the capacity - through its intelligence and creativity - to put global development back on a positive track if, as the Expo theme suggests, people join forces. "
Then you enter the Welcome Hall, a huge pit containing 150,000 balls telling a story. Each one presents a statistic or highlights a champion in the field of sustainability in Germany. Visitors simply choose a ball and place it on one of the scanners to see a short presentation.
CAMPUS Germany also takes visitors on a journey through an energy lab, a future city lab and a biodiversity lab. Everyone follows this 'programme', which gives them the opportunity to gradually deepen their knowledge. Once they have become 'experts' in these three areas, visitors will be considerably closer to the goal of sustainable living.
The various exhibition spaces have been designed to create an impressive and immersive experience. In the darkened energy laboratory, 'energy cables' (light beams) illuminate desks presenting energy supply solutions for the future. In the City of the Future Laboratory, visitors become part of a complex urban landscape that completely surrounds them. In the Biodiversity Laboratory, they discover the beauty and vulnerability of nature under a suspended installation with magnificent proportions. Each laboratory creates an immersive experience that remains etched in the minds of visitors, but also on thousands of smartphones and, probably, on social media.
At the end of the visit, everyone has completed their CAMPUS Germany study programme. It's time to celebrate their success! At the grand finale in the graduation hall at the end of the Campus tour, the visitors will have realised that there is more that unites them than divides them. They all sit on one of the swing seats, where their task is to swing the seats in unison - with the help of one of our hosts or hostesses. The message is that even the smallest of movements (minimal action so to speak) can achieve great things if we act together.

Restaurant
The staff of the catering company Angerer & Obermayr Messegastronomie is there to welcome visitors.
The menu of the German restaurant offers typical dishes from all over Germany. Main courses include "Sauerbraten" beef with "Spätzle" pasta and red cabbage with apples, "Königsberger Klöpse" meatballs with caper sauce and rice, and vegetarian dishes such as "Maultasche" vegetarian ravioli with julienne vegetables and potato salad. The dessert selection includes "Bayrisch Creme" (Bavarian cream) with berry sauce and fresh fruit, "Rote Grütze" (red berry compote with custard sauce) and warm apple crumble with sultanas, honey and nuts. Snack options include a beef sausage "Currywurst" with potato wedges.
A German restaurant would not be a German restaurant without German beer and wine. So alcohol is served in the German restaurant at Expo 2020 in Dubai.
The restaurant, which seats 250 guests, is spread over three levels. In addition to the indoor rooms on the ground and first floors, there is an outdoor area with benches and tables in a modern version of the German "beer garden". The second floor also houses three private dining rooms, each with seating for 15 people.
From all three levels, guests have a direct view of the atrium and stage, but also of what is happening outside on the Expo site.
The three-storey restaurant complex is open and inviting and can be accessed from outside, from the atrium or after the grand finale, allowing visitors to recharge their batteries before actively returning to the Expo route to continue their journey around the world...

Exposition universelle 2020 de Dubaï

Connecter les Esprits, Construire le Futur

1 octobre 2021 - 31 mars 2022


Retour - Liste Pavillons

Allemagne

Allemagne à l'exposition de Expo 2020 Dubaï

© facts and fiction | NUSSLI Adunic | LAVA

Le pavillon Allemand, CAMPUS GERMANY, la nuit : Façade
Architecte(s) : LAVA (Laboratory for Visionary Architecture)

Allemagne à l'exposition de Expo 2020 Dubaï

© facts and fiction | NUSSLI Adunic | LAVA

Le pavillon Allemand, CAMPUS GERMANY: vue de côté
Architecte(s) : LAVA (Laboratory for Visionary Architecture)

Allemagne à l'exposition de Expo 2020 Dubaï

© facts and fiction | NUSSLI Adunic | LAVA

Le pavillon Alemand, CAMPUS GERMANY: vue de côté.
Architecte(s) : LAVA (Laboratory for Visionary Architecture)

Allemagne à l'exposition de Expo 2020 Dubaï

© facts and fiction | NUSSLI Adunic | LAVA

Le pavillon Allemand, CAMPUS GERMANY: vue de face
Architecte(s) : LAVA (Laboratory for Visionary Architecture)

Allemagne à l'exposition de Expo 2020 Dubaï

© facts and fiction | NUSSLI Adunic | LAVA

Le pavillon Allemand, CAMPUS GERMANY: Exposition, “Laboratoire de Biodiversité”
Architecte(s) : LAVA (Laboratory for Visionary Architecture)

