International Exhibition of Industry and Labour - Turin 1911

Industry and Labor

April 29, 1911 - November 19, 1911


Back - List of Pavilions

Latin American Union

Latin American Union at the Exhibition Turin 1911

The Latin American pavilion includes Uruguay, Venezuela, Ecuador, Peru and Chile. This collective exhibition of States far removed from each other, united only by the love of exiled sons for their common mother, Italy, shows the power of cooperation and proves that great results can still be expected from our American colonies, if the ties that unite them to their original homeland become even stronger and closer.

The building occupies an area of 6,000 square metres and is the work of the architect Orsino Bonci. The style, very pure and sober, has a beautiful effect with its simple and severe lines. Large pilasters rise up to the attic and give the palace strength and grandeur. The tympanum of the central door, closed by stained glass, is decorated with groups of allegorical statues. The central dome has an original crown, formed by a map of the world.

The interior of the pavilion is divided into several rooms where all the countries have grouped their products. The Uruguayan exhibition occupies the central hall, two large rooms on the left and one on the right. Chile's exhibition is remarkable for the country's great mineral wealth in gold, silver, copper and saltpetre, and for the strong organisation of the Italian colony, which in Chile has established schools, hospitals and charities and holds the first rank among foreign colonies.

The Committee promoting and organising the exhibition is composed of Mr. Hector Panizzoni, President and General Commissioner of Peru, Mr. Louis Bizet, President of the Italian Government, and Mr. Jean-Louis Bocconi, President of the European Commission.
Mr. Hector Panizzoni, President and Commissioner General of Peru, Mr. Louis Bizzozzero, Delegate General of Venezuela and Mr. Marius de Albertis, Vice Presidents.

The Honorary Committee includes, among others, Dr. Clement Althaus, Consul General of Peru; Mr. Bonaventure Caviglia, Delegate General of Uruguay; H.E. Minister D. Agostino Norero, representing the Government of the Republic of Venezuela; and Mr. Marius de Albertis, Vice-President of the Republic of Venezuela. Agostino Norero, representative of the Republic of Ecuador to the French Republic and Italy; Mr. Barthélémy Sanguinetti, Consul of Chile and Mr. Joseph Falcone, for Peru.

©Guide Officiel de l'Exposition Internationale de Turin 1911

Exposition internationale de l'industrie et du travail - Turin 1911

Industrie et Travail

29 avril 1911 - 19 novembre 1911


Retour - Liste Pavillons

Union de l’Amérique Latine

Union de l’Amérique Latine à l'exposition de Turin 1911

Le pavillon de l’Amérique latine comprend l’Uruguay, le Vénézuéla, l’Equateur, le Pérou et le Chili. Cette exposition collective d’Etats très éloignés les uns des autres, réunis seulement par l’amour des fils exilés pour leur mère commune, l’Italie, fait voir la puissance de la coopération et prouve qu’on peut encore espérer de grands résultats de nos colonies américaines, si les liens qui les unissent à leur patrie d’origine deviennent encore plus forts et plus étroits.

L’édifice occupe une surface de 6000 mètres carrés; il est dû à l’architecte Orsino Bonci. Le style, très pur et très sobre, est d’un bel effet par ses lignes simples et sévères. De grands pilastres montent jusqu’à l’attique et donnent au palais force et grandeur. Le tympan de la porte centrale, fermé par des vitraux, est orné de groupes de statues allégoriques. La coupole centrale a un couronnement original, formé d’une mappemonde.

L’intérieur du pavillon est divisé en plusieurs salles où tous les Etats ont groupé leurs produits. L’exposition de l’ Uruguay occupe le salon central, deux grandes salles à gauche et une à droite. Celle du Chili est remarquable par les grandes richesses minérales du pays en or, en argent, en cuivre, en salpêtre, et par la forte organisation de la Colonie italienne qui au Chili a établi des écoles, des hôpitaux, des œuvres de bienfaisance et qui tient le premier rang parmi les colonies étrangères.

Le Comité promoteur et organisateur de l’exposition est composé de M. Hector Panizzoni, président et commissaire général
du Pérou, de M. Louis Bizzozzero, délégué général du Vénézuéla et de M. Marius de Albertis, vice-présidents.

Dans le Comité d’honneur figurent, entre autres, le docteur Clément Althaus, consul général du Pérou; M. Bonaventure Caviglia, délégué général de l’Uruguay; S. E. le ministre D. Agostino Norero, représentant de la République de l’Equateur près la République française et l’Italie; M. Barthélémy Sanguinetti, consul du Chili et M. Joseph Falcone, pour le Pérou.

©Guide Officiel de l'Exposition Internationale de Turin 1911