World Expo 2020 Dubai

Connecting Minds, Building the Future

October 1, 2021 - March 31, 2022


Back - List of Pavilions

Terra - The Sustainability Pavilion

Terra - The Sustainability Pavilion at the Exhibition Expo 2020 Dubai

© Expo 2020 Dubai. All rights reserved

Sustainability Pavilion: Night view
Architect(s) : Grimshaw Architects

Terra - The Sustainability Pavilion at the Exhibition Expo 2020 Dubai

© Expo 2020 Dubai. All rights reserved

Sustainability Pavilion: Aerial view by night
Architect(s) : Grimshaw Architects

Terra - The Sustainability Pavilion at the Exhibition Expo 2020 Dubai

© Expo 2020 Dubai. All rights reserved

Sustainability Pavilion: Aerial view by night
Architect(s) : Grimshaw Architects

Terra - The Sustainability Pavilion at the Exhibition Expo 2020 Dubai

© Expo 2020 Dubai. All rights reserved

Sustainability Pavilion : Canopy
Architect(s) : Grimshaw Architects

Terra - The Sustainability Pavilion at the Exhibition Expo 2020 Dubai

© Expo 2020 Dubai. All rights reserved

Sustainability Pavilion: E-Trees
Architect(s) : Grimshaw Architects

Terra - The Sustainability Pavilion at the Exhibition Expo 2020 Dubai

© Expo 2020 Dubai. All rights reserved

Sustainability Pavilion : Consumption Ocean
Architect(s) : Grimshaw Architects

Terra - The Sustainability Pavilion at the Exhibition Expo 2020 Dubai

© Expo 2020 Dubai. All rights reserved

Sustainability Pavilion: Gnasher
Architect(s) : Grimshaw Architects

Terra - The Sustainability Pavilion at the Exhibition Expo 2020 Dubai

© Expo 2020 Dubai. All rights reserved

Sustainability Pavilion: Laboratory for future values
Architect(s) : Grimshaw Architects

Terra - The Sustainability Pavilion at the Exhibition Expo 2020 Dubai

© Expo 2020 Dubai. All rights reserved

Sustainability Pavilion: Under the Forest
Architect(s) : Grimshaw Architects

Terra - The Sustainability Pavilion at the Exhibition Expo 2020 Dubai

© Expo 2020 Dubai. All rights reserved

Sustainability Pavilion: Under the Ocean
Architect(s) : Grimshaw Architects

Terra - The Sustainability Pavilion at the Exhibition Expo 2020 Dubai

© Expo 2020 Dubai. All rights reserved

Sustainability Pavilion: Would you rather
Architect(s) : Grimshaw Architects

Terra - The Sustainability Pavilion at the Exhibition Expo 2020 Dubai

© Expo 2020 Dubai. All rights reserved

Sustainability Pavilion: Wadi
Architect(s) : Grimshaw Architects

Terra - The Sustainability Pavilion at the Exhibition Expo 2020 Dubai

© Expo 2020 Dubai. All rights reserved

The Sustainability Pavilion - The courtyard games at Terra
Architect(s) : Grimshaw Architects

The Sustainability Pavilion, named Terra, represents an opportunity to deliver an aspirational message about the natural world, ecology and technology to a global audience. Terra signifies and represents the planet Earth and will be one of the key experiences of the Expo. It takes visitors on an immersive and emotional journey through the wonders of the natural world and teaches us how to create a better and more sustainable future.

Grimshaw Architects sought to create a holistic experience that was both exhilarating and informative, and with the support of engineering consultants Buro Happold, the pavilion was conceived and designed not only for its striking form but also for its demonstration capabilities. Inspired by complex natural processes such as photosynthesis, the pavilion's dynamic form serves its purpose, capturing energy from sunlight and fresh water from humid air.

The systems developed have never been applied on such a scale. The Sustainability Pavilion is an important centre and functional laboratory for architectural exploration, demonstrating the possibility of self-sustaining architecture even in harsh climates. Situated in a prominent location, the pavilion structure works in tandem with the thoughtful landscape of demonstration gardens, winding pathways and shaded enclaves to create an aura of magic punctuated by the sights, smells and tactilities provided by the presence of nature.

The gardens surrounding the pavilion are integral to the visitor experience, both experiential and functional, setting the stage for the exhibition content and creating gathering areas that manage and distribute crowds while providing retail, food and beverage opportunities.

