International Exhibition of Industry and Labour - Turin 1911

Industry and Labor

April 29, 1911 - November 19, 1911


Back - List of Pavilions

City of Paris

City of Paris at the Exhibition Turin 1911

Leaving this favourite spot for visitors, let's go back over the monumental bridge for a moment to admire the pavilion of the City of Paris on the left.

The pavilion is not, like the main palace, chained to the general style of the Exhibition. It gives free rein to the rich elegance, the magnificent and sumptuous decoration of the French châteaux. Alongside the Valentin, it reproduces the Château de Versailles with a fidelity that commands the admiration of connoisseurs. Architectural lines, ornamental motifs, statues, irises, balcony and attic decorations, and even the colour of the exterior walls have been transported from the sumptuous palace of Versailles to the banks of the Po.

The pavilion has a terrace that juts out towards the river; it is decorated with groups of children and Louis XIV vases. Under the terrace, a fountain, decorated with a group of a Nymph and Love, makes the sound of its small waterfall heard in the middle of the garden that surrounds the building, covering with flowers the accesses to the monumental bridge and reproducing on the opposite side, towards the Valentin, the exedra of the Queen's Baths at Versailles.

The interior of the pavilion is no less rich and sumptuous than the exterior. Entering from the west, the first room offers us magnificent historical Gobelins. In the front row is the tapestry known as the Mordecai tapestry, executed by De Troy in 1740 in Rome. Four others, representing the god Terme, date back to the time of Louis XIV. The room, which is extremely rich, is completed by consoles, sofas and armchairs from the Beauvais factory, and by an exhibition of old Sèvres porcelain.

The second room can be called the modern tapestry room; it contains the delicate tapestries, of a beautiful design, by Chevet.

The large square reception room is decorated with modern gobelins, surrounded by coloured marble frames. On a tapestry are displayed the arms of Paris, with the ship under sail on the turbulent sea, the motto: Fluctuât nec mergitur and the insignia of the Legion of Honour. The Sèvres factory exhibits a statue of Gaul and a collection of modern porcelain.

The two rooms facing the Po contain a charming little museum, made up of collections from the famous Musée Carnavalet.

In the salon on the upper floor, flanked by two Louis XIV boudoirs, paintings, engravings and terracottas from a Beaux-Arts Retrospective Exhibition are displayed. The Pompadour style displays all its seductions with carved wooden panels decorated with festoons of flowers, taken from old demolished hotels in the Faubourg St. Germain. The white and gold ceiling brackets reproduce the original ceiling in the Château de Maison-Laffitte.

The precious art collections and historical reproductions have not made us forget the practical services: education, hygiene, public administration, streets, transport, lighting, public assistance have found a place in a series of rooms on the lower floor; nor have we forgotten the cinematographic reproduction, in a special room, of the most important palaces and events of the capital of France.

The Palace of France and the Pavilion of the City of Paris are the main, but not the only buildings constructed by Italy's sister nation and friend. Staying on the left bank of the Po, one can visit successively the pavilions of the City of Marseille, of Tunisia and of French Agriculture. The French Exhibition occupies a total area of 40,000 square metres.

The General Commissioner for France is Mr. Etienne Dervillé, President of the Compagnie Paris-Lyon-Méditerranée; the Deputy Commissioner is Mr. Eugène Pralon, Consul of France in Turin.

As for the exhibition of the city of Paris, in addition to Mr. Dervillé, we must also mention Mr. Bellan and Mr. Dausset, of the Paris City Council, as well as the architects Bouvard and Vincent.

©Guide Officiel de l'Exposition Internationale de Turin 1911

Exposition internationale de l'industrie et du travail - Turin 1911

Industrie et Travail

29 avril 1911 - 19 novembre 1911


Retour - Liste Pavillons

Ville de Paris

Ville de Paris à l'exposition de Turin 1911

Quittons cet endroit préféré par les visiteurs, repassons un instant le pont monumental pour admirer à gauche le pavillon de la Ville de Paris.

