International Exhibition of Industry and Labour - Turin 1911

Industry and Labor

April 29, 1911 - November 19, 1911


Back - List of Pavilions

Road exposure

manque image

To close the series of exhibitions at the Pilonetto, here is the isolated pavilion containing the Road Exhibition, the Automobile Exhibition and the Aeronautical Exhibition.

All daughters of our era, which has made the means of communication an indispensable instrument of commerce and fraternity of peoples, these three special exhibitions will mark, like a milestone, in the history of transport and the conquest of the air. The exhibition pavilion can be reached directly from the large interior square of the other exhibitions at the Pilonetto or from the agricultural section.

The international road exhibition was initiated by the Italian Touring Club. It includes a whole series of materials, stone, wood, asphalt, used to pave the roads, and also tests of pavements implemented. Then comes the machinery for preparing the materials and for building and maintaining the roads. A final section deals with traffic on the roads, with cartography and some essays on road literature and aesthetics.

The province of Turin, as we have already mentioned, has opened a competition for road machinery in this section. The Italian Touring Club has opened a competition for gravel materials and a competition of honour between the various provinces concerned for the best maintenance of the provincial roads from Turin to Rome, both for the Mediterranean coast and for the inland line through Bologna, Tuscany and Umbria.

©Guide Officiel de l'Exposition Internationale de Turin 1911

Exposition internationale de l'industrie et du travail - Turin 1911

Industrie et Travail

29 avril 1911 - 19 novembre 1911


Retour - Liste Pavillons

Exposition de la route

manque image

Pour fermer la série des expositions du Pilonetto, voici le pavillon isolé qui contient l'Exposition de la route, l’Automobilisme et l’Aéronautique.

Toutes filles de notre époque qui a fait des moyens de communication un instrument indispensable de commerce et de fraternité des peuples, ces trois expositions spéciales marqueront, comme une pierre milliaire, dans l’histoire des transports et de la conquête de l’air. On arrive directement au pavillon des expositions par la grande place intérieure des autres expositions du Pilonetto ou par la section de l’agriculture.

L’exposition de la route, internationale, est due à l’initiative du Touring-Club italien. Elle comprend toute une série de matériaux, pierre, bois, asphalte, employés pour paver les routes, et aussi des essais de pavement mis en œuvre. Ensuite viennent les machines pour préparer les matériaux et pour construire et entretenir les routes. Une dernière section a trait à la circulation sur les routes, avec la cartographie et quelques essais sur la littérature et l’esthétique routières.

La province de Turin, comme nous l’avons déjà dit, a ouvert dans cette section un concours pour machines routières. Le Touring-Club italien a ouvert un concours pour matériaux de cailloutis et un concours d’honneur entre les différentes provinces intéressées pour le meilleur entretien des routes provinciales de Turin à Rome, aussi bien pour le littoral de la Méditerranée que pour la ligne intérieure par Bologne, la Toscane et l’Ombrie.

©Guide Officiel de l'Exposition Internationale de Turin 1911