The content of the pavilion is central to the visitor experience and is one of the key drivers for sustainability design thinking. The exhibition programme is designed to draw on the incredible biodiversity of the planet and the amazing ways in which nature has adapted to harsh climates and conditions.

The pavilion covers approximately 25,000 m², including 6,300 m² of exhibition space. It has been designed as a net-zero energy and net-zero water building, which means that the pavilion produces all the energy and water it needs.

To achieve this, the pavilion is equipped with more than 1,050 solar panels, placed on the 130-metre wide canopy and on the locally designed energy trees (e-trees) that dot the landscape and rotate to face the sun, like a sunflower. These trees produce four gigawatt hours of electricity per year.
For water production, the building uses air condensation, recycles brackish water and has technology that extracts moisture from the air and feeds it back into the building's system to generate its water needs. Solar energy is then used to sterilise the water and remove micro-bio-contaminants.

The sustainability pavilion is also located partially underground, allowing it to be cooler than the ambient temperature, while its canopy also protects the pavilion from the sun. The canopy features 8,000 square metres of photovoltaic solar panels, with a 70 metre cantilever, and is shaped like a Ghaf tree which shades everything below and keeps the area cool.

Terra's visitor experience includes:
- A walk back in time through an Arabian wadi, a place where cheetahs and giant elephants once roamed.
- An interactive walk through the roots of the forest, where every step affects the "spider's web".
- An exploration "under the ocean" to discover the beauty and mysteries it holds.
- A journey into the halls of consumption, to discover the hidden ill effects of our choices.
- An encounter with "Gnasher", a large consumption machine that shows how natural resources are destroyed to make consumer products.
- An encounter with a deep-sea fish whose system is clogged with discarded plastic waste.
- The Future Values Laboratory: a hopeful space that presents solutions to the ecological challenges we face.

When you enter Terra, you cross a dry river bed or wadi before entering a cool courtyard. The pavilion has used desert plants for much of the landscape to reduce water use. Halophytes (salt-tolerant plants that grow in high salinity waters), gardens and reed beds help to filter and clean the building's water.

The auditorium walls are also made of natural materials, such as reclaimed wood, terracotta and gabions. The inner courtyard is made of raw steel. Everything is natural, with very little paint finish.

Across the courtyard, you can go to the exhibition spaces that deal with the different challenges we face in the world today, such as loss of biodiversity, climate change, mass extinction of species, etc. These are complex issues, but they are not the only ones. These are complex issues, but they are illustrated through immersive experiences. The idea is to teach visitors how to make a difference in today's world by making simple changes to their lifestyle.

In addition to the main innovation gallery, Terra also has a children's gallery with its own play area, where the key themes are plastic awareness, the need for recycling and deforestation, all illustrated by immersive experiences.

Finally, it is possible to end the day at the Terra Café, where all food and drink is sustainably sourced and packaged, and where visitors can learn where their food comes from and how it affects the environment.

The Sustainability Pavilion is designed to live on beyond the life of Expo 2020 as part of the Expo 2020 legacy strategy, providing a distinct architectural presence driven by the message it intends to convey.

Exposition universelle 2020 de Dubaï

Connecter les Esprits, Construire le Futur

1 octobre 2021 - 31 mars 2022


Retour - Liste Pavillons

Terra - Pavillon de la Durabilité

Terra - Pavillon de la Durabilité à l'exposition de Expo 2020 Dubaï

© Expo 2020 Dubai. All rights reserved

Pavillon de la Durabilité : Vue de nuit
Architecte(s) : Grimshaw Architects

Terra - Pavillon de la Durabilité à l'exposition de Expo 2020 Dubaï

© Expo 2020 Dubai. All rights reserved

Pavillon de la Durabilité : Vue aérienne de nuit
Architecte(s) : Grimshaw Architects

Terra - Pavillon de la Durabilité à l'exposition de Expo 2020 Dubaï

© Expo 2020 Dubai. All rights reserved

Pavillon de la Durabilité : Vue aérienne de nuit
Architecte(s) : Grimshaw Architects