Allemagne à l'exposition de Expo 2020 Dubaï

© facts and fiction | NUSSLI Adunic | LAVA

Le pavillon Allemand, CAMPUS GERMANY: Exposition, ”Laboratoire Energie”
Architecte(s) : LAVA (Laboratory for Visionary Architecture)

Allemagne à l'exposition de Expo 2020 Dubaï

© facts and fiction | NUSSLI Adunic | LAVA

Le pavillon Allemand, CAMPUS GERMANY: Exposition, ”Laboratoire Ville du Futur”
Architecte(s) : LAVA (Laboratory for Visionary Architecture)

Allemagne à l'exposition de Expo 2020 Dubaï

© facts and fiction | NUSSLI Adunic | LAVA

Le pavillon Allemand, CAMPUS GERMANY: Exposition, ”L'Allemagne par les nombres”
Architecte(s) : LAVA (Laboratory for Visionary Architecture)

Allemagne à l'exposition de Expo 2020 Dubaï

© facts and fiction | NUSSLI Adunic | LAVA

Le pavillon Allemand, CAMPUS GERMANY: Atrium
Architecte(s) : LAVA (Laboratory for Visionary Architecture)

Allemagne à l'exposition de Expo 2020 Dubaï

© facts and fiction | NUSSLI Adunic | LAVA

Le pavillon Allemand, CAMPUS GERMANY: Scène
Architecte(s) : LAVA (Laboratory for Visionary Architecture)

Allemagne à l'exposition de Expo 2020 Dubaï

© facts and fiction | NUSSLI Adunic | LAVA

Le pavillon Allemand, CAMPUS GERMANY: Restaurant
Architecte(s) : LAVA (Laboratory for Visionary Architecture)

Allemagne à l'exposition de Expo 2020 Dubaï

© facts and fiction | NUSSLI Adunic | LAVA

Le pavillon Allemand: Schéma éclaté
Architecte(s) : LAVA (Laboratory for Visionary Architecture)

Le pavillon Allemand, nommé Campus Germany, est conçu comme un campus universitaire, et est donc un lieu de connaissance, d'apprentissage et d'interaction humaine tourné vers l'avenir. Il se concentre sur l'un des sous-thèmes de l'exposition : la Durabilité.
Le but de ce pavillon est de s'amuser, et de se divertir tout en sensibilisant les visiteurs aux problèmes mondiaux.
La révolution énergétique allemande « Energiewende » est devenue une référence mondiale. Cette impulsion est prolongée par Campus Germany.
L'architecture conçue par LAVA (Laboratory for Visionary Architecture) pour le pavillon allemand reflète également l'idée sous-jacente du Campus. Plutôt qu'un bâtiment au sens traditionnel du terme, il s'agit d'un ensemble vertical de volumes de bâtiments, entouré d'un élément de liaison, un peu comme un parc entoure un campus, mais à la verticale.
Cette profusion de structures représente le système fédéral de l'Allemagne et la diversité de ses secteurs industriels et de recherche. Les cubes empilés les uns sur les autres créent une alternance entre espaces ouverts et fermés, un concept qui rappelle le projet architectural de l’Habitat 67 à Montréal.
L'atrium est le véritable cœur du pavillon : un espace vert et ouvert, offrant de nombreuses perspectives surprenantes et vues panoramiques. Un lieu où beaucoup de choses se passent en même temps dans l'exposition, sur la scène et dans le restaurant.