Le pavillon n’est pas, comme le palais principal, enchaîné par le style général de l’Exposition. Il laisse libre carrière à la riche élégance, à la magnifique et somptueuse décoration des châteaux français. Il reproduit, à côté de celui du Valentin, le château de Versailles avec une fidélité qui commande l’admiration des connaisseurs. Lignes architectoniques, motifs d’ornement, statues, irises, décorations des balcons et de l’attique, la couleur même des murs extérieurs ont été transportés du palais fastueux de Versailles sur les rives du Pô.

Le pavillon a une terrasse qui s’avance vers le fleuve; elle est ornée de groupes d’enfants et de vases Louis XIV. Sous la terrasse, une fontaine, que décore le groupe d’une Nymphe et de l’Amour, fait entendre le bruit de sa petite cascade, au milieu du jardin qui entoure l’édifice, en couvrant de fleurs les accès du pont monumental et en reproduisant du côté opposé, vers le Valentin l’exèdre des Bains de la reine à Versailles.

L’intérieur du pavillon n’est pas moins riche ni somptueux que l’extérieur. En entrant par l’ouest, la première salle offre à nos regards de magnifiques Gobelins historiques. Au premier rang est la tapisserie dite de Mardochée, exécutée par De Troy en 1740 à Rome. Quatre autres, représentant le dieu Terme, remontent à l’époque de Louis XIV. La salle, d’une extrême richesse, est complétée par des consoles, des canapés et des fauteuils de la manufacture de Beauvais, et par une exposition d’anciennes porcelaines de Sèvres.

La seconde salle peut s’appeler la salle de la tapisserie moderne ; elle contient les délicates tapisseries, d’un beau dessin, de Chevet.

La grande salle de réception carrée est décorée de gobelins modernes, entourés d’encadrements en marbres de couleur. Sur une tapisserie s’étalent les armes de Paris, avec le navire à voiles sur la mer agitée, la devise: Fluctuât nec mergitur et les insignes de la Légion d’honneur. La manufacture de Sèvres expose une statue de la Gaule et une collection de porcelaines modernes.

Les deux salles tournées vers le Pô renferment un petit musée charmant, formé de collections du fameux Musée Carnavalet.

Dans le salon de l’étage au-dessus, flanquée de deux boudoirs Louis XIV, sont exposés des tableaux, des gravures, des terres-cuites d’une Exposition rétrospective des Beaux-Arts. Le style Pompadour y déploie toutes ses séductions avec des panneaux en bois sculpté et orné de festons de fleurs, provenant de vieux hôtels démolis du faubourg St. Germain. Les consoles du plafond, blanc et or, reproduisent le plafond original qui se trouve au Château de Maison-Laffitte.

Les précieuses collections d’art et les reproductions historiques n’ont pas fait oublier les services d’utilité pratique : l’enseignement, l’hygiène, l’édilité, les rues, les transports, l’éclairage, l’assistance publique ont trouvé place dans une série de salles de l’étage inférieur; on n’a pas oublié non plus la reproduction cinématographique, dans une salle exprès, des palais et des événements les plus importants de la capitale de la France.

Le palais de la France et le pavillon de la Ville de Paris sont les principaux, non les seuls édifices construits par la nation sœur et amie de l’Italie. En restant sur la rive gauche du Pô, on peut visiter successivement les pavillons de la Ville de Marseille, de la Tunisie et de l’Agriculture française. L’Exposition de la France occupe une superficie totale de 40.000 mètres carrés.

Le Commissaire général de la France est M. Etienne Dervillé président de la Compagnie Paris-Lyon-Méditerranée; le commissaire adjoint est M. Eugène Pralon, consul de France à Turin.

Quant à l’exposition de la ville de Paris, nous devons rappeler outre M. Dervillé, MM. Bellan et Dausset, du Conseil municipal de Paris, ainsi que les architectes Bouvard et Vincent.

©Guide Officiel de l'Exposition Internationale de Turin 1911