Terra - Pavillon de la Durabilité à l'exposition de Expo 2020 Dubaï

© Expo 2020 Dubai. All rights reserved

Pavillon de la Durabilité : Canopée
Architecte(s) : Grimshaw Architects

Terra - Pavillon de la Durabilité à l'exposition de Expo 2020 Dubaï

© Expo 2020 Dubai. All rights reserved

Pavillon de la Durabilité : E-Trees
Architecte(s) : Grimshaw Architects

Terra - Pavillon de la Durabilité à l'exposition de Expo 2020 Dubaï

© Expo 2020 Dubai. All rights reserved

Pavillon de la Durabilité : Consommation de l'océan
Architecte(s) : Grimshaw Architects

Terra - Pavillon de la Durabilité à l'exposition de Expo 2020 Dubaï

© Expo 2020 Dubai. All rights reserved

Pavillon de la Durabilité : Gnasher
Architecte(s) : Grimshaw Architects

Terra - Pavillon de la Durabilité à l'exposition de Expo 2020 Dubaï

© Expo 2020 Dubai. All rights reserved

Pavillon de la Durabilité : Laboratoire de valeurs futures
Architecte(s) : Grimshaw Architects

Terra - Pavillon de la Durabilité à l'exposition de Expo 2020 Dubaï

© Expo 2020 Dubai. All rights reserved

Pavillon de la Durabilité : Sous la forêt
Architecte(s) : Grimshaw Architects

Terra - Pavillon de la Durabilité à l'exposition de Expo 2020 Dubaï

© Expo 2020 Dubai. All rights reserved

Pavillon de la Durabilité : Sous l'océan
Architecte(s) : Grimshaw Architects

Terra - Pavillon de la Durabilité à l'exposition de Expo 2020 Dubaï

© Expo 2020 Dubai. All rights reserved

Pavillon de la Durabilité : Préféreriez-vous
Architecte(s) : Grimshaw Architects

Terra - Pavillon de la Durabilité à l'exposition de Expo 2020 Dubaï

© Expo 2020 Dubai. All rights reserved

Pavillon de la Durabilité : Oued
Architecte(s) : Grimshaw Architects

Terra - Pavillon de la Durabilité à l'exposition de Expo 2020 Dubaï

© Expo 2020 Dubai. All rights reserved

Le Pavillon de la Durabilité - Les jeux dans la cour à Terra -
Architecte(s) : Grimshaw Architects

Le Pavillon de la Durabilité, nommé Terra, représente l’occasion de délivrer un message d'aspiration sur le monde naturel, l'écologie et la technologie à un public de dimension mondiale. Terra signifie et représente la planète Terre et sera l'une des expériences phares de l'Expo. Elle emmène les visiteurs dans un voyage immersif et émotionnel à travers les merveilles du monde naturel et nous enseigne comment créer un avenir meilleur et plus durable.

Grimshaw Architects a cherché à créer une expérience holistique qui soit à la fois exaltante et informative, et avec le soutien des consultants en ingénierie Buro Happold, le pavillon est a été pensé et conçu non seulement pour sa forme frappante mais aussi pour ses capacités de démonstration. S'inspirant de processus naturels complexes comme la photosynthèse, la forme dynamique du pavillon est au service de sa fonction, captant l'énergie de la lumière solaire et l'eau douce de l'air humide.

Les systèmes développés n'ont jamais été appliqués à une telle échelle. Le pavillon de la durabilité constitue un centre important et un laboratoire fonctionnel pour l'exploration architecturale, démontrant la possibilité d'une architecture autonome, même dans des climats difficiles. Située dans un endroit bien en vue, la structure du pavillon fonctionne en tandem avec le paysage bien pensé des jardins de démonstration, des sentiers sinueux et des enclaves ombragées pour créer une aura de magie ponctuée par les vues, les odeurs et les tactilités procurées par la présence de la nature.

Les jardins qui entourent le pavillon font partie intégrante de l'expérience du visiteur, à la fois expérientielle et fonctionnelle, en préparant le terrain pour le contenu de l'exposition et en créant des zones de rassemblement qui permettent de gérer et de répartir les foules tout en offrant des possibilités de vente au détail, de restauration et de boissons.

Le contenu du pavillon est essentiel à l'expérience du visiteur et constitue l'un des principaux moteurs de la réflexion sur la conception de la durabilité. Le programme de l'exposition est conçu pour tirer parti de l'incroyable biodiversité de la planète et des façons étonnantes dont la nature s'est adaptée aux climats rudes et aux conditions difficiles.