Exposition
Le pavillon allemand rend l'attente plus agréable en donnant un aperçu intéressant de la structure fédérale de l'Allemagne et de ses 16 États fédérés. Il y a une vitrine pour chacun d'eux, avec des faits et des caractéristiques amusants les concernant.
Comme pour tout Campus, l'inscription est obligatoire. Ainsi les visiteurs saisissent leur prénom, leur pays d'origine et la langue de communication qu’ils préfèrent utiliser (allemand, arabe ou anglais) sur une borne. Ils reçoivent tous ensuite un badge nominatif qui joue un rôle important dans leur parcours au sein du CAMPUS Allemagne.
Un « événement d'initiation » dans le hall d'accueil explique le concept théorique qui constitue la base du pavillon allemand : « Bienvenue dans l'Anthropocène, l'ère de l'impact humain ! Notre objectif à Dubaï est de montrer qu'au lieu d'avoir un impact destructeur sur notre planète, l'humanité a la capacité - grâce à son intelligence et à sa créativité - de remettre le développement mondial sur une voie positive si, comme le suggère le thème de l'Expo, les gens unissent leurs forces. »
Puis, on entre dans le « Welcome Hall » (hall d’accueil), une immense fosse contenant 150000 balles racontant une histoire. Chacune d’elles présente une statistique ou met en lumière un champion dans le domaine de la durabilité en Allemagne. Les visiteurs n'ont qu'à choisir une balle et la placer sur l'un des scanners pour voir une courte présentation.
CAMPUS Allemagne emmène également les visiteurs dans un voyage à travers un laboratoire de l'énergie, un laboratoire de la ville du futur et un laboratoire de la biodiversité. Chacun suit ce « programme », ce qui lui donne l'occasion d'approfondir progressivement ses connaissances. Une fois devenus des « experts » dans ces trois domaines, les visiteurs se seront considérablement rapprochés de l'objectif d'un mode de vie durable.
Les différents espaces d'exposition ont été conçus pour créer un ensemble impressionnant et une expérience immersive. Dans le laboratoire de l'énergie, plongé dans l'obscurité, des « câbles d'énergie » (faisceaux lumineux) éclairent des pupitres présentant des solutions d'approvisionnement en énergie pour l'avenir. Dans le laboratoire de la ville du futur, les visiteurs font partie intégrante d'un paysage urbain complexe qui les entoure complètement. Dans le laboratoire de la biodiversité, ils découvrent la beauté et la vulnérabilité de la nature sous une installation suspendue avec de magnifiques proportions. Chaque laboratoire crée une expérience immersive qui reste gravée dans l'esprit des visiteurs, mais aussi sur des milliers de smartphones, puis, probablement, sur des médias sociaux.
À la fin de la visite, tout le monde a terminé son programme d'études CAMPUS Allemagne. Il est donc temps de fêter sa réussite ! Lors de la grande finale dans la salle des diplômes, à la fin du voyage sur le Campus, les visiteurs auront pu réaliser qu'il y a plus de choses qui les unissent que de choses qui les divisent. Ils s'assoient tous sur l'un des sièges oscillants, où leur tâche sera de faire osciller les sièges à l'unisson - avec l'aide d'un de nos hôtes ou hôtesses. Le message est que même le plus petit des mouvements (action minimale pour ainsi dire) peut réaliser de grandes choses si nous agissons ensemble.

Restaurant
Le personnel de la société de restauration Angerer & Obermayr Messegastronomie est là pour accueillir les visiteurs.
Le menu du restaurant allemand propose des plats typiques de toute l'Allemagne. Les plats principaux comprennent du bœuf "Sauerbraten" avec des pâtes "Spätzle" et du chou rouge aux pommes, des boulettes de viande "Königsberger Klöpse" avec une sauce aux câpres et du riz, et des plats végétariens tels que des raviolis végétariens "Maultasche" avec des juliennes de légumes et une salade de pommes de terre. La sélection de desserts comprend la "Bayrisch Creme" (crème bavaroise) avec une sauce aux baies et des fruits frais, la "Rote Grütze" (compote de baies rouges avec une sauce à la crème pâtissière) et le crumble chaud aux pommes avec des raisins secs, du miel et des noix. Les options de collation comprennent une saucisse de bœuf "Currywurst" avec des quartiers de pommes de terre.
Un restaurant allemand ne serait pas un restaurant allemand sans bière et vin d’Allemagne. Ainsi, de l’alcool est servi dans le restaurant allemand à l’Expo 2020 de Dubaï.
Ce restaurant, qui accueille 250 convives, s'étend sur trois niveaux. En plus des salles intérieures du rez-de-chaussée et du premier étage, il y a un espace extérieur avec des bancs et des tables dans une version moderne du "Biergarten" allemand. Le deuxième étage abrite également trois salles à manger privées, chacune pouvant accueillir 15 personnes.
Depuis les trois niveaux, les invités ont une vue directe sur l'atrium et la scène, mais aussi sur ce qui se passe à l'extérieur, sur le site de l'Expo.
De style ouvert et accueillant, le complexe de restaurants de trois étages est accessible depuis l'extérieur, depuis l'atrium ou après la grande finale, permettant aux visiteurs de faire le plein d'énergie avant de retourner activement sur le parcours de l'Expo pour continuer leur voyage autour du monde...