Back - List of Pavilions

France - Expo Turin 1911

France at the Exhibition Expo Turin 1911

The palace that occupies the other symmetrical side of the large square on the right bank, opposite Germany, belongs to France. The eye can easily recognise it by looking at the French architectural motifs and details that have been happily grafted onto the 18th century Piedmontese.

The pavilion has a façade of 193 metres, with a lower floor, at the level of the bank of the Po, of 1130 square metres; the main floor has 10,860 square metres. The total area is 13,990 square metres. The central body includes a large hall, crowned by a 50-metre high dome; around this hall radiate the various galleries of which the section is composed.

We have already mentioned the exhibition of Italians abroad and the importance of trade between France and Italy, which in 1910 totalled over 500 million.

Let us therefore pass over the figures slightly. Let us only recall here the original retrospective exhibition of relations between France and Italy. Adjacent to the grand salon we have mentioned, this special exhibition has as its centrepiece an Empire-style salon d'honneur, octagonal in shape. In the niches in the corners are four statues of Napoleonic soldiers, plaster reproductions of those which adorn the triumphal arch of the Carrousel in Paris. All around, between the columns, are busts of Napoleon's most famous generals, and at the back stands the imperial throne of Fontainebleau. The gallery on the first floor is supported by 16 Ionic columns, to which correspond, supporting the vault, an equal number of caryatids. The salon was built by the architect Guilbert.

This retrospective exhibition, although limited to the last four centuries and to the relations of France with northern Italy, especially with the House of Savoy, is of the highest interest and will certainly be the most successful. It contains works by Italian artists who worked in France, portraits, medallions, busts, autographs of princes and princesses of the House of Savoy allied to France, Italian ambassadors at the French Court, and French personalities of Italian origin. Cardinal Mazarin rebuilt his salon for this occasion, which was kept in Paris in the Carnavalet Museum. To complete the retrospective exhibition, here are documents and prints relating to the war of 1859 and to Italian political refugees in France.

The palace, already monumental in itself, receives even more grace and majesty from the magnificent parterre that precedes it; this parterre is decorated with flowers, balustrades and statues.

Placed in the centre, it offers the best point of view to enjoy the panorama of the whole Valentin Park, from the Isabelle bridge to the Humbert bridge.

©Guide Officiel de l'Exposition Internationale de Turin 1911

Exposition internationale de l'industrie et du travail - Turin 1911

Industrie et Travail

29 avril 1911 - 19 novembre 1911


Retour - Liste Pavillons

France

France à l'exposition de Turin 1911

Le palais qui occupe l’autre côté symétrique de la grande place de la rive droite, vis-à-vis de l’Allemagne, appartient à la France. D’œil le reconnaît aisément, en parcourant les motifs et les détails architectoniques français greffés heureusement sur le XVIIIe siècle piémontais.

De pavillon a une façade de 193 mètres, avec un étage inférieur, au niveau de la berge du Pô, de 1130 mètres carrés; l’étage principal a 10.860 mètres carrés. Da superficie totale est de 13.990 mètres carrés. De corps central comprend un grand salon, couronné par une coupole haute de 50 mètres; autour de ce salon rayonnent les différentes galeries dont se compose la section.

Nous avons fait allusion à l’exposition des Italiens à l’étranger, à l’importance des échanges commerciaux entre la France et l’Italie; ils atteignaient, en 1910, le chiffre total de plus de 500 millions.

Passons donc légèrement sur les chiffres. Rappelons seulement ici l’originale exposition rétrospective des relations entre la France et l’Italie. Attenante au grand salon dont nous avons parlé, cette exposition spéciale a pour centre un salon d’honneur de style Empire, de forme octogonale. Dans les niches des angles se trouvent quatre statues de soldats napoléoniens, reproductions en plâtre de celles qui ornent l’arc de triomphe du Carrousel, à Paris. Tout autour, entre les colonnes sont placés les bustes des plus fameux généraux de Napoléon, et au fond se dresse le trône impérial de Fontainebleau. La galerie du premier étage est supportée par 16 colonnes ioniques, auxquelles correspondent, en soutenant la voûte, un nombre égal de cariatides. De salon a été construit par l’architecte Guilbert.

Cette exposition rétrospective, bien que limitée aux quatre derniers siècles et aux relations de la France avec l’Italie septentrionale, spécialement avec la Maison de Savoie, est du plus haut intérêt et aura certainement le plus grand succès. On y trouve des œuvres d’artistes italiens qui ont travaillé en France, des portraits, des médaillons, des bustes, des autographes de princes et princesses de la Maison de Savoie alliés à la France, d’ambassadeurs italiens à la Cour de France, de personnages français d’origine italienne. Le Cardinal Mazarin a ici, reconstruit pour cette occasion, son salon qu’on conservait démonté à Paris, au Musée Carnavalet. Pour compléter l’exposition rétrospective voici des documents et des estampes qui ont rapport à la guerre de 1859 et aux réfugiés politiques italiens en France.

Le palais, déjà monumental par lui-même, reçoit encore plus de grâce et de majesté du magnifique parterre qui le précède; ce parterre est fleuri, décoré de balustrades et de statues.

Placé au centre, il offre le meilleur point de vue pour jouir du panorama de tout le Parc du Valentin, du pont Isabelle au pont Humbert.

©Guide Officiel de l'Exposition Internationale de Turin 1911