Le pavillon s'étend sur environ 25 000 m², dont 6 300 m² de surface d'exposition. Il a été conçu comme un bâtiment à énergie nette zéro et à eau nette zéro, ce qui signifie que le pavillon produit toute l'énergie et l'eau dont il a besoin.

Pour cela, le pavillon est équipé de plus de 1 050 panneaux solaires, disposés sur la canopée de 130 mètres de large et sur les arbres énergétiques (e-trees) de conception locale qui parsèment le paysage et tournent pour faire face au soleil, comme un tournesol. Ces arbres produisent quatre gigawatt/heures d'électricité par an.
Pour la production d'eau, le bâtiment utilise la condensation de l'air, recycle l'eau saumâtre et dispose d'une technologie qui extrait l'humidité de l'air pour la réinjecter dans le système du bâtiment afin de générer ses besoins en eau. L'énergie solaire est ensuite utilisée pour stériliser l'eau et éliminer les micro-bio-contaminants.

Le pavillon de la durabilité est également situé partiellement sous terre, ce qui lui permet d'être plus frais que la température ambiante, tandis que sa canopée protège également le pavillon du soleil. La canopée comporte 8 000 mètres carrés de panneaux solaires photovoltaïques, avec un porte-à-faux de 70 mètres, et a la forme d'un arbre Ghaf qui fait de l'ombre à tout ce qui se trouve en dessous et garde la zone fraîche.

L'expérience des visiteurs de Terra comprend :
- Une promenade dans le temps dans un wadi arabe, endroit où des guépards et des éléphants géants se baladaient.
- Une promenade interactive à travers les racines de la forêt, où chaque pas affecte la "toile d'araignée".
- Une exploration "sous l'océan" pour découvrir la beauté et les mystères qu'il renferme.
- Un voyage dans les salles de consommation, pour découvrir les effets néfastes cachés de nos choix.
- Une rencontre avec "Gnasher", une grande machine à consommer qui montre comment les ressources naturelles sont détruites pour fabriquer des produits de consommation.
- Une rencontre avec un poisson des profondeurs dont le système est obstrué par les déchets plastiques rejetés.
- Le laboratoire des valeurs futures : un espace plein d'espoir, qui présente des solutions aux défis écologiques auxquels nous sommes confrontés.

Lorsque vous entrez dans Terra, vous traversez le lit d'une rivière asséchée ou d'un oued avant d'entrer dans une cour fraîche. Le pavillon a utilisé des plantes du désert pour la majeure partie du paysage afin de réduire l'utilisation de l'eau. Les halophytes (plantes tolérantes au sel qui poussent dans les eaux à forte salinité), les jardins et des lits de roseaux contribuent à filtrer et nettoyer l'eau du bâtiment.

Les murs des auditoriums sont également faits de matériaux naturels, comme du bois récupéré, de la terre cuite et des gabions. La cour intérieure est faite d'acier brut. Tout est naturel, avec très peu de finitions de peinture.

En traversant la cour, vous pouvez vous rendre dans les espaces d'exposition qui traitent des différents défis auxquels nous sommes confrontés dans le monde d'aujourd'hui, comme la perte de biodiversité, le changement climatique, l'extinction massive des espèces, etc. Ce sont des questions complexes, mais elles sont illustrées par des expériences immersives. L'idée est d'apprendre aux visiteurs comment faire la différence dans le monde d'aujourd'hui en apportant des changements simples à leur mode de vie.

Outre la galerie principale d'innovations, Terra dispose également d'une galerie pour enfants avec sa propre aire de jeux, où les thèmes clés sont la sensibilisation à l'utilisation du plastique, la nécessité du recyclage et la déforestation, le tout illustré par des expériences immersives.

Enfin, il est possible de terminer sa journée au café Terra, où tous les aliments et boissons sont issus de sources durables et conditionnés, et où les visiteurs peuvent apprendre d'où vient leur nourriture et comment elle affecte l'environnement.

Le Pavillon de la Durabilité est conçu pour se perpétuer au-delà de la durée de vie de l’Expo 2020, dans le cadre de la stratégie d’héritage de cette exposition, en offrant une présence architecturale distincte motivée par le message qu’il entend transmettre.